×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Hushed
     

Hushed

4.4 30
by Kelley York
 

See All Formats & Editions

He's loved her. Killed for her. Yet he may not be able to save her.

Eighteen-year-old Archer couldn't protect his best friend, Vivian, from what happened when they were kids. Since then, he's never stopped trying to shelter her from everything else. It doesn't matter that Vivian only uses him when skipping from one toxic relationship to another. Archer is always

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Hushed 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 30 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I lived this book. The characters are all well-developed and the story compelling. A great thriller with a killer ending.
Once_and_future_librarian More than 1 year ago
First of all, thank you to Netgalley and to Entangled Publishing for the chance to read this book for review! Ok, wow. Just, wow. I JUST finished reading this, and I am speechless! I was absolutely captivated by this book. Archer is a college student who really doesn't have any friends, except for Vivian, who has been in his life since they were children. At the age of 12, with Archer held down and forced to watch, Vivian is raped by a group of her brother's friends, while her brother watches and laughs. This has left her emotionally broken. Archer has made a vow to himself to always be there for Vivian, to protect her. Vivian uses him. But Archer is still there for her, and willing to do whatever it takes to make her happy. Even murder. Archer's mission is to make everyone involved in the rape pays for what they did. It starts by accident, when he pushes one guy down the stairs and kills him. Then the idea is born to make a list of everyone involved in the event that left his best friend traumatized and kill them, one by one. Archer is not the kind to get close to anyone. But then he meets Evan, and for the first time, he experiences a healthy relationship. Evan is there for Archer in the way that Archer was there for Vivian. Even when he finds out what Archer has done. Archer's love for Evan makes him realize that what he has done is wrong, and he know longer wants to continue with his "mission." However, Vivian starts to lose it...she has just lost her mother, been beaten up yet again by her abusive boyfriend, and is now losing Archer to Evan. She decides she needs to pick up where Archer has left off...and then some. She now realizes what a good thing she had with Archer, and now she wants him all to herself. This book opens with Archer's murder of Brody, Vivian's brother. So, I started off hating Archer. How the heck can you empathize with a murderer? How can the writer expect this from their reader? Well, I don't know how, but York pulled it off. This, in my opinion, is a sign of a very talented author. She made me really think about whether murder can be justified. While I cannot say that I think Archer did the right thing (at ALL, let's make that clear), I really think he felt like he was doing the right thing. Also, I was not expecting a homosexual romance in the book. I'll be honest, it caught me off guard. But, Evan was the only healthy relationship Archer had in his life. Their relationship was so sweet. I just really was rooting for things to work out for them. Overall, this was an amazing read. So very different from anything I've read. Yes, it was a little dark and disturbing, and it deals with a LOT of "difficult" material - rape, domestic violence, murder, homosexuality (not that I consider this difficult material, but some readers may). But, don't let that stop you. It was written so amazingly, that it didn't seem all that disturbing or scary. I look forward to reading more from Kelley York. Now, go forth and read :) Posted by Kary at 3:09 PM
AvaJae More than 1 year ago
I really really enjoyed this. 4.5/5 stars. First and foremost! HUSHED by Kelley York is a New Adult Thriller/MM Romance! I’ve seen a lot of people call it YA, but Archer and Evan are in college (as are all the major characters) and it’s published by Entangled’s Embrace line (which is a New Adult line). So just clearing that up. (Also, full disclosure: I'm an Assistant Editor for Entangled, but they did not ask me to review this book. I'm reviewing it because I enjoyed it and that's it). Related to the NA note: for those of you nervous about reading NA because of the potentially graphic content, this book is pretty tame. There’s one (literally) steamy scene, but there isn’t graphic content, and more than anything there’s just a lot of adorable cuddles and kisses. (Though, trigger warning, there’s some sexual assault mentioned throughout the book). Okay! So as for the actual book, this was such an interesting read. First of all, I can only think of one other book I’ve read from the primary POV of a serial killer (or, I suppose, vigilante, depending on how you look at it) and it made for a totally fascinating read. Mix in the super unhealthy relationship between Archer and Vicki and the ridiculously adorable Evan (who I just want to huggle forever) and I was totally hooked. The plot is interesting, the pacing works well and the relationships are complicated. I was totally emotionally invested and I really really enjoyed it. Minor gripes: I may have missed it, but I don't think Archer specifically identifies as bisexual, which isn't a deal-breaker, but as he's pretty obviously bisexual, I would have liked to see him identify and help fight against bi erasure. (Though, if I missed it, which is totally possible, then never mind.) Also, toward the end, I started getting kind of aggravated with Vivian and Archer's relationship, but I didn't think it was necessarily unrealistic...just frustrating. So. All in all, I loved reading HUSHED and I was so extremely happy to not only see some diversity on the NA shelf, but to see some diversity in a NA book that isn't strictly Contemporary Romance (*double high five!*). If you’re looking for some diversity to add your NA shelf, I absolutely recommend HUSHED.
kirstyviz More than 1 year ago
I'm writing this review after finishing Hushed in the early hours of the morning, eager to record my thoughts and feelings on paper, but also left emotionally drained from Kelley York's astounding narrative. This is a story ripped wide open for the reader to see its true and often bloody heart. Kelley York asks her reader to be empathizers, sympathizers, romantics and judges; the question posed is whether it should be the guilty who deserve our condemnation or not.   Despite Archer's transgressions Kelley York ensures he is the characters the reader cares deeply for; Vivian's manipulation of him is obvious to us and I had an overwhelming (but useless!) urge to scream "Wake Up!" at Archer. Thankfully Kelley York provides a voice of reason and support in the shape of Evan. Evan and Archer's relationship begins as nothing more than a friendship, but the way in which Kelley York develops the romance is both subtle and appropriate to the story. Evan is Archer's strength; the honesty and beauty of Kelley York's prose, particularly towards the end of the novel brought me to tears. Within Hushed the author has been able to combine perfect elements of a thriller and new-adult contemporary fiction with her anti-hero, unanticipated twists in plot and homosexual love to write an incredible, tenacious and enduring book.  A must read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Considering all the rave reviews I expected a mix of intense romance and nail biting suspense. ...or at least a book full of angst and overwhelming emotion. It fell flat for me. Evan didn't come across as the person that could pull Archer from Viv. Archer never gave off the gay vibe and I was pretty confused on why he chose Evan to be the one to open his eyes about all the jacked up thi he was doing. And Evan - seriously there's something wrong with him if he's helping someone cover up illegal activities and still fall in love with that person. I didn't fully understand the dates at the beginning of the chapters. Viv was a train wreck....
Just-Julie10 More than 1 year ago
Oh my, oh my. Where do I start? I would like to point out the content of this book, whilst not graphic has adult content. I would also like to thank Netgalley and Entangled Publishing for allowing me to read the ARC. So, we have Archer and Vivian. Archer has loved Vivian for ever, and has sat back and patiently waited for her to notice he’s there. One night something terrible happens to them both and Archer cannot save her from it, or the demons she has following it. Archer is consumed with guilt, so much he thinks the only way to put it right and save Vivian is to kill those responsible. This is where the book starts, it had me right from the get go and I simply couldn’t put it down. Archer and Vivian are seriously broken, him with wanting to fix her, and Vivian plummeting from one bad relationship to another. In comes Evan, I LOVED Evan. He is is light, sunshine and wants nothing more from Archer but his friendship, his time and attention, and Archer begins to see there is more to life than bitter, repressed anger, and he slowly sees that Vivian is nothing more than a self absorbed, manipulative attention seeker. When Marrisa, Vivian’s mother and the mother Archer considered her to be to him dies the story flips on it’s head. Vivian, finally broken by one too many beatings from Mickey her violent boyfriend flips. She doesn’t like that Archer and Evan are falling in love with each other and so she turns everything upside down and goes on a rampage I seriously did not see. What I loved about this book was the way Kelley wrote the depth of the characters, she didn’t shy away from the darker side of human nature and just how low a person will stoop when Love and jealousy get in the way. I have to say from the synopsis on Netgalley I thought Evan was going to be a girl, I was a little shocked (not in a bad way) she turned out to be a boy. It didn’t distract from the story but enhanced it. Vivian was a character I wanted to hate badly, yet I couldn’t. She was simply flawed and broken from events she had no control over. I liked that Kelley glided the story into one that showed we are a product of our choices. Bad things happen to good people, it is what we do after they happen that defines us. When I finished I felt I had been on an emotional wrecking ball….yes I was also naked!! It was intense, beautiful and horrific all at the same time. This is a wonderful story that should be read. I highly recommend it.
These-Pretty-Words More than 1 year ago
Deliciously dark and creepy. I have to admit this book scared me. It’s not the type of subject matter I’ve spent my reading time with in the past few years. Yet the summary and that fabulous new cover drew me in, and I felt the need to curl up under a blankie and read something that would push my boundaries a bit. I think I picked the perfect book for that. Hushed is the story of Archer – college student, slightly obsessive, opinionated, murderer. I started off not liking him. He was too brash, too dark…plus the book opens with a rough scene of him forcing a man to commit suicide. Not the best first impression. But over the course of the story, I learned more about him, and my feelings toward him shifted. I don’t think I’ve ever pitied a character more than I did Archer. Which is not something I would normally feel toward a serial killer. He wasn’t necessarily a bad person, more a boy trying to do the right thing but making the worst possible decisions. His backstory broke my heart and made me want to rescue him from the situation he found himself swept up in. His best friend, Vivian, was such a horrible person for him to be around – the human equivalent of an anchor weighing Archer down with guilt and stress. She took and took and took from him until there wasn’t much left to give. But then along came Evan. “I think I need to do less of needing people, honestly.” As he turned to unlock the door, Evan grabbed his arm and pulled him back around. Barely a breath separated their mouths. “Want me, then,” Evan murmured against his lips. “If you don’t need me, at least want me.” Evan was the light shining through the darkness of Hell poor Archer wallowed in. He’s charming and sweet, honest and open. And he liked Archer for him, not for what the poor boy can do for him. Their relationship was beautiful, slow-blooming and intense. Evan saw the good in Archer and fought tooth and nail to save him from himself. Unassuming and just plain loving, Evan made me swoon though much of the suspense and drama of Hushed. I gave Hushed five heartfelt stars. Buy it, read it, love it, pretend you have your own Evan to snuggle up to and hope you never piss off a guy like Archer. Or probably worse, a girl like Vivian.
lisazj1 More than 1 year ago
4.5 stars. This was an extremely dark, intense story. The characters are disturbingly well drawn. Archer is kind of an anti-social loner, who doesn't like anyone, except for his best friend Vivian. They've been best friends since they were little kids. A very bad thing happened to Vivian when they were younger. Archer was there, and he couldn't stop it or save her from it. So Archer is trying to atone for that. He thinks that if he can erase those that did this, he can erase it from ever happening and maybe he can get back the Viv of before. Archer is a killer, true. But this doesn't stop you from feeling for him, from wanting things to work out for him. Vivian has a thing for the wrong kind of guy. When she's in a relationship, she kicks Archer to the curb. As soon as things go bad, she comes running back to him to pick up the pieces. This has been their routine since Vivian started dating. Archer isn't stupid. He knows she's using him and he knows how messed up it is that he lets her. But he is absolutely powerless to deny her anything she wants or needs. His guilt over his failure to protect her from before has him convinced that if he can just be there for her, maybe she'll finally, finally see that the right one has been right there all along. Then Archer meets Evan. For the first time ever, there's someone who is concerned with what Archer feels and wants. As Archer grows closer to Evan, all of this slowly comes out. While Evan is a little shaken, his main worry is for Archer and what's happening to him. Evan is the bit of light in the dark landscape of Archer's life, and that's actually how Archer thinks of him, as being 'bright'. Vivian finds that she isn't Archer's main focus anymore, and he's even becoming unavailable to her. When she starts trying to be what Archer has always wanted her to be and he holds her at arms-length, she becomes even more unhinged. Viv then discovers proof of what he has been doing on her behalf and things fall apart in the worst way. This book opens with a WHAM, grabs you and holds you tight in its fist. It never lets go either. It was totally unexpected for me, even after I read a few reviews. It's a tautly emotional, extremely well written psychological thriller. Loved it, I am definitely a new fan of Kelley York!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Honestly my favorite book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
jenababy13 More than 1 year ago
I loved this twisted book more than I think I should have. Hushed is thrilling, disturbing, and insanely amazing. We start off with Archer, who lives by himself and tries to be normal. But, he's anything but normal. Then there is Vivian, Archer's best friend, and the person he's always loved. Archer would do anything to protect her, anything for her... even kill. Then, one day Archer meets Evan. Evan is down to earth, fun, and cares about Archer a lot. As Archer starts to fall for Evan, he starts to realize how wrong he's been about Vivian and how dangerous everything has become. But, is it too late to pull himself out? Following Archer, was one hell of a ride. He's this good-looking, smart boy, who is completely blinded by what's in front of him. But, how can you blame him when it's all he's ever known? He does what he had to for the person he loved. It just took someone else to show him how dangerously far he'd actually gone and how wrong it actually is. I mean, watching him and Viv together... was like watching someone take poison and letting it slowly seep into your body until you eventually give out. It was a completely toxic relation. On the other hand, I completely adore Evan. The way he swims in the cold, his cute ideas, his gentleness, the way he sees the good even in a terrible situation, his slight sexiness. Everyone NEEDS an Evan. He's the all-around perfect boyfriend. I was surprised, yet completely happy with the ending of Hushed. For Kelley to take a topic of love and being blinded and twist it as far as she did, it's almost frightening. And that's exactly why I loved this book as much as I did. It's 100% intense the whole way through and it's beautiful. This book sunk its teeth in me from the very beginning. It's twisted, completely spine-tingling, and at the same time inspiring. I cannot rave enough about this one. It's completely unique and if you're considering picking it up... do it! You will not be disappointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ravenswood_Reviews More than 1 year ago
Book Title: "Hushed" Author: Kelley York Published By: Entangled Publishing Age Recommended: 17 + Reviewed By: Kitty Bullard Raven Rating: 5 Review: EXPLOSIVE! From beginning to end is likely the only way to describe this book. When Archer decides to always protect his best friend Vivian while harboring a crush on her, how far is he willing to go? What happens when another is introduced into this toxic relationship and begins to change the other's mind? What happens when love becomes real and infatuation is realized? What happens when there's murder involved? Archer and Vivian have been best friends since grade school, he's always been there for her through everything, all the ups and downs of bad relationships and even when she needed him most... when her life depended on it. He's done things... bad things, things he can't take back, all for her. When Evan comes into the picture, Archer finds himself questioning his toxic relationship with Vivian and begins to realize that things are not what they seem. This story is amazingly written and superb in the dramatic sense! Kelley York is definitely a writer to watch out for she so vividly portrays the emotions of young college students and knows how to dig in deep and wrench every breath from you. I was on edge the entire time reading this book never knowing what path I was destined to travel down next. It was as if I became the innocent bystander the one watching in the shadows as it all unfolded and I was TERRIFIED! You have to read this book, it has all elements of everything you'd want in a good drama and thriller with a little romance thrown in for good measure. I love the fact that Kelley didn't carry the romance overboard and allowed her base story to shine through without this book becoming just another love story. BRILLIANT! I will be watching for more to come from this phenomenal author!
