×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Husband
  • Alternative view 1 of The Husband
  • Alternative view 2 of The Husband
  • Alternative view 3 of The Husband
<Previous >Next
     

The Husband

3.9 213
by Dean Koontz
 

See All Formats & Editions

With each and every new novel, Dean Koontz raises the stakes -- and the pulse rate -- higher than any other author. Now, in what may be his most suspenseful and heartfelt novel ever, he brings us the story of an ordinary man whose extraordinary commitment to his wife will take him on a harrowing journey of adventure, sacrifice, and redemption to the mystery of love

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Husband 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 213 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've always thought of Dean Koontz as the master of psychological suspense. His novels are aways full of weird and over the top characters that he makes believable and then he puts them in situations which are weird and over the top and makes them believable. This time around Dean changes things up a bit. He takes an average Joe and puts him in a seemingly no win situation. Mitch Rafferty, owner of a two man landscaping business gets the phone call no husband would want. Someone has his wife. That's the bad news. The worse news is, the someone wants $2 million in 60 hours. He doesn't have that kind of money and they know it. Still, they're convinced he'll find away to get the funds. If he loves his wife. He loves her. No question. The kidnappers tighten the screws from that moment on by first killing someone 'innocent' so Mitch will know they mean business. Things go down hill for our hero from there. One of the things I really liked about this story was how Dean shows two people who were raised in the same dysfunctional environment could respond to that upbringing in totally different ways. You'll have to read the book to find out what I mean. I try to never include plot spoilers in my reviews. I gave a rating of 5 stars because I loved the story. Koontz in one of my all time favorite novelists. I dream of one day writing my own novels half as well as he does. However, this novel wasn't without its problems for me. One, the scenes with the wife when she's held captive just didn't work for me. When I read the sections with Mitch it was like I was right there with him. Almost like what happened to him happened to me. With those sections devoted to his wife I felt somehow distant from the situation. I don't know why. I don't believe this is the desired affect Dean meant. The second thing I didn't care for was just a pet peeve of mine and it didn't really take away from the story. Most stories have this same element in them. I've just never understood why. Here's what I'm talking about. The novel is 68 chapters. In chapter one Mitch learns of his wife's kidnapping. From chapter two on Mitch is doing everything he can to get her back. After all that can happen happens, we come to chapter 68. It's 3 years later and everything is normal again. What's the rub for me? Mitch did some pretty terrible and even illegal things in an attempt to get his wife back. Seemingly, there were no repercussions for his actions. I know one would say he was justified, but I'm just not sure how the law would take this in the real world. Maybe that's the point. It's not real life, it's a novel. And a great thrill ride it is. Pick up a copy and see what you think. I believe you won't be disappointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wrote a pretty scathing review of 'Lightning,' also by Dean Koontz a little while ago. I hated that book. But now let's talk about some good Koontz, shall we? I read this book in about a week (which may not seem like a too short of a time, but to me it is, I'm a slow reader.) And I loved every minute of it. Well sort of. The beginning was epicly epic, the plot of the novel exploded in your face, there was no way NOT to read the rest of it after the first one hundred pages (Which I read in one night). The one hundred pages after that were also very good, but not as good, they seemed to stall (As many of Koontz's books do at some point) a little bit, but were very enjoyable. The last hundred pages are why this book is recieving a 4/5 instead of a 5/5. They weren't bad at all, but they weren't very great either. It seems to slow down muchos, and get bogged down in the details (Another very common attribute of Koontz's writing) The pages which chronicled the standoff between Mitch and the bad guy were, to me, the most boring part. Koontz has many trademarks in his books, one of them is dogs, another is a way too keen sense of plants, another is the desert...Oh god, it was hard to read those pages. For some reason I can't hear Koontz talk about the desert and not cringe a little. He describes it in such boring detail, he doesn't really bring anything new to the table. Not like Stephen King, who I'm sure would find some way to make the desert interesting. But other than getting slow and over detailed in a few points the book was very good, very fast, a thrill ride. I liked it a lot. The ending was good, it was happy, as most of Koontz's endings.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book started off so wonderfully intense and became mediocre in the end. Koontz spends too much time describing the unnecessary. I hoped for something great , but did not get it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read all of dean koontz books and this one was not up to parr. I wonder if he is getting mellow with his writing over the years.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So this book took me less than three days to read! Would of been much faster but real busy i had to write a review because my friend and i decided to read the same book ' One part of the book made me say oh my god outload on the bus many eyes looking at me That day i knew i was reading a fab book
JAJbooks More than 1 year ago
never have I read a book that moves so intensely fast (in a good way!). Not once did I read something that made me say "meh, he could have left that out." This is a must-read for all Koontz fans :)
Guest More than 1 year ago
Love the story idea, but wish another author had written the book. Koontz has a tendency to go on and on. He did so much of that in this book, I fell asleep twice.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Great pemise and cover description to get you excited to buy the book but thats where the excitement ends. Not at all on the level of Grisham and Patterson
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read many of Mr. Koontz's wonderful novels over the years, and I found this to be lacking in his usual masterful use of language. Most of this book was dialog, resulting in very short and clipped paragraphs.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Koontz is always good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Absolutely loved it ! Could not put it down !
avoraciousreader More than 1 year ago
I enoyed the plot, but everything is detached, nothing seemed to mesh together, and the incessant horticulture references were annoying. How can anyone not know their brother is pure evil? Why would a brother throw another brother under the bus? It seemed the explanation of the family dynamic should of been in the beginning, it would have made for more interesting reading. The New Mexico references were not only annoying, but odd and made no sense. Koontz, you do better with horror than mystery.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
I'm so confused. I have been a Dean Koontz fan for years, ever since I first found Strangers in my high-school library. There had NEVER been a book that I didn't like, until the release of VELOCITY. I actually, almost, nearly, dare I say it?--hated that book. Then along comes THE HUSBAND, and I wanted so badly to love it like I loved previous books like WATCHERS, ODD THOMAS, and PRODIGAL SON. Alas, it was not to be.

