×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

How to Know God: The Soul's Journey into the Mystery of Mysteries
  • Alternative view 1 of How to Know God: The Soul's Journey into the Mystery of Mysteries
  • Alternative view 2 of How to Know God: The Soul's Journey into the Mystery of Mysteries
     

How to Know God: The Soul's Journey into the Mystery of Mysteries

4.0 48
by Deepak Chopra
 

See All Formats & Editions

You don't have to believe in God in order to experience God.
--- Deepak Chopra

The celebrated author of Ageless Body, Timeless Mind and The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success has written his most ambitious and important work yet, a runaway international bestseller that has inspired hundreds of thousands of readers to rethink their concept of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

How to Know God 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 48 reviews.
Old_Sage More than 1 year ago
"How to Know GOD" is one of the first books that I read by Deepak Chopra. The book was a recommended read by someone that I have great respect for. My respect for them remains intact! To me, the subtitle, "The Soul's Journey into the Mystery of Mysteries," is indicative of where you need to be spiritually and mentally in order to fully appreciate the enlightenment that unfolds before you as you proceed from chapter to chapter. You need to be on a "journey" towards discovering the true essence of the purpose for your life. If there is a force that binds the nucleus of an atom together to create "you" and everything in existence, surely there is a purpose for your life. In this book, Dr. Chopra plays the role of "help-mate" by taking his knowledge of religion, quantum physics, and neuroscience to help you on your journey. If you are truly on a journey towards discovering the true essence of the purpose for your life, this book is a "must read." Knowledge is power, reading is fundamental, and life is a journey. Enjoy this book and your journey.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Deepok deals with our world's most important subject--God. He explains that we are all directly connected to God---but that we somehow forget this. He also explains how this connection can be made outside of religion. This is a great book by a man I consider a prophet. He conveys a lot of truths and references many great religions, cultures and teachers---not just one. Mike Sale
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have not completed this book , but is gives the reader many things to ponder and meditate on.Deepak Chopra has a very quite and peaceful way of look at our world and God and how we all fit into the scheme of things.. It quiets my mind and lifts my soul.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BlueGiantSun More than 1 year ago
After the entire history of man with all of the war and blood shed, the fighting, hate and anger people still want to try to force everyones thinking to be what "their" thinking is. Deepak Chopra doesn't think like the religious schools in that he attempts to give a different view of God. All the talk of Jesus Crist and the Bible are also 'Hear say" because the only real proof of them is someones discription of them. As we know with all religion it is something pushed upon conquered lands by the stronger people, army, nations. This process eliminates the conquered peoples right to believe they did originally... the story of past-the reality of this moment. No matter what you believe It doesn't give you the right to tell me that I can't feel what ever way that I chose to about Deepak Chopra's Material. I think that it is a beautiful undertaking to investigate, use what is helpful and leave the rest. This isn't about forcing you to believe but for those who disagree it is their means of a justifiable soil for even more unrest. He attempts to show another vision to view God, from our minute sight, in all of the granduer that God emcompasses. Naming God is impossible and inffeable. His view is not from a religious standpoint but a personal one paralleled with scientific understanding on a PERSONAL LEVEL. I found it really good in that he stayed with his beliefs and never sounds preechy say like a...Bible. Don't get me wrong I think that ALL HOLY BOOKS have remnants of GOD within them but when those that believe in those specific books try and force/judge the rest of us for not believing what "They" believe is when they do the entire world a dis service. Man has evolved but his thinking is still primitive.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was incredible in showing exactly as the title shows. I picked up the book skeptically seeming the task at hand would be imposible but Deepak Chopra used a wonderful blending of various religious wisdom to show how it can be possible. I've recommended it to everyone who's willing to take the next step.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love this book. It helped fill in the blanks and revolutionize my thinking. If you seek a deeper truth of man's existence and the reality of a supreme being, this is a great read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Deepak Chopra has taken Fundamentalist Christianity, Eastern Religions of Islam and Buddhism, Science and the modern spiritualism to which many people have been awakening, and made a valiant attempt to tie them all together. As a recent student of religion and spirituality, I found the book helped to crystallize ideas I had forming in my head as well as initiating other discoveries. I found myself at times blown away by the thoughts he evoked. He is a true intellectual who presents a well-rounded view of the deepest mysteries.
Guest More than 1 year ago
With specific reference to this title - How to know God: The Soul's Journey into the Mysteries of Mysteries- In conjunction with the captioned, although I have been able to only glimpse through a prelude synopsis pertaining to this title, I feel a sense of pride to assert the following remarks in this specific context: Although, I do hope that I shall definitely have the opportunity to read this entire book, as an evenet may emerge corresponding to this title. This is certainly a proficiently creative workmanship of intellectual prowess that has been utilized to derive mutual benefit for universal harmony and a better rapport and understanding towards perceiving this most contentious thought about subject of life(s) and life time(s). Need I say more, words cannot narrate the extent of the degree of the considerable amount of enthusiastic perspective that this publishment has evoked. With Best Wishes for many more prospective intellectual titles and sincere best wishes for world peace, good health, happiness and greater understanding all around the world. Thank you for providing this opportunity to interact and share thoughts. Sincerely, Vashi Ramchand Chandiramani chandiramanis@netscape.net vaishnavi@hknet.com,