ReadingLark More than 1 year ago
Review by Andrea @ Reading Lark Hushed is the story of Archer and Vivian's dysfunctional friendship; the lives of these two produce poisonous effects and everything they seem to touch withers. Archer is seen as a monster to many - including his own mother - for his violent and antisocial tendencies. Vivian's experiences with abuse as a child have left her damaged and needy. Neither one can imagine their life without the other wallowing in pain beside them. However, Archer wants nothing more than to soothe Vivian's aches and make up for past wrongs. How does he accomplish this task? He makes a hit list of all the people who have hurt Vivian and one by one he starts to kill them off. Didn't I tell you that this friendship was dysfunctional? The summary of this one had me a little nervous before I started the book. I have loved everything I have read from Entangled Publishing in the past so I was willing to give this one a shot on that alone. This book was something entirely unexpected. I honestly wasn't planning to find a way to understand Archer or Vivian - let alone be sympathetic to their flights of crazy - but somewhere along the way I did find myself feeling sorry for them both. It was unnerving for me to feel sympathy towards a serial killer, however, as Archer's story unfolds, you start to hope that things will get better for him and in the end he will be okay. It's so odd to see the traditional villain type role be something other than evil. Part of what makes this book so amazing is the flaws of the characters and how they seek to overcome and/or drown in those negative aspects of their lives. My heart broke for Archer as I watched him struggle with his guilt over his actions. On the other hand, feeling sorry for Vivian didn't come as easily. I feel like this book will appeal to YA and adult readers for many reasons. The plot is suspenseful and intriguing. Each time I would think the story line was winding down, a new twist would arise and spin me off in a direction I never saw coming. The grittiness and realism of this book will also appeal to many. Finally, I think the struggles Archer goes through concerning relationships will also speak to various audiences. Archer's heart is divided between Vivian, the girl he's longed for since childhood, and Ethan, a new guy he met on his college campus. The relationship between Archer and Ethan was well written and many teens could benefit from watching as the guys come out of the closet with family and friends. Overall, this book was a shocking surprise. This isn't my typical genre, but I ended up loving it. Hushed is extremely dark and tragic. I spent most of the novel feeling creeped out and shivers danced up and down my spine. This one reads as if you have a front row seat as the story is playing out. Kelley York has done an amazing job of creating a story that is the dark chocolate of books - sweet with just an edge of bitterness and massively addicting. I highly recommend this book if you are looking for something dark, edgy, and suspenseful.
Read_A_Book More than 1 year ago
Opening with a murder, this novel grips the reader from the very first page as Archer exacts his revenge against one of the perpetrators of Vivian¿s nightmare from so long ago. This is an amazing tale of love and betrayal. A twisted tale between right and wrong. A deliciously dark tale focusing on the psyche of Archer as he battles against himself in hopes of redeeming Vivian. I found Archer¿s character to be extremely interesting. His need for love is so strong that he¿s completely blinded by Vivian¿s true nature, believing that he can restore her to her old self through vengeance against those who hurt her. And, although he is a killer, Archer is not necessarily a bad person. His heart is in the right place, as twisted as that sounds, but he has been without love for so long that he¿s lost himself along the way. With the entrance of Evan, things begin to change for Archer, and the battle that rages inside him was extremely real and well written. Authors who are able to make me feel alongside of the characters are one¿s I cherish, and York is, without a doubt, a fantastic writer. While Archer struggles with his psyche, Vivian is completely off and she¿s that character we love to hate. I had so many vile thoughts about her as I read, I¿m almost ashamed to admit it. York definitely has characterization down to a tee as I felt like I was there alongside all of the action and my blood boiled on multiple occasions. It truly takes a phenomenal author to do that. Four stars.
chapterxchapter More than 1 year ago
I wasn't really sure what to expect from this book. I heard all the hype, and I thought to myself...is this going to live up to my expectations after everything I saw from fellow bloggers? It did, and more! This book was surprisingly addicting, and truely lived up to it's hype. After reading just the first few paragraphs, I was already hooked. To read Archer's thoughts as he talks Brody through the steps on killing himself. Is this guy good? Is this a dream? What's going on? I had to keep reading. Kelley York weaves such an intriguing story. I went through so many different emotions, as I progessed through the book. There were parts where I was literally too scared to turn the page, to see what was going to happen next. There were also other parts where I just couldn't read fast enough. York has put so much depth and personality into Archer, Evan, Vivian as well as other characters in Hushed. I couldn't help but fall in love with the relationship that is Archer and Evan. It was so interesting to watch their relationship grow and unfold right before my eyes. To read the parts that made my heart thump just alittle bit faster, to feel the corners of my mouth turn up into a smile as they came to know each other. I was surprised at how emotionally involved I was while reading Hushed. Angry at Archer's mother, annoyed with Vivian's antics, awww'd by Evan's patience and understanding, sadness and sympathy for Archer, for his life and the things he has to live through. York does such a fantastic job building this story, and by providing even just the littlest details that made everything seem more real. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to step away from stories of monsters and beasts, and into a world of heartache, self-discovery, love and a dash of murder and vengence.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
iheartyabooks More than 1 year ago
Hushed is an intense thriller. Kelley York has penned a work of fiction that made me question my own conscience and beliefs of right and wrong. York definitely took me into the mind of an eighteen year old guy that was no doubt damaged. At the age of twelve, Archer couldn't protect the girl he loved from a horribly abusive situation, and he blames himself. He¿s held onto the pain and guilt for seven years because of it. Kelley York also shows how everyone has free will to choose. You can let abuse destroy your life, or you can heal and move past it. York has written an awesome thriller that will send chills down your spine. Archer and Vivian have been best friends since they were in grade school, but Archer wants more than friendship. Archer wants Vivian to be in love with him the way he loves her. But what happens to Vivian when they¿re twelve has Archer believing he needs make things right, so Vivian can be free to be the person she used to be. When Archer meets Evan, he sees life differently¿becomes more of the person he really wants to be, and not the monster he lost himself to. Vivian doesn't like Evan coming between her relationship with Archer, and for the first time in seven years, Archer finally sees who he is, and who he is to Vivian. Hushed is twisted, chilling and a heart-melting thriller and I'm still torn up about Archer, but Hushed is awesome and the ending will have you in tears. I highly recommend Hushed as a must read. Just be ready for the shiver going down your spine when you read it.
