×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Hush, Hush (Hush, Hush Saga #1)
  • Alternative view 1 of Hush, Hush (Hush, Hush Saga #1)
  • Alternative view 2 of Hush, Hush (Hush, Hush Saga #1)
     

Hush, Hush (Hush, Hush Saga #1)

4.5 4207
by Becca Fitzpatrick
 

See All Formats & Editions

For Nora Grey, romance was not part of the plan. At least, not until Patch came along. With his easy smile and probing eyes, Nora is drawn to him against her better judgment. But after a series of terrifying encounters, Nora’s not sure who to trust—she can’t decide whether she should fall into Patch’s arms or run and hide from him. And when she

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Hush, Hush 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4207 reviews.
mckenziet More than 1 year ago
First off, the storyline. Many people have said this is too similar to Twilight. But c'mon people, this is about fallen angels, not vampires. Stop complaining and realize that the majority of paranormal YA fiction out there is incredibly similar. The plot of Hush, Hush was gorgeous. It seemed to be very well thought out and the pacing was perfect. Ms. Fitzpatrick kept feeding you tidbits of information at just the right time in order to keep the plot moving, but still suspenseful. The idea itself is little known to me; I haven't read any other books about fallen angels, so I was instantly intrigued. I found everything to be exactly as I would have wanted it. A dark, mysterious plot with plenty of wonderful characters. Let me just say, the characters were divine. I'm so happy to have a strong female character instead of a spineless girl who can't do anything for herself *cough*Bella*cough*. Nora, although she falls for Patch, still has a sense of who she is and doesn't give up her entire life for him. Now let's talk about Patch. There's so much to say. At first I couldn't stand him and his arrogance, but I warmed up to him quickly. His attitude and charm grew on me. Plus, his innuendos in Biology had me smirking the entire time. I know, he's a bad boy, but how could you not be attracted to him? I mean seriously, I even got little flutters in my stomach at some of the things he said, and he's a fictional character. That says a lot about Becca Fitzpatrick's characterisation skills. Oh, and the chemistry between Nora and Patch is hotter than the sun. I could put an ice cube on Hush, Hush and it would melt. Finally, the ending. This is the first in an incredibly long time...The ending was absolutely perfect! I literally swooned at the final line. I don't know how much will change from the ARC to the hardcover, but I hope not too much! I felt satisfied with what I had learned by the end of the book, but I was left with just enough of a cliffhanger that I can't wait to devour more of Becca's work. Her debut novel is by far my favorite book of 2009. Well done Becca on a perfectly devised novel that exudes darkness and sexual tension.
JmWeidner More than 1 year ago
I fell upon this book just by chance; read some of the reviews and said "Heck why not". The best 'Heck-why-not' decision I ever made! I read the online chapter and was hooked immediately. I ordered the book online but couldn't wait to read the rest, so I also ordered it on my BlackBerry. I stayed up until 4am reading every single page. Needless to say I had a wicked migraine the next day from the small print on my phone, but it was more than well worth it! Becca Fitzpatrick is a genius! Angels? A brilliant idea! There are so many twists and turns that you are able to keep up with. Becca pulls you into the story begging for more. Nora (one of the main caricatures) is not the whiny little girl like in another book and is strong willed but when Patch is close to her, making her pulse race. She looses all self control. Ha! What girl wouldn't with a guy like that! Becca physically describes the caricatures just enough, letting your mind fill in the blanks. Becca is focused in writing a excellent action packed book that is also filled with just the right amount of tense sensual and erotic moments (Written with class). If at all possible you would have to FORCE yourself to put this book down, I could not. This is a MUST read! I am Hoping and Praying Becca writes a sequel, since there are so many unanswered questions, again making you beg for more! I will urge my friends and all whom I know to read "Hush Hush", Facebook, Twitter...however I can promote it. It's a book of writing perfection! Excellent Work Becca Fitzpatrick.... I applaud you....*** Clap-Clap-Clap***
theReader278 More than 1 year ago
I loved reading this wonderful book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I Bought this book two days ago and finished it in just that time i couldnt put the book down, I loved the twilight series but this book touches on a different idea of love. Werewolves and vampires are sexy but when an angel is involved it gets even more interesting. Patch is my favorite character its good to see people are open minding about giving what some people call a demon, a heart and love its a great way to play on religion and lets young adults look into a new view of romance and fantasy cause lets face it deep down every woman loves a bad boy. And the way it played with the fallen angel powers some might not understand why Nora did the things she did with Patch but you have to remember when someone has the ability to make you feel or change your mind its easy to see why Nora did things with Patch when she was afraid, I mean who wouldnt Patch was like chocolate so good but so bad for you lol.
Katie78 More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. I was hooked from the very first few pages and read 300+ in one sitting. I would have finished but it was 4 a.m. and I just couldn't keep my eyes open any longer. The book only got so-so reviews, but I think these people were nit-picking every little thing and comparing it to Twilight. Yes, Twilight was an amazingly good story, but they can't ALL be "Twilights". This is Becca Fitzpatrick's first book and I thought she did an amazing job. I can't wait til the sequel comes out!
