×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

I Was Told There'd Be Cake
     

I Was Told There'd Be Cake

3.9 103
by Sloane Crosley
 

See All Formats & Editions

From the author of the novel, The Clasp, hailed by Michael Chabon, Heidi Julavits, and J. Courtney Sullivan.

Wry, hilarious, and profoundly genuine, this debut collection of literary essays from Sloane Crosley is a celebration of fallibility and haplessness in all their glory.

From despoiling an exhibit at the Natural History Museum to provoking the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

I Was Told There'd Be Cake 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 103 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I highly enjoyed this book. Sloane has a unique and profound way of looking at the world. I look forward to her next book.
Charlie9 More than 1 year ago
This book was a refreshing escape after a long day of work. The author is witty and delightfully self-deprecating in her storytelling about otherwise normal day-to-day life in New York. I was sad to finish it! Her writing is similar to Dave Sedaris. Looking forward to reading her other works.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a very entertaining set of essays by the author of How Did You Get This Number? Specifically requested by a friend who had the other book.
SET More than 1 year ago
I saw that this book had mixed reviews, but based on what looked like a fun first chapter I gave it a shot anyway. Now I wish I had read a bit further. The writing style reminds me of some of the wittier columns written by journalism students at my college newspaper. A third of the way into it I'm wondering who this author knew in the publishing world and how she leveraged that into a boook deal. I'm not usually so neagative, but if I can stop one person from wasting their $12.99...
mishawaka-bookie More than 1 year ago
From the start Sloane Crosley's "I was told there'd be cake" tucks you into her magic world of sharply witted words and delectable charm---much the same way writer Dorothy Parker did nearly ninety years ago. Crosley's seemingly effortless flow of words and gabs, would have fit squarely in the infamous Algonquin Round Table made famous by Parker and her clever friends. Fresh eyes bring fresh insight, and to author Sloane these traits glue like butter to her psyche. If laughing out loud is for you when your reading, by all means grab this book and covet it. It won't disappoint. I'm only disappointed in the fact the book wasn't sold with a gem of a cake to indulge with along with it. Sliced right though, this book will do nothing but smile right back at you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If only you could rate it lower. I was so excited to get this book in the mail because I had been on an essay kick with the likes of Sarah Vowell and David Sedaris. The author/narrator of this book so so irritating that I was almost unable to get to the end of the book. On the other hand, if you are looking for a book to make you feel better about yourself, this could be stimulating.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Absolutely hysterical! I would take this book during my commute into work and everyone on the bus would stare at me because I couldn't stop laughing out loud. Maybe because I am a late 20's new yorker myself, but I could totally relate to her stories. I felt like someone was telling the ridiculous stories that my friends and I have shared. Fun, lighthearted,get ready to laugh, read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was really excited to read this book and was pretty disappointed. I expected to laugh out loud and mostly just smiled a few times. Maybe I didn't understand her humor but the stories she told just seemed boring to me.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I finished 'I was told There'd Be Cake' a good week ago and my face still smarts from laughing so hard and so often. Sloane Crosley is a rare, precocious talent and I'm permanently beholden.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was laughing outloud in public thanks to Sloane. The essays are more of a stream of consciousness than anything else. Luckily her thoughts are an endless parade of funny situations. I am waiting for more cake as well!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sloane is a wonderful writer. It's very rare that a writer establishes such a unique voice in their first publication but that's exactly what she did. The writing is smart and funny, observant and relevant, important and enjoyable. These essays will stay with you for a long time after reading them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Funny!
_Rah_ More than 1 year ago
I enjoy how Sloane looks at the world, she has a funny witty way of explaining simple or sometime chaotic happenings in her life. This book was quite enjoyable, easy to read for a little bit and put down but always wanting to go back. The stories were short and quite hilarious, caught myself laughing out loud a couple times. I look forward to another book from her, hopefully soon.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hilarious short stories. Read it twice already.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago