×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

How to Sew a Button: And Other Nifty Things Your Grandmother Knew
     

How to Sew a Button: And Other Nifty Things Your Grandmother Knew

3.7 32
by Erin Bried
 

See All Formats & Editions

“Waste not, want not” with this guide to saving money, taking heart, and enjoying the simple pleasures of life.

Nowadays, many of us “outsource” basic tasks. Food is instant, ready-made, and processed with unhealthy additives. Dry cleaners press shirts, delivery guys bring pizza, gardeners tend flowers, and, yes, tailors sew on those pesky

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

How to Sew a Button 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
dm120472 More than 1 year ago
Reading through the introduction and the "Meet the Grandmothers" section, I was inspired by the author's willingness to admit that we (herself included) take a lot for granted these days and to "meet" real women who remember what it means to do-it-yourself before the DIY craze. And, surprise! - it's actually fun and rewarding! Especially liked the relaxed and irreverent tone. If I'm going to make gravy myself, I want to be reminded to sip wine between steps. This is a perfect gift for your girlfriends and moms, already bought a bunch as stocking stuffers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I find that there are so many young ladies, and young men out there that don't know the basic fundamentals of taking care of yourself; or life is going so fast that why be bothered. I'm giving my daughter and her friend's this book as a high school graduation gift. Hopefully, this book of humor and guidance will inspire them to be more frugal. One can only hope.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of those books that you keep for yourself and give as a gift to everyone of your children. It is a treasure trove of information. I'd also recommend another book getting a lot of buzz, it's called When God Stopped Keeping Score. I found it here on BN. It is a great book.
JenCM More than 1 year ago
After accidentally using Swiss chard instead of rhubarb in her pie, senior staff writer for SELF magazine Erin Bried became aware of some shortages in her knowledge. She met with ten grandmothers from around the country to hear their stories and seek their wisdom. This book teaches techniques for gardening, cooking, and cleaning with attention to cost and work efficiency, also known as the thrift and understanding of what really matters in life grandmothers tend to possess in large amounts. This alone would not be that original-many books offer suggestions for how to can fruits and use vinegar to clean the kitchen sink-but How to Sew a Button also has sections devoted to "Thriving," "Loving," and "Joining," which offer advice on "How to Deal with a Problem in Your Neighborhood" and "How to Be a Strong Partner." These pearls of wisdom come best from grandmothers.
my99mini More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book...had some very useful tips in there. It is one of those books that you keep & refer to it when you need something. It would make a great gift for young people starting out or really anyone.
LindsayLL More than 1 year ago
I got this book as a gift from my aunt for Christmas. I admit, I didn't even plan to read it. But, yesterday I was making dinner, and I wanted to add some gravy to my mashed potatoes. I flipped to the cooking chapter, read the gravy recipe, and kept reading! Not only did I make good gravy (mine is usually too lumpy) but I found myself chuckling at many of the tips, and charmed by the grandmother quotes. This book makes a great gift for anyone setting up their own house, or graduating and moving out on their own.
photodiva More than 1 year ago
i got this book because i want my daughter to learn what she needs to know, and my son, too. he's not exempt from taking care of himself. thankfully my mom taught me a lot of this stuff. a lack of desire or interest have my teens without the abilities to be able to take care of themselves and these kind of home arts. it is art. and needs to be known. by everybody. next: the husband.
Drabmolyzzil More than 1 year ago
This book had some helpful advice regarding cleaning and cooking. However, some of the information really doesn't apply to apartment dwellers. Therefore, some info was not applicable to me. The writing was witty and entertaining. I mean, you're reading a book written by one of Self Magazine's chief editors, not a literature professor! It really was a helpful book and I would definitely recommend it to the 20 somethings and 30 somethings homeowners.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book. Full great helpful tips, recipes, etc. It's simply fantastic.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago