×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Hurricane Season: A Coach, His Team, and Their Triumph in the Time of Katrina
     

Hurricane Season: A Coach, His Team, and Their Triumph in the Time of Katrina

4.3 13
by Neal Thompson
 

See All Formats & Editions

"There's always a point in the season when you're faced with a challenge and you see what you're capable of. And you grow up." —J. T. Curtis, head coach, John Curtis Christian School Patriots

On Saturday, August 27, 2005, the John Curtis Patriots met for a grueling practice in the late summer New Orleans sun, the air a visible fog of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Hurricane Season: A Coach, His Team, and Their Triumph in the Time of Katrina 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wish bn would put a stop to these kids using the nook to play kitty kat games on the book review site. Adults come here for book reviews, not to have to scan thru multiple stupid posts that has no bearing on the book in question. Please bn, cant you figure out who these kids are and ban thhem from playing their childish games on the nook?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book I'm reviewing is called Hurricane Season written by Neil Thompson. I think the author makes you feel a part of the setting because he describes what is happening as well as the action on the football field and during hurricane Katrina. Personally I thought it was a great book. I think the writer makes you believe in the book's main characters as people because of what he says about them. I liked all of the book's characters. I didn't dislike any of them. But my favorite character of them all was the Coach J.T. Curtis. One thing he has done is being a good coach. It was on August 29th that hurricane Katrina struck New Orleans Louisiana and left the town in ruins for the months following that dreadful New Orleans summer day. But then in October the J.T. Curtis School opened back up and they started to play football again. They won the Louisiana 2a high school championship 21 times in row.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like this book, but before I had read it, i wanted to read the reviews to make sure it was worth buying, which it is. But there are all of these stupid roleplaying people on here. Go away! If you want to roleplay dont do it on a book review tab! I almost didnt buy the book because of all the stupid reviews, so just find yourselves a new place to be like that. Im sick of it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mantala hated sympathy. He had told Brianna and Wenalt to go away. He wasn't mad at Dion... just..... "Please,Mantala!" Brianna begged him until suddenly Dion came running into the shrubs. "Ezumalid's gone!" He told them. They all jumped up and went to search for him, but Dion continued," He was taken by these men on the horses while I led him to the old man's house! I managed to get away from at least three men. They're still searching in the camp spot! We have to be careful!" Brianna glared at Dion, "Who knows you're telling the truth? What if you...?" "No...Dion might be right. I'll go searching with Wenalt and Brianna and..." "No way," Brianna said at the same time as Dion, so they ended up like this : Brianna with Wenalt and Dion with Mantala. They began searching until it was moonlight. "I'm awfully sorry, Mantala, really!" Dion told him after a long silence. Mantala forgave him, and he should be grateful to Dion for saving them. He should also feel sorry for Brianna...she was the only girl around. He was about to say he and Wenalt would search and Brianna and Dion would stay at the campsite and look out for guards. But it seemed like now they would all search for Ezumalid. Mantala barely had just met with Ezumalid two times. The first time was heading toward the elf village, but sorry! Xchevings, these thought creatures invaded and took Brianna and Ezumalid to the Dark Lord's palace and left Wenalt and Mantala suffering in the forest. Mantala had never seen Ezumalid perform magic, but that's what everybody believed! The second time, well, now. Mantala and everybody else stopped to rest at the campsite. The guards searching at the campsite were gone, so Mantala guessed they had given looking for them. Suddenly, Mantala found a faint hoof print on the ground when they were eating gross "leaf sandwiches." Mantala decided not to tell them because they wouldn't believe him anyway. He snuck out until he was far away enough from where they were. "HOWLLLLLLLLLLLL!" Mantala shivered. Wolves.
honeycardinal More than 1 year ago
Excellrnt story line .Kept my interest so very hard to put down. would recommend it highly.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good, easy reading book! Interesting to get a personal insight on the recovery path.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think that this book is going to be good. If you have ever saw the movie than you know what Im talking about.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thanks
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Violet ; She dipped her head to the newcomers. "You both may join. Welcome to HurricaneClan." She meowed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My name is ghost wisperer.i want to join the hurricane clan.