×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

I Will Teach You to Be Rich
     

I Will Teach You to Be Rich

4.0 68
by Ramit Sethi
 

See All Formats & Editions

At last, for a generation that's materially ambitious yet financially clueless comes I Will Teach You To Be Rich, Ramit Sethi's 6-week personal finance program for 20-to-35-year-olds. A completely practical approach delivered with a nonjudgmental style that makes readers want to do what Sethi says, it is based around the four pillars of personal finance—

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

I Will Teach You to Be Rich 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 69 reviews.
kegger999 More than 1 year ago
Ramit Sethi makes personal finance entertaining. Sethi is about my age and has the same sense of humor so I liked his style a lot - I actually laughed a couple of times while reading. The advice and action steps are not groundbreaking for those familiar with David Bach and others of the same type, but there are a few really good pieces that are unique to Sethi. If I had to pick two finance book to give to a friend this would be one along with The Richest Man in Babylon - both practical and Sethi has some comic relief. Don't buy the e-book though. The graphs and charts were so small on my nook that I could barely read them and there are many insets that interrupt the main text - sometimes in midsentence - so you are endlessly flipping pages back and forth and interrupting your train of thought. This formatting error for the ebook was very frustrating to me. Buy the paperback or hardback and be happy.
Alexis_Martin_Neely More than 1 year ago
As a personal lawyer, legal expert on TV and author of the weekly online magazine Family Wealth Secrets as well as a best-selling book about legal planning for parents, I come across a whole lot of personal finance advice. Most of it is either trite, bad or just downright ineffective. Ramit's guidance is exactly what you need when you are just starting out in your financial life (and frankly even if you aren't). His 6 week action plan leaves you with no question about the right way to handle your finances and more importantly how to make decisions as they come along on a day to day basis. After reading Ramit's book, I Will Teach You to Be Rich, you will have all the answers within you and be able to stop looking outside of yourself to know what you should be doing with your money. Alexis Martin Neely, Founder & CEO Family Wealth Planning Institute http://www.FamilyWealthMatters.com
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
B&N should check the sample. Maybe there is something screwy with my Nook but it seems to have duplicate info so it's not the full 60ish pages.
StyloNom More than 1 year ago
I didn't grow up in a household that knew how to handle money, so when I got my first full time job, I couldn't figure out why I was More in debt than when I had a cashier job (didn't even get hookers and drugs)! Luckily, this book teaches all that I didn't know. Every month, I can put more of his practices into action. He doesn't guilt you about small things you like in life (my cappuccino is a real treat, don't take it away!), but will berate you if you don't try to spend a few minutes of your time tweaking your system or negotiating a good rate that will save you lots of trouble, financial heartache, and possibly hundreds to thousands down the line. I've had the worst month of hidden expenses, moving costs, overlapping rent/deposits, but I've managed to focus on my finances, thanks to Ramit, and my net worth is more than it was last month. Feels good, bro. This book is straightforward, amusingly written, and Ramit's excitement about the potential to change you finances is contagious! I had a free .pdf of this book, but I liked it so much that I bought a copy for my nook! Money and time well spent!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Such a great book for young adults, especially college students trying to manage money and learn the best ways to invest.
Debbs4 More than 1 year ago
I Will Teach You To Be Rich, by Ramit Sethi, is a well written, concise book for beginners and in particular, young beginners in the area of personal finance. The author takes you from basic budgeting to saving for large purchases such as your first house. He makes it relevant to today's buyer in that he will state whether it is even a wise decision to buy a home as opposed to renting. Ramit has a keen sense of wit and boldness that will appeal to this generation. I am glad that there is someone such as Ramit that will speak to this subject in an appealing way, there is certainly a need! I recommend this book as a purchase for those interested in learning basic finance; it would also make a nice graduation gift.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A very instructive book on how a young person can get life on track financially no matter what job you have, but also provides advice for the college student and career person. Practical (and humorous) advice on spending, saving, establishing credit, imvesting for retirement (the younger you start the more you have with smaller amount), making major purchases (discussions on car purchases, saving for that beautiful wedding, and to buy or not buy a house), and still do the things YOU love. Geared to the young but so applicable for anyone needing to get their life financially on track. Though in the present interest market, bonds and CDs are not the investment perhaps to be in - best to wait a few years for better interest rates, and invest in funds or etfs for now within your accounts.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is a cool book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There is nothing fancy here, just solid advice. I lead a comfortable life because I've followed his instructions and don't have to worry about money. It's taken care of.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ramit's book is filled with sensible, practical advice that EVERY young professional should know. It's a shame that they don't stress financial education more in school, but this easy and entertaining read will teach you the basics in no time... this is truly a must-read for any money-conscious individual working today.
jorisia washington More than 1 year ago
Mr. Sethi offers a detailed game plan to acquiring wealth. Great for young adults who are tired of the vapid, dry and uninspiring financial literature. A must read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago