×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

I Got Two Dogs
  • Alternative view 1 of I Got Two Dogs
  • Alternative view 2 of I Got Two Dogs
  • Alternative view 3 of I Got Two Dogs
<Previous >Next
     

I Got Two Dogs

4.1 10
by John Lithgow, Robert Neubecker (Illustrator)
 

See All Formats & Editions

Fanny and Blue may not be the smartest dogs, and they may not be the best-behaved dogs, but they are definitely the most-loved dogs.

John Lithgow's bouncy song - in the book and on the accompanying CD - is based on his own family's two dogs. And Robert Neubecker's eye-popping illustrations capture the joy of all things dog.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

I Got Two Dogs 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
PLP-AP More than 1 year ago
After listening to John Lithgow's reading of this book on Read Across America webcast I just had to have a copy for my class! My students were very engaged during the reading and by the time we were done we had listened to the story four times! John Lithgow was superb and brought life to the story. The book was engaging and the children quickly joined in the refrains when rereading the book. I was pleased to find that the book also included a cd for listening while tracking the words in the book. We have added this story book to our class listening center where it has quickly become a popular choice! We highly recommend this book and hope you enjoy it as much as we do!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book and children love it and the CD with it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
We love both books that are read to me by John Lithgow. We sure do wish there was more available that are read to me. Hint hint wink wink.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book! My son and me love to sing and dance around the house when we listen to the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is so fun and engaging. We took it to an intergrated group at the local isd. Both typical developing children and delayed children wanted to hear the book over and over again. It was so great to see the kids moving back and forth to the beat!
Readingmom33 More than 1 year ago
We have several of John Lithgow's children's books, and this one is a great addition to the collection. His writing is always original and fresh with more than just a little reality (from his own life) kicked in. The book and songs are wonderful and you don't even need to be a dog owner to appreciate it. Good job, John!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although I do agree that the poor grammar isn't the best model for young children, my students loved this book. They wanted me to play the song over and over again. They also asked that I give them copies of the lyrics so they could read as they sang. If it gets kids reading, then it's worth it.
MissReadingLady More than 1 year ago
While this is a cute book, with FUN illustrations, reading it aloud is like fingernails on a chalk board. It repeats the phrase "I Got Two Dogs" over and over. The poor grammar is just too much for me! Lithgow does not mean "got" like "received" or "obtained"; he means "got" like "have". We must take every opportunity to let children hear good grammar, and this book does NOT help. When I read it to children as The Reading Lady, I say/sing "I have two dogs..." but we then lose the opportunity to have them hear and see words together in their pre-reading activities. I hope, hope, hope Mr. Lithgow writes more fun-to-read stories, but PLEASE, no "I'm gunna sing" or other substandard usages.