×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Hunger Point: A Novel
     

Hunger Point: A Novel

4.1 21
by Jillian Medoff
 

See All Formats & Editions

"My parents may love me, but I also know they view me as a houseguest who is turning a weekend stay into an all-expense-paid, lifelong residency, and who (to their horror) constantly forgets to flush the toilet and shut off the lights."

Twenty-six-year-old Frannie Hunter has just moved back home. Bright, wry, blunt, and irreverent, she invites you to witness

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Hunger Point 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This novel made me cry and laugh so many times. The narrating charater Frannie tells her story with wit and sarcasm that make her seem so lifelike. This story holds so many universal truths that I found myself writing down paragraphs and quotes from the characters. The words strike such a deep chord in me. The reader is taken through the downward spiral of self destruction and the fight to regain a sense of self. I highly recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was significantly better than the movie. Unique as an ED novel because it is the pov of a family member.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
At times this book was confusing , but when you really got into it, and understood it, it ran your emotions. It makes you cry , it makes you laugh and even for some people, feel depressed. The author makes you see and feel the pain the main character frannie is going through. This book is ugly, but really beautiful. I loved it!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Try this; and if you dont like it see the movie. I love to watch movies and they help me completely understand and appreciate a book. I hope that youll take my advice and see the movie. I think movies like this arent as popular so you can just Google it,or check it out on youtube. —ODd
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not a bad story, but not her best. I also didn't like the way it ended. It felt like there was more to be said, so I felt like I was left hanging. I suggest borrowing the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I hated the ending! Very depressing book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Brilliant! I tore through this book. Hilarious, harrowing, and very smart.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was very very good! I loved reading about frannie's life. But It ended too soon i wish there was a sequel or somthing, cause the book was just over. I but I enjoyed every moment of the book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read the book very fast, just because it is one of those books you can not put down. The book was told through the sisters eyes, and how she saw her sister shelly disapearing. I recomend this book to any one struggling or recovery from an eating disorder. It gave a wonderful insight of what anorexia can become. I hope that you all injoy it as much as I did.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love this book. I just can't put it down. Jillian Medoff is a great writer. I wish she'll have her new book coming out soon.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love this book. it really covered all the point of veiws of the family, and the daughter suffering from anerexia. It goes into the head of the sufferer and really makes you think. i love this booK!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
It didn't take me long to swim into the pages of Hunger Point. The defined character, Frannie is spunky, cynical, and at times hiliarious. Although the book surfaces anorexia, I like how it did not only touch this issue, but i delved deeper into how the disease affects everyone and even haunts her family. Although the novel sometimes lags unnecessarily to great lengths about her sister redundantly, it brings great incite. I reccommend this novel to everyone, not just people with eating disorders.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am not one who loves to read, but when I began reading this book, I couldn't put it down. This book talks about what most families go through; from eating disorders to divorces. It's a safe and comforting book for ALL to read. It will help you cope if you are going through a hard time because you will realize, you are not alone. I highly recommend Hunger Point!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful book, not only for those who have struggled with anorexia, but for those who have suffered the loss of a loved one or depression. It is one of those books you cannot put down.
Guest More than 1 year ago
After beginning the book 4 days ago, I have just completed it. I couldn't put it down! There were so many issues that are so common in everyday American families, but no one ever writes about them. It also helped me figure out a few things. Like the character 'Frannie', I too lost someone I loved immensely. However, it wasn't my sister. I lost my father, and a year and a half later my fiance passed away. It's been 2 years 9 months since my fiance passed away, and like Frannie I still see him everytime I close my eyes and think about him constantly. I too blamed myself for what happened to him. I recommend this book to ANYONE-whether you've had a similar situation or not. You won't want to stop reading. I know I didn't. I was sad when I got to the end because I wanted to read more.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a great novel, especially if you are recovering from an eating disorder. The story of how one family memembers battle with anorexia and depression affects the rest of the family was absolutely awe inspiring. To those of us struggling with eating disorders, it is good reality slap of how this disease affects our family and gave me more ammunition against anorexia and the reinforcement I needed to keep eating. The main character is funny, engaging and I just couldn't put this book down.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this book a like riding a roller coaster. up one minute and down the next. I finally (after reading 3/4th of the way read the last page and thankfully ended this miserable book. The main character is beyond weak, selfish and shallow. UGH.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kk.