×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

How to Cook Everything Vegetarian: Simple Meatless Recipes for Great Food
     

How to Cook Everything Vegetarian: Simple Meatless Recipes for Great Food

3.5 68
by Mark Bittman
 

See All Formats & Editions


The ultimate one-stop vegetarian cookbook-from the author of the classic How to Cook Everything

Hailed as "a more hip Joy of Cooking" by the Washington Post, Mark Bittman's award-winning book How to Cook Everything has become the bible for a new generation of home cooks, and the series has more than 1 million copies in print. Now, with How to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

How to Cook Everything Vegetarian: Simple Meatless Recipes for Great Food 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 68 reviews.
VeggieMom More than 1 year ago
I would recommend to anyone who wants to begin to incorporate main veggie dishes into the weekly menu. The ingredients are easy to find and the recipes easy to make. I love how this book is organized. Alternate recipes ideas are included - truly inspirational. My son enjoys the meals and asks to take the leftovers to school the next day.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Bittman's a NYTimes gourmet. Which means he won't pander to the hippie-vegan, carob-coated of the cooking world. So the book is chock full of cool riffs on veggie basics - like miso on a baked potato. You will learn and use plenty.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great fundamental cookbook for new or experienced cooks. Haven't made anything I didn't like. Easy to follow recipies with instructions to build upon. Definitely NOT a hippie manifesto with recipies that taste like dirt; rather these recipies are inspired by what comes from the dirt. A North American zone chart and list of veggies indicating when things are in season would be a nice appendix.
Guest More than 1 year ago
He was on the Today show back in Oct I think. They posted one of his recipes from this book online that I tried. My family [non veg's] and me [the vegetarian] absolutely love it! I am finally going to buy his book
otherdeb More than 1 year ago
I recently decided to change my eating habits, so I got this book. It came to my rescue recently, when my ex noted that quinoa had not been declared kitniyot yet, and therefore could be used for stuffing on Passover. I looked up stuffing and quinoa in this book, and actually found a recipe that worked. In fact, I made enough of it so that I had some left over to use with other things. I can't imagine any other vegetarian cookbook so complete.
KomodoDragon More than 1 year ago
This book has so much information and helps you in the kitchen. My wife and I used this book religiously when we were eating strictly vegetarian and still reference the book for when we want a vegetarian recipe.
badgerdiva More than 1 year ago
great book I look forward to trying most of the recipes! Easily accessible and helpful with all of its technique sections. I have recommended it to all of my friends
chef_als_gal More than 1 year ago
I love this book! It truly does tell the reader how to cook most every possible vegetarian dish, from the easy to the more difficult, and from the well known to the very different. I've found so many great recipes in this book...I haven't had time to try them all, but I'm working on it!
CharlyBuckets More than 1 year ago
This is a absolutely fantastic book. A great overall view of cooking with veggie based ingredients. Don't listen to any of the reviews that say that the stuff they made was "flavorless".....they are just not used to eating something that isn't over precessed and chalk full of fat and salt. Bittman is a no bulls**t, practical and really quite funny guy. Use any of these recipes as a starting point and put your own flare on it. A GREAT addition to your library.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It has wonderful information, but I find it difficult to use.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I hate to cook but love this cookbook. I really like his style of writing and his explanations. There is much more to this book than just recipes. I discovered this book at the library but wanted my own copy and bought it in hardback.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a 40-year vegetarian cook, I seldom buy a cookbook. I treated myself to this one with a gift certificate. It offers so much, but I have figured out a lot of this by now myself, of course. I appreciate the lack of preaching, the practicality of so many variations that allow the cook to use what is in the kitchen at that particular moment. It speaks to the way I have learned to cook after many years of using these ingredients. Bittman's specific but relaxed approach to method should bring success with most recipes. A less-experienced vegetarian cook will learn a lot about ingredients and how they behave in different environments. I wish that white rice and white flour were not used as often because the whole grain options do require different methods. Most comprehensive veg cookbook I've seen lately.