×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

How to Host a Killer Party (Party Planning Mystery Series #1)
     

How to Host a Killer Party (Party Planning Mystery Series #1)

3.7 17
by Penny Warner
 

Don't let murder crash your party.

Presley Parker was just happy to get her party planning business off the ground. Now she's gotten the gig of the year, planning Mayor Davin Green's sumptuous "surprise" wedding for his socialite fiancée, to be held on Alcatraz.

But when the bride is found floating in the bay and the original party planner is

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

How to Host a Killer Party (Party Planning Mystery Series #1) 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I know this is only the first book in this series, but I am already loving it! I can't wait to read the next book in the series. I like the event planner aspect of this book and the recipes are really good to.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Light, easy read. Nice having a change in the story, I will read the others as a easy read inbetween other books
Storeylove More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed it, but it doesn't require great brain energy to track the action.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book started out strong but became dull and preditable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Giizis More than 1 year ago
Great settings - An wedding held in Alcayraz? What a great idea - quirky and fun? Sure till the bride turns up floating in San Francisco Bay - not good advertising for a pary planner - excuse me - I mean an event planner. . . This was a fun read - I enjoyed the characters and the plot was great - a little humor, a little trouble - I think the this has the makings for a great series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
harstan More than 1 year ago
At San Francisco State University, all part-time instructors were riffed due to budget cuts. Presley Parker was one of the first downsized by the school, but she rebounded quickly by opening up Killer Parties, an event planning firm. She mostly sponsors children's galas, but her big break comes when Mayor Davin Green chooses her to host his surprise wedding for his fiancée on Alcatraz. Before the nuptials, police detective Luke Melvin calls Presley asking her to come to the station so he can question her regarding the murder of the mayor's previous event planner Andi Sax. She offers no information of use to the cop. Presley gets back to work on the wedding plan but is concerned since Melvin tells her that Andi left a message on her Blackberry that she had an appointment with Parker; a meeting she denies ever arranging or agreeing to have. When the mayor's fiancé turns up dead of poisoning just like Andi, she becomes Detective Melvin's number one suspect. Fearing jail time, Presley who reluctantly accepts the help of crime scene cleaner Brad Matthews begin to investigate even as someone breaks into her home and sets her office on fire. The second Party Planner mystery with tips (see Dead Body Language) is a delightful whodunit due to a strong lead and the eccentric cast who bring a flavor of San Francisco to life (and death) and a horde of suspects (in her mind that is) with viable motives. The heroine is a curious mix of vulnerability and daring do, which endears her to readers and Brad, but drives Melvin to want to lock her away in Alcatraz. Although a lawyer might be a better choice than Brad, fans will enjoy this fun amateur sleuth mystery starring a charming party planner who fears her business will go bankrupt if she wears stripes. Harriet Klausner