×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

I, Lucifer
     

I, Lucifer

3.9 57
by Glen Duncan
 

See All Formats & Editions


The end is nigh and the Prince of Darkness has just been offered one hell of a deal: reentry into Heaven for eternity—if he can live out a well-behaved life in a human body on earth. It’s the ultimate case of trying without buying and, despite the limitations of the human body in question (previous owner one suicidally unsuccessful writer, Deelan

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

I, Lucifer 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 55 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The greatest thing about this book is the wonderful way in which the author chooses to write about the human experience. Here we find a supernatural being (Lucifer, in this case) attempting to put into words just how great it is to be human--to have five senses with which to experience the world. Through this device, the Duncan is trying to communicate just how lucky we are to be here and how easy it is to just keep right on walking and not notice the abundance of beauty around us. Not only that, but the author provides biting commentary on religion, love, lust, politics, drug use, and success. And the fascinating thing is, we learn what it is like for someone to experience all of these things we take for granted for the first time! I didn't find the author's writing in any way self-important or overblown. I have thoroughly enjoyed this title each time I have read it and given it as a gift many times to my more bookish friends who can appreciate the tongue-in-cheek humor of it all. If you're craving some intellectual entertainment, this one is for you!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow. This book is one of the most original pieces I have ever read. It takes Satan, who is naturally the most evil and malignant being (if you will) of all time, and makes him so human! You can't help but find yourself laughing at his thoughts and words no matter how inappropriate they are. You also can't help but find yourself start to like him! I understand how some may find Duncan's writing style as very difficult to get into because the book does ramble on quite a bit, but it is completely fitting to the character and his feelings. It is kind of an eye opener as well because you see someone experiencing things that are always there in our lives, like flowers and the breeze, and just how beautiful they are and how much we take them for granted. You must be open-minded to read this book. A movie is in the making and I hope it does this masterpiece justice.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book shows Lucifer as I would see him. Arrogant but willing to laugh at himself. Evil but in a mischievous way. And just a barrel of laughs. Duncan takes Lucifer and makes him out to be doing what he does because he can. He enjoys messing with God and isn't afraid to get dirty doing it. Great book, I would highly recommend it
Guest More than 1 year ago
Not that I'm into this sort of thing for serious purposes, but for the past year I've been searching out novels that deal with the devil. As I said, not for any serious purpose but rather to see what book there are on the subject and how many authors have used 'him' as a jumping off point. ROSEMARY'S BABY comes to mind first, as does the funny Faustian tale KATZENJAMMER by McCrae and some others. But I, LUCIFER was really an eye-opener for me with it's 'human' element that the book gave to this 'person.' Hard to describe, but all I can say is read it and get educated. Totally believable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Even though the beginning of the book is very interesting with the way he describes after page 100 it goes down hill and the story its self is a cliche.
Dantes13 More than 1 year ago
This book has a great story line. The devil is offered forgivness if he can go a month without committing a mortal sin while in the body of a suicidal writer. Sounds good. However, the story itself is difficult to follow. It is essentially the devil going on one long rant about what he did throughout the month he was here on earth. There is profanity, vulgarity, a multitude of sex scenes, and many quips by Lu. There are some funny parts and I liked the historical and biblical tie ins with the characters. The affects the angels and demons have on eachother physically are a nice touch, but it's the last 10 pages or so that were the best. THe end is actually pretty good although you kind of have an idea of what may happen, but it's the why that was good.
Jesson More than 1 year ago
It is quite easy and obvious to say that Glen Duncan is a comedian when it comes to creating a satire of everyday human life. His manor of creating a point of view toward everyday life was perfect through that of the head satyr himself, Lucifer. It really gives you a compelling perspective on both humans and the demonic race itself.
Guest More than 1 year ago
One of the funniest, but most well thought out books of all time. Duncan goes all out, and he obviously has no boundaries. He's a genious, and should be credited for this masterpiece
Guest More than 1 year ago
bought this book last year, and so far have read it 3 times...the devil is in all of us if we let him....read this book and you'll understand.......
Guest More than 1 year ago
You need to have an open mind and a wide ranged sense of humor. But this book is one entertaining read. I haven't read a laugh outloud book like this in a good while. Will read it again soon. I and I rarely re-read a book). The concept of the devil using gods offer of a second chance at redemption to get a vacation from hell with no intention of really trying to redeem himself is priceless. Duncans witty and unusual take on the devils side of biblical history is original and funny. Some of it really makes you pause and think about what you thought you knew. I found much of it gave a certain insight we rarely get about good and evil. Hope his next writing effort is as good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Glen Duncan, please write some more. This was so much fun, such a novel take on characters so many people think about in so many different ways.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a very interesting take on the point of view from Lucifer himself. The story flows well and is very intriguing but encumbered by the erratic style of writing. I thought it well worth the time and saw through it's shortcomings and enjoyed the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Meli_Green More than 1 year ago
In I, Lucifer God offers Satan a deal that he will receive redemption for his role in rebellion against God if he can lead a relatively sinless life in the body of Declan Gunn, a pseudonym for the author. What follows is a very enjoyable 100 pages where Satan runs rife through London experiencing the human senses for the first time. Duncan strings together pump adjectives flowing into stream like sentences in which the color of a blade of grass is described like a fine portrait. The book is framed as a kind of memoir where Lucifer documents his life on Earth and his experience among the living. He also recounts his version of biblical events and pretty much lets you know why God was such a bastard that had to be rebelled against. The beginning is interesting, witty, fun and offers some insightful ideas on several Biblical events. The problem comes when Duncan runs out of plot and interesting situations for Satan to explore. Satan's explanations turns more and more into whining and ranting about what a bad lot he had being one of God's angels. As I said before, the book is very funny, but does settle down and become a little dull as the book progresses. Nevertheless, I did really enjoy it, even if it was very uneven at times. But, and this is a big one, the style of the book is "steam of conscious" so there are a great many times when Lucifer goes off on a several page long tangent in the middle of the story, like an ADD kid on amphetamines. So, if that style of writing really irritates you, you might not want to check this one out. But, if you can suffer through the narrative interruptions, it is a very original, interesting book, well-worth the read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pretty cool i must admit.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago