×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Hunting Eichmann: How a Band of Survivors and a Young Spy Agency Chased down the World's Most Notorious Nazi
  • Alternative view 1 of Hunting Eichmann: How a Band of Survivors and a Young Spy Agency Chased down the World's Most Notorious Nazi
  • Alternative view 2 of Hunting Eichmann: How a Band of Survivors and a Young Spy Agency Chased down the World's Most Notorious Nazi
     

Hunting Eichmann: How a Band of Survivors and a Young Spy Agency Chased down the World's Most Notorious Nazi

4.4 88
by Neal Bascomb
 

See All Formats & Editions

Hunting Eichmann is the first complete narrative of a relentless and harrowing international manhunt.

When the Allies stormed Berlin in the last days of the Third Reich, Adolf Eichmann shed his SS uniform and vanished. Following his escape from two American POW camps, his retreat into the mountains and out of Europe, and his path to an anonymous

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Hunting Eichmann 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 88 reviews.
Azpooldude More than 1 year ago
Wow! I have always believed that non-fiction is better than fiction and Hunting Eichmann is another book to make my case. Neal Bascomb does a thorough account of this infamous Nazi war criminal's rise to power, escape from the Allies after the war, his life in Argentina and eventual capture and execution by the Israelis in the early 1960's. All the key players involved on both sides of the fence are historically documented, in this gripping true story. With early accounts of the genocide done by Eichmann and the Nazis, the war ends in 1945 and the cat and mouse game begins. Evading early capture, Eichmann uses his old boy network to help him keep one step ahead of those looking for him. But, with the overwhelming Allied presence, his luck runs out. Under a a series of aliases, he is put in a POW camp and blends in with the rest of the men. But as the Nurenburg Trials begin, he starts to worry and escapes. He finds work under his assumed alias but grows tired of a life in Germany where he has to constantly look over his shoulder. Through old connections Eichmann leaves Germany, and after a few stops along the way, escapes to Austria, and eventually finds safe passage to Argentina. There he begins his new life and what he hopes will be the end of the running game. The books takes a new twist as word leaks out that he may be living there with his family. Many are still on his trail-though it has seemed to grow cold, until a break comes through. With new information and the interest of the the Israeli Government in catching him, the Mossad takes action. The intensity level is kicked up a notch as they prepare in full mode to catch and bring Eichmann back to Israel for trial. Non stop preparations are put into place, and nothing is overlooked, from the color of ink on forged documents to how to deal with government officials. This is where this book shines as we learn about every detail that the Mossad takes to do their mission. With Eichmann capture in Argentina , events continue to build with intensity as the Mossad now have to move him out of the country undetected to Israel, thousands of miles away. What makes this book great is that many involved in his capture had actual ties to the Holocaust. They definitely had a score to settle and fond justice in the end. The bigger picture was more important to Israeli Prime Minister Ben- Gurion, who wanted young Israelis to be aware of the Holocaust and for its victims to open up and make the world never forget about this dark chapter in our history. Defending his actions to his death, Eichmann continued to claim his innocence and use the standard Nazi line of, "I was only following my orders". This book is a well written account of an important part of history.-you will be at the edge of your seat as your read this spy thriller. As I said in the beginning; true stories seem so much more interesting than made up ones. And this book will not leave you disappointed. I guarantee it. Robert Glasker
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hunting Eichmann reads like a novel as it takes you through Eichmann's escape through Allied lines after WWII and, eventually, to South America where he eluded Nazi hunters for nearly 15 years (with help from the Argentine government and the Catholic Church). The book does an excellent job of showing that Eichmann's eventual capture was the result of persistence from officials in Germany and Israel. In short, even though he eluded them for years, those officals and others like Simon Weisenthal, remained committed to capturing Eichmann and bringing him to trial. The author also does a commendable job of showing what the trial meant to the fledgling Israeli state and those who actually participated in Eichmann's capture. Finally, the author's protrayl of Eichmann, not purprisingly, revealed that he was cold and unrepentant right to the end. A chilling reminder of what happened as Eichmann carried out the "Final Solution" and what could happen again if those who are committed to human rights do not remain vigilant.
Marek More than 1 year ago
This book could quite easily be used as the basis for a spell binding movie or as a series of spy thriller books. The research is amazing, every little detail is covered, from Eichmann's backround and escape from Nazi Germany to his abduction in Argentina and trip to Israel. Reads more like fiction than fact-fast paced and suspenseful.
Varda613 More than 1 year ago
Eventhough I knew the outcome, it was absolutely a nail biter! Very well written, and extremely detailed. All of the characters were human and at the same time, larger than life. A must read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fabulous background research leading up to how the search started and the journey and people who were involved along the way. Very compelling. It is also told from Eichmann's perspective as well, and how he came to rise to such power within the Nazi regime. After reading this, the book "Red Orchestra" is a related topic, as it is the story of Nazi Resistance by German Youth.