The premise of thrusting an ordinary man (a gardener/landscaper) into unbelievably horrific circumstances was a good one. Unfortunately, I couldn't "like" the characters. Said gardener was bland and boring; his wife (who has been kidnapped) seemed to be little more than an afterthought. The "extra" characters in the book didn't seem to flesh anything out at all. To be honest, I didn't finish the story, although I did flip to the last chapter to see how it ended.

Overall, it was okay, but I long for the days of more supernatural magic that Mr. Koontz's early books brought.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Although this was considered a New York Times best seller, I put it down after the first chapter and will donate it to the Veteran's D.A.V. thrift store. The author may be a prolific writer, but the contents doesn't have anything beneficial in my opinion. I'm glad the person who gave this to me as a gift didn't pay much for it. Perhaps the author can write about something that is interesting instead of material that is boring. I'm just being forthright here and my intention is not to be disparaging. If I couldn't get beyond the first chapter, what does that mean?
Guest More than 1 year ago
I miss the old Koontz of Phantoms, Watchers and Seize the Night! While I can understand Koontz's frustration being labled a 'horror' writer over the years, the fact is, that horror is where he really shines, ok, supernatural fiction too. His foray into just thriller or psychological thriller is disappointing and dull.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Wow, where do I start. I have been reading Dean Koontz forever and I can't but wonder where did this book come from. It doesn't fit the Koontz flare. Where was the hint of the supernatural, where was the psychic, mystic alien or 'somewhat off' characters? They were all missing. I was so anxious to read this latest Konntz book and I have to say that I was disappoiinted. The kidnapping plot was lame and predictable.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm so confused. I have been a Dean Koontz fan for years, ever since I first found STRANGERS in my high-school library. There had NEVER been a book that I didn't like, until the release of VELOCITY. I actually, almost, nearly, dare I say it?--hated that book. Then along comes THE HUSBAND, and I wanted so badly to love it like I loved previous books like WATCHERS, ODD THOMAS, and FRANKENSTEIN. Alas, it was not to be. The premise of thrusting an ordinary man (a gardner/landscaper) into unbelievably horrific circumstances was a good one. Unfortunately, I couldn't 'like' the characters. Said gardner was bland and boring his wife (who has been kidnapped) seemed to be little more than an afterthought. The 'extra' characters in the book didn't seem to flesh anything out at all. To be honest, I didn't finish the story, although I did flip to the last chapter to see how it ended. Overall, it was okay, but I long for the days of more supernatural magic that Mr. Koontz's early books brought.
CommonBookSense More than 1 year ago
A little cliche, but still a roller-coaster of emotions and suspense. Dean Koontz definitely knows how to keep readers on the edge of their metaphorical seats. The Husband is a good example of someone who will do anything to save the one they love. Whether it be stealing money, grand theft auto, or murder. It was difficult to keep up with, sometimes. The characters were constantly moving forward in the plot, but it was good at keeping you interested in what they were doing. You can see this review, and many others, on the CommonBookSense Blog: http://bit.ly/29Iu5gt
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Patrick_H2O More than 1 year ago
I am a huge fan of Dean Kunz books and he didn't let me down.  I thought some of the middle was a bit weak, but for the most part it kept me on my toes....
Foxsoul More than 1 year ago
I&acute;m not a reader, but this book got me, I could not stop reading until I finished.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Easy reading, had me stay up late reading it. Shocking discovering of siblings and $. Great story,
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago