×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

I Hope You Dance
     

I Hope You Dance

4.8 30
by Lee Ann Womack
 

See All Formats & Editions

I Hope You Dance abundantly illustrates why other country artists speak about Lee Ann Womack in hushed tones. Assaying lyrical, eloquent tales of the heart by top-notch writers, Womack puts on a display of vocalizing so sensitive and nuanced that its dimensions can be grasped only through repeated listening. Ronnie Bowman's dobro-drenched tale of unending

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

I Hope You Dance 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 30 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This artist does not quit, and hasn't since she started!! From ALittle Past Little Rock,to I Hope You Dance she has truly caught the attention of music lovers everywhere.There hasn't been a voice this sweet and melodic since Reba. I Hope You Dance will move you. Even now as I sit here writing they're playing this song. My children come to mind, because I want these things for mine. This song will bring you to realize that you do too.!!arkie
Guest More than 1 year ago
Lee Ann Womack has got a spectacular voice. Her song 'I Hope You Dance' is a wonderful song full of meaning and it shows her love for her two daughters. I can't put into words how great the CD is. It's a must have!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Lee Ann Womack has really hit the mark with this album! ''I Hope You Dance'' is one of those songs that just makes you feel good.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have two teenaged sons and I don't generally listen to 'country' music. My sons are both very much in to urban rap and other music stemming from our african american culture including what is termed, soul music. The first time I heard this song I accidentally landed on the channel and picked up the pretty melody eventually finding myself focusing on the words she sang and thinking immediately of my boys. After the first listen, I actually programmed the C&W station into my car stereo and found myself going there often in hopes of hearing this song again. I made the dedication of it to my boys and had them listen to it with me. I watched my sons really listen to those words just as I had. When the song was over, they were both quiet for a moment giving no indication that they had suffered through any sort of annoyance by being forced to listen. Instead, the younger one looked at me and said, 'that was nice Mom', while the older one nodded his head in agreement. The fact that the younger one gave, what for him is, a glowing endorsement speaks volumes in itself! I hope to purchase this song as a single CD if it ever comes out as one! It's absolutely wonderful to listen to, and has the ability to impact the soul of two teenaged boys of african-american descent!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I hope you Dance is an unlikley song to move a big tough hockey player like myself but it does. I saw Lee Ann in concert recently and found her to be very easy to listen to. I have also fallen in love with this song. Thanks Lee Ann for bringing out my softer side. Mike Peluso of the St. Louis Blues
Guest More than 1 year ago
dont let the rain fall but we can make a life better. like we all do it alover and we can make songs graw, you and i can make love, like we can do it right the first time when i saw the rain fall and i saw you my only on
Guest More than 1 year ago
THIS IS ONE OF MY FAVORITES FROM LEE ANN. IT RELATED SO MUCH OF MY LIFE AT ONE TIMES, SHE HAS A WONDERFUL VOICE, I HOPE SHE KEEPS SENDING US THESE GREAT SONGS....
Guest More than 1 year ago
When I first heard ''I Hope You Dance'', I through to myself, this is the song I will dedicate to my daughter. Because in this life and times, you have to be strong, wise and brave. But most of all, you have to have integrity. I hope she'll dance.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The first time I heard this song, I filled up with tears. My daughter just turned 1 and I thought of her immediately. Each time I've heard the song since I've filled up with tears. This is without a doubt the most beautifully written and sung song I have ever heard. I just sent away for the CD and plan to dedicate it to my daughter Madison when she is old enough to understand the meaning behind it. I LOVE THIS SONG!!!!!!! Well done.........
Guest More than 1 year ago
One thing that is lacking in todays world is to cultivate the sense of wonder. The sense of wonder is to appreciate that which is beautiful and grandiose and not necessarily practical. Mountains, oceans and love are not necessarily what we consider as pratical. Many times, we sacrifice the appreciation of these wonderful things because of our job, our lifestyle, or for just plain practical reason. The song reminds us how we felt about these things when we were small and still had innocence. For me, this song is like a song about the return of innocence and survival of hope. Finaly, peole also thing that this song is about a parent to their children. When I first heard this song, I thought of my ex-girlfriend. Though we broke up and aren't in love anymore, we still love and care for each other. I can hear her say these words to me, wishing me love and happiness.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Sometimes life throws horrendous curve balls our way. We lose sight of the important essence of life itself when our lives are in turmoil. Two days ago, ''I Hope You Dance'', was playing on the local country station. The words struck a deep cord in my soul that made me realize - no matter what strifes I encounter; no matter what events are taking place at any particular time in my life; no matter how evil seems to be winning over love; no matter what the volatile and horrific conditions that plague the world - take time to dance. Live. Reflect. Remember in the scheme of life's ebb and flow - I am a minute creature who will marvel at the wonders that surround me. Thank you!
Guest More than 1 year ago
When I heard I Hope You Dance on the radio I was so touched. The first line of the song made me think of my eight month old daughter and how everything is so new and wonderous to her. This song sums up everything I hope for my daughter in her life.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I first heard this song in the car by myself driving to work, 6 months pregnant with a son on the way and a 3 year old daughter at home. I can't tell you how this song overwhelmed me. I cried through the entire thing and said immediately that this song would be my legacy to my children and my husband. I love every word and am intending to get copies and give them to my children with a letter to open when they turn 18. Everyone should hear these words and live by them - they are so very powerful.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i really do like it
Guest More than 1 year ago
I Hope You Dance is one of the best songs i have ever heard. Her lyrics are wonderful and they tell such a good story. I play thios spong 24/7 and my sister says i am driving her nuts. I first heard it one day on the bus going to school and couldent get it out of my head. I am in the 8th grade and we are even singing the " I hope you dance" song in our end-of-the-year concert.I can't wait. Now everyone in my choir class just loves Lee Ann Womack!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The first time I heard Lee Ann Womack's hit, ''I Hope You Dance,'' I fell in love with it. Even the background music was wonderfully written. There are many times when I walk out of my cubical of a dorm room, frustrated and upset. It is during days like this that I find myself actually walking to my car to listen to Lee Ann Womack's voice. ''I Hope You Dance'' is a song that I will never grow tired of. I guess you could say that the song soothes me. Her video is even more touching to listen to and watch. With her graceful voice and moving words, Lee Ann Womack makes me feel like a stronger person. I guess you could say that I seem to make a connection with the true meaning of the lyrics. There have been several situations in my life that I look back on differently having listened to ''I Hope You Dance.'' I enjoy songs that enhance my love for life and the challenges it brings upon me. This song makes you want to take more chances in life, and ''...never take one single breath for granted...'' I now look at life in a different way.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Track for track, this is the best CD around. Lee Ann Womack is truley a gifted vocalist with pure traditional country values. We need more like her to keep country music going strong!
Indy-girl More than 1 year ago
I love the entire soundtrack, but especially "I Hope You Dance". It is so inspirational to me! This is truly what I believe... you must live your life before all in the world, rather than from the sidelines. If you don't 'get out there', your life becomes meaningless... you must let your own light shine through and be an inspiration to others to do the same!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I first heard 'I Hope You Dance' one morning in the car and immediately fell in love with the song. The way Lee Ann sings the lyrics shows her true feelings and emotions. This song reminds me of my son in college and my desire for him to take calculated risks in life and pursue opportunities, however ensure he makes these decisions wisely. I especially love the words 'I hope you still feel small when you stand beside the ocean...and when you have the chance to sit it out...I hope you dance'. This is truly a song sung from the heart and one that deserves a Country Music Award !
Guest More than 1 year ago
''I Hope You Dance'' is the best song on the album. As all the other reviews have said it is a tear jerker. It makes me think about my children. I gave the album a 3 star because the rest of the album faulters. The other songs sound very nice and Leann's voice is very beautiful. However the songs that accompany ''I Hope You Dance'' are about losing a love, being strong when your lover leaves, and how strong your child is and your not because your love has left you. I usually only listen to ''I Hope You Dance'' because the other songs are such sad songs. After such uplifing song I don't exspect to be let down so hard. I wish the mix of songs on the album was done better. I should have bought a single of ''I Hope You Dance''.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I hope you dance your way to the grammys and dance out of there with several golden men.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I heard this song on my way home from work last week. It was my last day before a badly needed vacation. It actually took my voice from me. I always listen to Country western music , and sing along. I know most of the music. This particular song made me think of my sons and daughter, but especially my younger boy who has been in the middle of Desert Storm, and many other storms in his life. I wanted to buy it and send ot to him right away. My congratulations to the writer(s) of this song, to LeeAnn for choosing to sing it, and any producers who made it possible. I will buy this and send it to my son, whether it's available as a single or not. LeeeAnn is a wonderful performer, and I'd love to have the whole CD anyway. Thanks for the words that have eluded my thoughts.
barbCA More than 1 year ago
Heard this song in a recent movie and had to have it. Surprisingly, all of the songs are wonderful. Womack really has a hit with this one. I think I've worn it out already (smile).
Guest More than 1 year ago
This song makes me cry. For my daughters upcoming second birthday, I plan on giving her her own copy plus an unwrapped copy with a letter from me regarding how much I love her. I plan on playing it every year at her birthday and giving her the sealed copy with my letter when she turns 18. Thanks LeeAnn for such a beautiful song.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When I first heard ''I hope you dance'' I had just had a very nasty divorce. This song helped me to realize that there is life out there to be had. The lyrics ''don't let some helpin' heart leave you bitter'' became my anthem. Now I ususally listen to rock and alternative music, but this song crosses all boundries. In fact this became the song that a very special man and I considered ours. I think this song shows the depth of the human spirit.