debbook More than 1 year ago
Hush, Hush is a debut YA novel that I read courtesy of B&N First Look Book Club. Nora is a sixteen year old student in Coldwater, Maine. Nora's mom travels a lot, taking a job after Nora's father was murdered and Nora has become very independent. Nora's best friend is Vee, the yin to Nora's yang. They are also biology lab partners until the teacher decides to come up with a new seating chart. Now Nora is sitting next to Patch. Patch has dark eyes, is very mysterious, and seems to know a lot about Nora, things she has never told anyone. They are required to work on a project together and Nora has to track Patch down to get him to participate. This takes Nora way out of her comfort zone, but she really needs to get good grades. And she seems very drawn to Patch. Yet, when she's not looking for him, he keeps showing up. But strange things start happening to Nora. She thinks she is being followed. She is in a car accident while trying to avoid an attacker, but when she goes to Vee's house, there isn't any sign of the earlier damage. What's more, Nora thinks that Patch is projecting thoughts into her mind. Nora doesn't know who to trust or what to think. Is Patch a stalker or protector, good guy or bad guy? Answer- read it and find out! I am not a big reader of YA, nor am I a big reader of paranormal, but I loved this book. It was excellent, very well-written. I read this over a period of two nights (and was late to work those two mornings) but I just could not put this down. It had lots of twists and turns and great characters. Nora and Vee are perfect teen detectives as they try to solve the mystery of Patch and who is trying to kill Nora. This is not just for teenagers, this is a great book for anyone who loves a mystery and is willing to suspend belief just a little bit. I highly recommend it. http://bookmagic418.blogspot.com/
bootzie_bday More than 1 year ago
As an obsessive Twilight fan, I find this completely hard to say. Hush Hush is very suspenseful! It kept me on my toes the whole entire novel, wondering what would happen next. Right when you think one thing is going to happen, the unexpected does. I would strongly recommend this to anyone who read the Twilight Saga and loved it. You'll be wondering this whole book, and there'll be a nagging voice because of the suspension. Garunteed.You're in for a ride!
CLMoo More than 1 year ago
This book was so great. After I read the reviews and such, I automatically went and bought the digital version. I could not look away from my computer screen (which made my dad really upset since I stayed up all night and fell asleep at least three times in school the next day). I'd recommend it to anyone. Patch is my favorite character out of any book EVER. I'd say he totally beats Edward and Jacob in those silly Twilight books that almost everyone is crazy about. Plus, the cover was so beautiful and really fits the story, unlike some other covers that authors put on their books. Becca Fitzpatrick, good job.
elizabethbennet More than 1 year ago
this is a dark and passionate book. I could not put it down it took me maybe 2 days to read. the characters are great and mysterious. i cant wait to read the next instalment.
cjgonzal More than 1 year ago
Fantastic book! I highly recommend it to fans of the Twilight series and Shiver. The characters and plot are original and keep you guessing until the climatic end. If you like Bad Boys then you will LOVE Patch. He is sexy, seductive and mysterious. Edward Cullen has some competition.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is dark and edgy and SUPER GOOD!!! You should not even think twice about buying this book and MUST READ BOOK!!!!
Zeal More than 1 year ago
Becca Fitzpatrick has a hit in her debut novel, hush, hush! The contrast between the prolog, and the opening chapter is interesting and challenges the reader to search for the true meaning behind the characters. The mystery surrounding the characters is "hold onto your seat" quality and fast paced. Readers will turn the pages quickly in order to find out what is going to happen next! Teens and adults interested in fantasy and fallen angels will love this book! The cover is also amazing!
TaliaRawrrr More than 1 year ago
This book was over all amazing. I couldn't stop reading it. I read it in just two days and I wanted more! I'm so excited to know that there is a second book coming out! I can't wait to read it! Becca Fitzpatrick is an AMAZING writer. This book made me fall in love all over again with Fallen Angels/Guardian Angels. :]
RoseZen More than 1 year ago
In a world of fiction swimming with vampires, Hush Hush is a breath of fresh air. Yes, it's still the touch of supernatural love, but I enjoyed every page of this book. I couldn't put it down! I finished it in a little less than a week. After you get through the first few chapters, you find it hard to stop turning the pages. The characters are fantastic and funny, the plot is interesting, the writing is good, and overall, the book is VERY entertaining and a great read. Can't wait for the sequel! Love, love, LOVED! I'd recommend this to anyone who was a fan of the Twilight series, but is way over it thanks to the overly obsessed ten year olds fawning over Robert Pattinson and Taylor Lautner.
BK93 More than 1 year ago
Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick is an intense and exciting read for teens. Hush Hush is a love story betwwen a young girl and a fallen angel. This book was edgy, exciting and kept me reading nonstop. I liked that this was a love story not envolving vampires or ware-wolfs (I am getting sick of it) the Angel thing was diffrent and I liked that. This is a good book for teens or young adults who just want to read it is not all musy love it does have its fair share action and I recommend this book with high praise.
emilyLOVEStoread More than 1 year ago
Don't listen to what anyone says negatively about this book. It definately DOES NOT encourage abusive boyfriends whoever said that, & it definately is NOT a waste of time or money. I read this book & all while reading I was definately on edge. If you want to read an exciting, thrilling, & exhilirating book about a girl who falls for a bad boy/fallen angel even though she hates to admit she is, then go buy this book NOW! You will not regret reading it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Picked up this book after reading the reviews and I am glad I did. I loved this book and would recommend to anyone who wants something to read besides vampires and werewolves.
Emmie_claire More than 1 year ago
I really liked reading this book! The first part was a little boring but it was all worth it because the last 275 pages of this book made it hard to ever put down.A must read!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is not only sexy and dark, but also romantic, teisted, and seducing. This book is a definite MUST HAVE!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So many bad reviews on this book but it is purly amazing with every page its full of love and desire im in love with this series and cant wait for the 4th
Ginger811 More than 1 year ago
The book was great for teens who like mysterious books. Nora is in her senior year and she's in biology teacher changes the seating chart and puts her next to a boy, Patch, who makes her feel uncomfortable and always knows what she's thinking. Soon after he becomes her partner Nora starts to feel that she is being stalked. She tries to figure out her stalker but people start getting hurt when she does. Nora starts becoming closer to Patch then she thought she would. When she does this a teacher starts telling her not to hang out with Patch one on one anymore because of his past. Nora is trying to figure this all out and when she does she finds out even more shocking news. I would defiantly recommend this book to girls mostly it's a romance book and it doesn't really seem to appeal to boys. I would give this book 5 out of 5 stars.
ArmeWfe More than 1 year ago
So there I was reading Fallen and Torment, and when I was done I found myself wanting something similar and enjoying the paranormal YA reads. (Go figure since I am anything but a YA.) But at any rate I did a search to see what other books were associated with Fallen...and there it was Hush, Hush. So I purchased and began to read. Nora and Patch are likeable characters and are entertaining. Vee is also a good comical balance to the heavy, dark, and seemingly random relationships created throughout the book. Although at times Vee's character lacks the true connection to Nora despite what the author wants you to believe. I found myself liking Patch despite his smugness and aloofness which are the only real details about him. I was disappointed that Patch and Nora's characters while entertaining were not developed enough to get to know who they are and not just what they are going through. However, I was glad/relieved to find out that he wasn't completely a villain, and was capable of true emotions towards Nora. The author moves the story along in a quick and easy fashion with a good balance of mystery and intrigue that keep you turning the pages of your Nook. I am hoping that we get more character development in the next book. Having read other authors who are painstaking in their character development, I hope that Ms. Fitzpatrick does more in that arena. I have purchased Crescendo and I am getting ready to read it, I caution though that the 3rd installment of this series is NOT due out until Oct 25, 2011. If Crescendo is as good a Hush Hush then I am not sure you want to read it just yet. You might wait until summer so the wait for book 3 is shorter. Just food for thought.
Rov3r More than 1 year ago
I just finished reading this book yesterday and I won't ever forget it. The plot is so complex that I actually had to use my brain instead of just think of images to go with the words. It is the type of book that I look for to just unwind after a exhausting day. Nora and Patch are like light and dark. One open like a book the other mysterious and unwilling to shed light on his past.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent romantic book! The world that Becca Fitzpartrick creats is filled with warm and unforgetable characters! You will definitely fall in love with this book. I know I did. The story builds up to a very vivid and real visual world of creativity! I can't wait for her next book of this series! Once you open the pages, you will not be able to put it down!
kren250 More than 1 year ago
Due for release just before Halloween, this debut novel is geared towards the teen/young adult crowd. High school sophomore Nora Grey is disappointed in biology class when she has to sit next to the myserious transfer student, Patch. Soon she begins to feel a dangerous attraction towards him; and the more she finds out about him, the more her mind tells her she should stay away. Then there's the new student Elliot, who seems to have a thing for Nora. Her best friend Vee encourages her to pursue Elliot, but Nora is drawn towards Patch...despite the mounting evidence that he may have sinister designs for her. I wasn't sure what to think when I picked up this book. I almost never read paranormal-type books, and it's even rarer that I read books aimed towards the teen crowd. I thought I'd end up reading just a few chapters, and then setting the book aside for a more adult one. Much to my surprise, I ended up being very drawn in by this book, and not only finished it but finished it in just two days:-). There's plenty of action here, with a little mystery thrown in to keep you reading. And the attraction between Patch and Nora certainly throws off some sparks. Overall, this was a fun and entertaining teen read, and I am interested in reading the sequel when it comes out.