Guest More than 1 year ago
No one could have written this book except someone from within the "virtual domain," and Dr. Chopra has most certainly given us all the opportunity to merge our religious and spiritual beliefs and questions into a single understanding of God. Years of study alone could not give such joy, such hope, and such promise at a time when so many of us are searching to "find" God. He is truly a great Master here to guide many of us through his spiritual gift of writing.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Deepak Chopra is the most amazing author in the world. His mind gives birth to thoughts that one wouldn't even think that the human mind is capable of. If I could go anywhere in this world, it would be inside this man's mind.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is truley amazing. It talks about the seven stages in which a peson connects with god. I had realized half way through how much I strayed in my faith. This book is not only for Christians but for anyone who belives in a greater power. I know of four people who have been greatly impacted from this book including a buddist and a hidi friend of mine. This book is sure to inspire and touch the hearts of thousands for generations to come.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i have ten or twelve of chopra's tapes, and i'm obviously a big fan. this was another great work. the man spits them out like brian wilson of the beach boys writes songs. however, in this unabridged version it seems some chapters are given short shrift. i wished there was more detail given to such things as synchronicity. this is the first one of his works that i could actually tell was edited. i probably should read the book also. after five hours of audio he still whets the appitite for more.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book opens your heart & soul to the truth of what we are all looking for.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Book explains how our personality types (7) determine our approach to God. Makes sense, however, it seems to me that all personality types should respond to the type of God revealed in Conversations with God and An Encounter With A Prophet. That certain fundamentalists refuse this good news makes this book make more sense to me.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My books had been returned to the library the previous day but I decided to tag along with my husband and glance around once again. The first book I saw was Deepak Chopra's latest book 'How to know God: The Soul's Journey into the Mystery of Mysteries'. I have enjoyed a number of his past books and knew it would be interesting,I decided to give it a try and thus began my enchantment with this book. I was intrigued by the concepts he introduced. While I found it a little repetative in some areas, each time it guided me to look at something else a different way. If one is on a true search for a closer relationship with The Spirit, this is the book that can take you there. I wouldn't recommend it to everyone because some people show more of a curiosity rather than a true search. While reading this book and questioning the Hindu aspect, I had occaission to meet a Roman Catholic priest from India who commented on the great spirituality of the Hindu religion. I will no longer LIMIT my search to one church's doctrine, I believe we're all in this together. Thank you Dr. Chopra!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Seven levels of God. Seven Spiritual laws of success. 88 ways to this. 12 ways to that. Seventeen ways to think. 12 stages of the ego. Yikes, it's just too much. It doesn't matter if I'm reading with or without my ego, my spirit, my mind, my heart or my reading glasses. I don't get it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a great book about both the practice and theory of How to Experience God in your everyday life. The science/theory part explains that there are 7 different types of responses/approaches that we(the human brain)take towards God...from fearful and reactive all the way to mystical unity/oneness with all that is. Chopra's greatness is in making way for All different types of approaches to the experience of God. No one is wrong or right, and it makes it understandable the why and wherefore of so many different religions and approaches to God. It makes it easier to then come to your own practical approach to 'Contacting God!' There are many ways... It helped me to see the all experiences of God in my life with more unity. Seeing that different experiences are all part of the same, yet are based in different approaches/ or stages in my life... Another book which I love - and which has been the most profound book in my life about learning to be in Unity with everything in my life - is 'WORKING ON YOURSELF DOESN'T WORK: A Book About Instantaneous Transformation' by Ariel and Shya Kane. The Kanes are two of the most self-realized people on the planet. Their book and their workshops( I have met them and done several of their workshops) are simply amazing. They help you go directly into the experience of oneness with your life. They are practical entryways into Living in the Now, in the present. They have helped me discover how to be my true self, free of the mind, of past and future, as much as that is possible. Their book, 'WORKING ON YOURSELF DOESN'T WORK' is beyond most self-critical self-help approaches that get lost in the striving of the mind. The Kanes approach is about pure awareness, beyond the mind, and is simply a necessity if you want a PRACTICAL WAY of becoming self-realized, and of coming into touch with the miraculous in your everday life.
Guest More than 1 year ago

This is a well-thought-out book, which recaps much of Hindu thought. To a Westerner, unfamiliar with such schools of thought as Advaita Vedanta, it must seem very new and profound.

Other books available in the West which are equally mind-bending, are The Holographic Universe, by Talbot, and The Road to Damascus, by Pierre. (The latter is less well-known. I first heard about it from one of the reviewers here.)

Although both books agree with each other, and with Chopra and the Hindus to a certain extent, they are perhaps more persuasive.

I recommend How to Know God. It is a very good book.

Guest More than 1 year ago
Although I don't agree with every thing Chopra writes here I do find it very close to my own understanding of God. I am glad that it is written with the unbeliver in mind. All of us go through the stages that Chopra outlines and for myself I find that I travel fluidly from one to another as I increase or fall blind to my understanding of God. Read this regardless of your religion or lack of and have an open mind. You don't have to agree with every statement.