Nikkayme More than 1 year ago
Hushed is this insane, in the mind of a killer, thriller that both YA readers and adult readers will devour. It has the perfect combination of, suspense, what!? moments, and a sizzling romance that burns right off the pages. Archer, the main character and maybe not so great guy, has this innate darkness about him that is just a little terrifying. He comes off as a sociopath, but then we see the side of him that cares. That really, truly, cares; about Vivian, about his mother and Vivian¿s mother, and about the new guy Evan. It¿s this contrast in his character that makes Archer so intriguing. He becomes this enigma that is tantalizing to riddle out. As creepy as Archer can be, there¿s also something about him that is loveable ¿ that will make readers root for him and for his happiness, despite the terrible things he¿s done. It¿s very easy to see him as the bad guy, but even easier to see him as a victim. I credit Kelley York¿s astounding writing and character development because as bad as Archer may be, York makes sure we know there is much worse out there. And that much worse just might be Vivian. She is someone to loathe and I found myself angry at Archer for caring so much; but I got it. His love for her stems from a deep, childhood friendship that he cannot fathom breaking. Mirroring Vivian¿s wild and unpredictable personality, is Evan; who is good and kind and solid. I was as captivated by him as Archer is. Archer¿s interactions with Vivian and Evan are so opposing that it makes for this fire and ice feeling throughout the novel. York is a master at creating these complicated and convoluted relationships that are unhealthy on some levels and destructive on others. Hushed is as much a suspense thriller as it is a love story and that is a testament to the talent that Kelley York possesses. For every disturbing scene or thought, there is one that is steamy and rife with sexual tension. The plot unfolds in unimaginable ways, while maintaining this realistically messed up driving force. I loved every minute of it.
Buried-in-Books More than 1 year ago
Archer, in the beginning of the story is a cold calculating guy who's one thought is revenge and trying to win Vivian's love. He seems like he'll do anything for her, yes including murder. But Archer's been protecting and defending Vivian for years and she's never treated him as more than a best friend. Maybe run to him for a night, but he's always known it wouldn't mean anything so he's never settled for that. He's a man that's alone in a crowd. But then, a very persistent Evan eases his way into Archer's life and a slow friendship begins. To me, it's the sweetest love story I've ever read. No insta love here. Both are shy and their friendship is slow to start. Archer has never had a friend he could really tell everything to and there's a lot to tell. The slow build up of the relationship mirrors the buildup of the tension between Vivian and Archer. Vivian is a class A user. She uses Archer whenever she needs to get out of a messy situation that she's put herself in. She seems to date guys that are always abusive and obsessive. And Archer is always rescuing her from these guys, until he doesn't. And let's just say she doesn't like to share Archer. This is a tense thriller with a great romance thrown in to make it even better. You already know that Archer has killed for Vivian, so I'm not giving anything away, but you know it can't be wrapped up in a happily ever after ending. But the ending is satisfying and realistic. I think Kelley York's writing style is easy to read and her character development is perfect in this book. I felt impatient and then totally disgusted and terrified by Vivian throughout the novel. As she devolved into the lowest life, Archer grew into a man of conscience and self confident. And Evan, well he was perfect from the beginning really, he made me smile every time I read about him. Everything I'd want in a contemporary YA novel was there. The romance is between two guys, but it's so beautifully written I totally forgot that. And I really didn't care. Romance done right is romance. But if you have a problem with homosexuality, then don't read it. But you'll miss out on a great new voice in YA contemporary lit and a great thriller!