kirkwood59 More than 1 year ago
In the last days of the Third Reich,SS Lt. Colonel Adolf Eichmann, the operational manager of the Final Solution to the Jewish Question, shed his Nazi uniform and vanished. Fifteen years later, agents of the Mossad, the Israeli secret service, captured him in Argentina. The author has written a very exciting readable narrative of how Eichmann escaped from Germany and was eventually found, captured, smuggled out of Argentina and brought to trial in Israel. Eichmann's story provides interesting insights into the Nazi killing machine, Israeli's struggle for relevance and the terrible personal burdens carried by Holocast survivors.
Dianne19 More than 1 year ago
This was one of the best books I have read in a long time. It was thrilling from the first paragraph until the remarkable, and true, ending. Masterfully written. When I finished the last paragraph, I wanted to start reading it over again. I've since recommended this book to several friends all of whom agree - it's a fabulous read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I SAW THE AUTHOR INTERVIEWED ON C-SPAN & I WAS IMMEDIATELY "HOOKED". I CONSIDER IT ONE OF THE BEST NON-FICTION BOOKS EVER, IT UNFOLDS BETTER THAN MANY "OSCAR"- WINNING MOVIES. I HAVE "GIFTED" IT TO MANY RELATIVES AND FRIENDS--SUFFICE IT TI SAT IT HAS ITS OWN "FAN CLUB." THANK YOU A THOUSAND-FOLD, NEAL BASCOMB.!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of the finest books I've ever read. A true page turner. The historical accuracies alone are enough to keep the reader's attention. What kept my attention is that everything is true. Knowing more of the Iraeli involkvement made me proud to read how they abandoned their desire to kill him ang bring him to Israel to stand trial.
riverdog1 More than 1 year ago
I was born 10 years after WWII and with my Catholic Education we just didn't study that much about WWII. So of course I was in 1st grade when Eichmann was captured. So now 50 years later I decided to read about the capture. I was not disappointed. The author does paint a picture of Eichmann the man and what he did in the concentration camps. I think after 15 years that Eichmann was sick of running and almost welcomed capture but insisted to the end he was just following orders. This was an excellent book for someone wanting a bit of WWII history.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As someone who normally reads mystery thrillers, I was extremely surprised at how riverting this narrative was. It made the content, which I'd studied before, very much alive. It was obvious from the start that the author had thoroughly researched the subject matter and found a way to relate it in a natural and convincing voice.
LoveMuscle More than 1 year ago
This book is a page turner and cannot be put down once you start. It details Israel's plans to kidnap one of the most infamous persons in modern history. It is a compelling look of how the plans were made and carried out.
RFertel More than 1 year ago
This is a excellent account of the trackin and capture of Adolf Eichmann by the Mossad. The book does a great job of explaining the characters involved, the unfolding of the operation, as well as the capture. It reads like a action novel, yet all of it is true. It is easily the best book that I've read on this subject. A must read for anyone interested in the story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have known about the capture of Eichman but not the details. It was fascinating . A great read. .....mlc G
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written. A horrible subject but a time in bistory never to be forgotten.wish we had the swift justice the israelis have instead of dragging things out for years.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
B-loNY More than 1 year ago
Interesting insights
repRP More than 1 year ago
Well written. I could not stop reading even late into the night. This is a fascinating true story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Is well written and very informative - but there is a lot of stuff there and even though interesting not all that spell binding
EBsr More than 1 year ago
Well written and a compelling read from beginning to end. When the audacious plan to apprehend this criminal commences, I could not stop reading till the last page.
Dinozzo More than 1 year ago
A very good recounting of the evil perpetrated by the Nazis and its senior members. Eichmann never believed he was guilty of anything except following orders until he was put to death. The book was very detailed about how the Mossad was able to track, identify and capture Eichmann in a country that was hostile of Israel at the time, in spite of the new intelligence agency's limited resources. If you enjoy Second World War history or thriller-type novels, this will be a very good read for you. Recommended.
BBCLover More than 1 year ago
A riveting account of the true-life mystery of one of the great man hunts in history. Even after 15 years of freedom, the Nazi hunters never forget or give up on finding Eichmann. A very well-written story that manages to build suspense right to the very end.
Cdarr More than 1 year ago
Thorough telling of events, but needed more story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fantastic book. Could not put it down. I love the Daniel Silva fiction books - this the real life version. Fascinating look into the lives of secret agents and also a learning experience about the Holocaust and the mind of the monster Eichmann.
ekc67 More than 1 year ago
Had never really been interested in reading ww2 history per se but this book kept me captivated from the start I was in the first group of baby boomers and remember growing up while these events were taking place. I am sorry now that I had no interest for so long