×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

How to Win Friends and Influence People
     

How to Win Friends and Influence People

4.2 382
by Dale Carnegie
 

See All Formats & Editions

You can go after the job you want...and get it! You can take the job you have...and improve it! You can take any situation you're in...and make it work for you!

For over 50 years the rock-solid, time-tested advice in this book has carried thousands of now famous people up the ladder of success in their business and personal lives.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

How to Win Friends and Influence People 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 382 reviews.
Patrick_Newman More than 1 year ago
You've probably heard about this book, as it's one of those titles that have become part of the cultural lexicon (like CATCH-22). Written in 1936, it is based on courses in public speaking that had been taught in adult education courses by Dale Carnegie since 1912 (and to put to rest a popular assumption, he was no relation to the magnate Andrew Carnegie). It is an unusual little book, written in a highly personalized, colloquial style that is reminiscent of a great lecture. This book was designed with professionals in mind, and designed to help professional people do better in business by helping them make social contacts and improve their speaking skills. It was also written with a certain...earnestness in mind. Carnegie was a big believer in sincerity when it came to dealing with other people. The only other modern book that does the same is "Emotional Intelligence 2.0" and I highly recommend both.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Posted 6/15/2009: In 1968, I was in the Seattle Airport waiting to go to Alaska to work in the oil field. I was 21 year old, had two children in Texas. I had a high school education, which is still the only formal education me or my wife have every received. I was broke and my only prospects were working in the oil field the rest of my life. I bought two books that day that changed my life. Think and Grow Rich; and How to Win Friends and Influence People. Over the next year working in weather down to 70 below zero my life changed from the information I received from these two books. I was no longer on a road to nowhere. I had a goal. We goal now was to have a well round life and become a millionaire. I am 62 years old now. My Net Worth is around 10 million dollars. I am currently an investor. I owe three companies that others run for me. I own the real estate that these companies sat on. My office is in my home. I average working about one hour a day before I go to the golf course. My wife works about an hour per day at her office in our house. We choose to spend that time checking on our businesses. My wife plays tennis most every day. We vacation 6 or 8 times a year. We have been married 43 years. Our family life is great. Last week we took our children and grand children to Disney World for a week. Life for us is very very good. If I had stayed on the path I was headed in, I would be lucky to be alive. Working in the oil field in Alaska's North Slope was very dangerous. My family life was not all that good when I read these two books. I encourage you to read these two books at least three times each and apply the principles they give you. These books changed my life to one of great happiness and prosperity. I hope they do the same for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A classic (originally published in the 30's) and a must-have, this timeless piece of work can help just about anybody get along better with others and win them over to their way of thinking. Don't have a lot of time to spare? Don't worry. The book is divided into short sections, each one devoted to a particular principle that is well illustrated with many practical examples. In this way, you can read a chapter quickly, stop and do other things you have to do if necessary, and get back to the book when you have time- all without losing continuity.

