×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

I Didn't Ask to Be Born: (But I'm Glad I Was)
     

I Didn't Ask to Be Born: (But I'm Glad I Was)

3.8 24
by Bill Cosby
 

See All Formats & Editions

In this hilarious collection of observations, Cosby brings us more of his wonderful and wacky insights into the human condition that are sure to become classics. In the tradition of Fat Albert, I DIDN'T ASK TO BE BORN offers a host of new characters, including Peanut Armhouse and Old Mother Harold. Not since Mushmouth, Dumb Donald, Bucky and the Cosby Kids has there

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

I Didn't Ask to Be Born: (But I'm Glad I Was) 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
Icecream18 More than 1 year ago
This novel is hysterical, to sum it up in one word. It will be hard to write a review without giving anything integral to the hilarity of the novel away. The reader gets to see a younger Bill Cosby, who is funny even at a young age. He instills his natural personality into this fairly short nonfiction book. Bill Cosby literally anticipates what the other person would say to him, say, in a talk show and manages to provide funny one liners. The first chapter of the book opens with a conversation between him and who he calls the "perfect talk show guest." They go back and forth about a simple, silly topic-a town called North in South Carolina...leading to much confusion. He then moves on to even funnier memories, closing with a story about his grandchildren and the ever elusive Santa Claus. There are little illustrations scattered throughout the book, right where they will be the funniest. This book is recommended to teens/young adults/adults alike.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Once again Mr. Cosby shared his humor of the many antics that only children can do through their imagination. Indeed, many memories came to the surface with our mothers calling us, making horses out of brooms, and other ways that were playful without technology or violence. Just imagain, no iPad, iPod, and no computer or T.V. Just a radio that would create your own vision of the characters telling the stories. How time has flown by, and I wonder if we are better off with all the "things" we have, than a child's imagination. I doubt it! If you question my thinking, ask a "kid" to make a baseball?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have been a fan of Cosby's since the day's of buck-buck. It is so refreshing to be able to pick up a book listed as comedy and not have to put up with the vulgarity that many comedians today use to get a laugh.
Fan4SFGiants More than 1 year ago
Another Literary Masterpiece By Bill Cosby! I Don't Know Why I Was Born is another literary masterpiece by Bill Cosby! Bill Cosby's explanations of romance in the black housing projects of Philadelphia are simply  hilariously discussed here. I Don't Know Why I Was Born is a must read for any Cosby fan!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am fairly certain that is a Nook error. I have been having stuff like that pop up everywhere. Bill is more than just educated; it takes a true genius to come up and KEEP coming up with great, intelligent humour. And don't you DARE insult America's greatest comedian again.
MaxBet More than 1 year ago
This was a light, humorous read that was easily finished on a cross-country flight. HOWEVER, grammatical errors in professionally published material drive me crazy! THE WORD "IT'S" IS A CONTRACTION FOR "IT IS!" THE POSSESSIVE FORM OF THE WORD "IT" IS "ITS" - NO APOSTROPHE! Bill, you are an educated man. You should know this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read most of Cosby's books but this one was a waste of time and money
OOSABookClub More than 1 year ago
Bill Cosby’s “I Didn’t Ask to Be Born (But I’m Glad I Was)” is life as everyone experiences it but few take time to note it. How we perceive our circumstances has value as a learning tool if we are able to find humor in some of the things that are ‘hard pills to take’ when originally experienced. This book is something that makes you laugh out loud because only you can know what you are laughing about. Cosby gives us circumstances that make us remember our own characters, situations, and events while imputing humor in what may have been a serious, sobering thing when first experienced. This is an idea compendium to read while on a flight, on a bus, waiting in line or anywhere where the passage of time is moot but necessary as it is guaranteed to deliver you to your destination in good spirits and uplifted. Reviewed by: Gail