kristinja73 More than 1 year ago
So, if you have read the synopsis, you are probably asking why anyone would want to read a book where the protagonist is obviously a killer? A serial killer at that. The answer is simple...Archer, though far from perfect, has his redeeming qualities. He loves Vivian unconditionally, does anything for her, and takes care of her when nobody else can. Problem - Vivian is as toxic as they come. Only running to Archer when there is no one else for her to run to. When he starts pulling away, she decides that she cannot let him go that easy. Oddly, Archer's dysfunction was easy to get past. He wanted to change but didn't know how. His neurosis was obvious. The signs of OCD and Borderline Personality Disorder combined with a little Post Traumatic Stress Disorder never makes for an easy life. However, when he met Evan, his life started turning in a new direction. He was peaceful, happy, and had the love that Vivian could never give him. He began to see her for the energy sucking parasite she was. (Nope, don't like Vivian even a little bit.) He trusted Evan in ways he had never trusted anyone. Archer and Vivian both had difficult childhoods. Each dealt with it in their own way. Archer had the capacity to make his life better, to change.Vivian...not so much. Everything Archer did, he did for Vivian. Everything Vivian did, she did for Vivian. Only Evan ever cared about what Archer wanted or needed. I enjoyed the relationship between Archer and Evan. Evan brought light into a very dark story. He was proof that just because bad things happened, you could remain good. Evan was stability in Archer's life where no other stability existed. He defined love, friendship, and trust. I laughed at Archer when he was near Evan because he would just say whatever he was thinking while simultaneously thinking "why did I say that?" I adored his inability to hide from Evan...even when you knew he really wanted to. Everyone is going to have their own take on Hushed. Much like the characters in the book, you can choose to see the light behind it, or you can be taken in by the darkness. I walked away feeling that justice was served, that bad things happen to everyone but they don't define anyone. You define who you are with the choices you make. It's never too late to change. If you are see-sawing about reading Hushed, keep an open mind and do it. I think you will be surprised. This is another of Entangled Publishing phenomenal books. Kelley York wrote an excellent thriller with the perfect amount of suspense. Always enough to keep the pages turning. Be sure to look for my interview with Kelley York on December 21st as part of the Hushed Virtual Book Tour. As always, I would like to thank Entangled Publishing for including me in one of their promotions. *I was provided an e-book from Entangled Publishing in return for my honest review and participation in the Hushed Virtual Book Tour. Hushed does contain a male/male relationship and a graphic murder scene.
Regina_Linton More than 1 year ago
I got the opportunity to read this book through a friend on Goodreads and thought that it was a fantastic, edge of your seat, thriller. I just adore Archer. First of all what a fantastic name for a character and you think of an Archer. He is strong, powerful and devious. I have a soft spot for my mentally broken heroes. Archer is the most loyal best friend that you could ever imagine and the fact that he covets his childhood friend that he also secretly is in love with is more amazing. Vivian endured a horrible incident in her childhood that broke her. She was never the same again and Archer couldn¿t live with that. He also didn¿t think those who committed such an atrocious act against her should live either and compiled a list of those less worthy. Oblivious, Vivian just went about her life with carefree abandon make all the wrong choices in men. All Archer did was love her and she disregarded his affections and only sought this friendship. So when Archer runs into Evan one day on campus, why wouldn¿t Vivian be happy for Archer? This ticking time bomb spirals into some really bizarre territory that keeps you wanting to know more. Vivian is so shattered that it is impossible to piece her together. Archer is tired of trying to make her happy and seeks some solitude of his own in a budding relationship with Evan. Evan is the only one that Archer feels cares about him and wants to help him make the right choices. Vivian has a few surprises of her own to show you just how broken she truly is and Archer is right in her path. Pick it up and read it. Really keeps you interested and flows beautifully through twisted minds looking for what they think is best for one another. Recommended for readers who like a little twist in your characters.