Thoroughly entertaining by using fun and interesting examples, I don't think many readers will regret checking this one out and I like to think of this book as a kind of Human Relations 101 of sorts. Also recommend The Sixty-Second Motivator for further reading on motivational principles.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a good book but unfortunately it's been hacked up by some modern day idiots who thought they could improve it. First of all, they've added in all the annoying, politically correct 'he or she', 'him or her' nonsense. As if that wasn't bad enough, they've replaced whole paragraphs in the book with new material, in order to make it 'more relevant'. You know what, if a book is well written and intelligent it doesn't matter if it was written 50 or a 100 or a 1000 years ago. The readers will still understand it and its message will still shine through. I don't care if Carnegie told stories of people who are long dead, because basic human nature was the same then as it is now. Carnegie was an excellent writer. His work should be left as he intended it. Anyway, if you can get the original copy of this book I would definitely recommend it because it offers good insights into human behavior.
Lorene-Marie More than 1 year ago
I was always curious about this famous book, and it was all I thought it would be and more. It contais valuable advice about human nature and how to deal with people in all kinds of situations. It also has wonderful real-life stories about how people's lives were changed by, for example, a simple word of encouragement. I'd highly recommend the CD instead of the book. The reader's voice will warm your heart. Just lie on the couch and enjoy!
bettywatari More than 1 year ago
Well written and easy to understand. A must read book for high schoolers, managers, bosses and anyone working with people.
RiddleSD More than 1 year ago
Most self help books and "How Tos" are not very reputable and seem to reiterate what people already know through common sense. How to Win Friends and Influence People not only provides readers with common sense applications but introduces new, forward thinking ideas. Every principle provided in the book is explained, and proven with a multitude of examples. The examples range from Carnegie's personal stories to interesting historical tidbits the author found writing autobiographies and other texts. Readers are not fooled into thinking that by reading the book their lives will transform over night. The author makes it abundantly clear that for his teachings to work one must have, "a deep, driving desire to master the principles." and basically refer to the readings regularly. The book at first may seem tedious because of the overwhelming amount of stories that support each principle but I found that even the examples that were not particularly interesting or not completely applicable to my life were important when reflecting upon the text. The book was interesting and enjoyable to read. All of the points had validity and made sense. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in refining their social interactions at work, school, or home.
SasquatchLovin More than 1 year ago
This book will help you become a sophisticated person!
Anonymous 13 days ago
Some good points made that I will use every day. The advice is timeless.
Anonymous 3 months ago
It's being sold by another online retailer for much less. The book, otherwise, is good. I've read parts of the book on someone else's device.
Anonymous 4 months ago
Anonymous 4 months ago
This book was a fast read and very enlightening. The stories in it are heartwarming and thought provoking. I highly recommend it to everyone whether you are a store clerk or someone looking to grow or run a business, the book's message will add value to your relationships.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing Book! Revolutionized my life in many ways, and has taught me many new things. I Truly Recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I first became familiar with this book since my brother has it in Spanish and I did not read it then. Now as a more mature adult I can really enjoy and admire how it is written. I enjoyed the book so much I finished it in less than a week. As I first purchased it to help me in my future career in the PR industry, as it has been called the PR bible,I have learned so much in how to treat others, and have a more business like sense in doing business with others in general. THIS BOOK IS A MUST READ!!!!
merve tekcan More than 1 year ago
One of the best book I have ever read. It really changes my view point on how to interact with people in terms of their problems, introducing myself to others, and it has in fact help me network with people more online and in-person. It gives great examples of stories of people based on Dale's real life situations or made up short stories that each provide great lessons you can learn. Overall is a book everyone should buy, no matter if you are into business or just a regular person. It will change the way you interact with people, and get yourself out their to become successful in to gaining friends and influencing others, no matter the personality type. For more comments and reviews… http://www.storebit.com/books/how-to-win-friends-influence-people-by-dale-carnegie-paperback/
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
From sales people to relationships
Andrew Parodi More than 1 year ago
I won’t waste your time with a rundown of what “How to Win Friends and Influence People” is about. With hundreds of reviews on Amazon, and over 15 million copies sold, and with a very self-explanatory title, I think you get it. For the rare person who may not know what this book is about, here’s a succinct description: in 1930s vernacular prose, Dale Carnegie explains that by appealing to the other person’s highest ideals, remembers the other person’s name, letting the other person do most of the talking, speaking in terms of the other person’s interests, allowing the other person to save face, by “throwing down a challenge,” etc., you can make a friend out of just about anyone. The advice is largely sound, but I think the reader should keep in mind the context within which this book was written. “How to Win Friends and Influence People” was written in the 1930s and was intended primarily as a companion book to Dale Carnegie’s classes on how to be a good salesman. In other words, these techniques work very well in the context of sales and public relations, i.e., in relationships that are not expected to be deep and/or long-lasting. I wouldn’t recommend using these techniques on close personal friends. Doing so may make a person come across as a bit plastic. Also, there is one major point that I think needs to be remembered, but unfortunately is nowhere to be found in “How to Win Friends and Influence People.” During my research of Dale Carnegie’s techniques, I came across the biography Dale Carnegie: The Man Who Influenced Millions by Giles Kemp and Edward Claflin. This book reveals many interesting things such as: the fact that Dale Carnegie grew up poor; he lost part of left index finger when he was a child; he often broke many of the tenets set forth in this book, often forgetting others’ names and often arguing with others, etc. But what I found most interesting was that the last chapter of “How to Win Friends” was to describe those individuals with whom none of Dale Carnegie’s techniques work. In this unpublished chapter, Carnegie wrote that there were people with whom it was impossible to get along. You either need to “divorce them, knock them down, or sue them in court.” Why is this chapter absent from this book, you ask? Well, Dale Carnegie was in the middle of writing this chapter when he was offered a trip to Europe. Rather than complete the last chapter, he decided to take the trip. The uncompleted book was sent off to publishers, and Carnegie shipped off to Europe. Giles Kemp and Edward Claflin say that given the optimistic tone of the rest of “How to Win Friends,” the European trip was perhaps the better choice. Reconciling the unwritten chapter with the rest of this optimistic book would’ve been nearly impossible, they say. Anyway, I think that this unpublished chapter is important to keep in mind. I had to learn the hard way that the unpublished chapter is very true. There are some people with whom it is impossible to get along. When you meet up with such people, and believe me you will, don’t think that you’ve failed Carnegie’s techniques. Instead, remind yourself that you are experiencing exactly what Carnegie describes in that pragmatic, unpublished chapter. And then quickly move on to nicer people!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
At a time when I was not getting along very well with people, Carnegie 's book helped me to resolve my problem.
JoshW45 More than 1 year ago
Good advice on interacting with other people. The advice is truly timeless. I just don't like how you have to read a long story just to get a short piece of advice. Maybe that's just the way books were written 100 years ago. but I prefer a more current style where a book just gets straight to the advice instead of burying it inside of a long-winded story. The lessons are all really good. But the book probably only has about 10 pages of really solid advice and the rest is all filler. But the advice is worth reading the book for.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My favorite book of all time!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago