×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Ice Forged (Ascendant Kingdoms Saga Series #1)
     

Ice Forged (Ascendant Kingdoms Saga Series #1)

4.2 26
by Gail Z. Martin
 

See All Formats & Editions

Condemned as a murderer for killing the man who dishonored his sister, Blaine "Mick" McFadden has spent the last six years in Velant, a penal colony in the frigid northern wastelands. Harsh military discipline and the oppressive magic keep a fragile peace as colonists struggle against a hostile environment. But the supply ships from Dondareth have stopped coming,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Ice Forged 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Needless sensationalism to hide poor writing: the story opens with the main character's sister being raped by her dad who also rapes his sister. Typical trash writing in a sad attempt to shock and awe readers
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
decided to give this one a try because I really enjoyed her other work, and I was not disappointed with this at all, it was a great book, and I am really looking forward to the next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BookLoversLife1 More than 1 year ago
When Blaine finds out what his father has done to his sister, its a step too far. He runs out and looses his temper. He ends up killing him, which most people think is no harm, but still a murder is a murder. The king goes lenient on Blaine though and instead of killing him he sends him to Velant. Its a prison where once you go you never come back from.  Blaine has tried to make the most of his time in the frigid wastelands of Velant but when the supply ships suddenly stop coming it doesn't bode well for them nor the other kingdoms. What is happening and what will become of them now no one will bring them supplies? The first thing that grabbed me was the cover of Ice Forged. Its very eye catching!! Then when I read the blurb I was intrigued!  Blaine was such an awesome character. Strong, sure, kind and honest. He is destined to marry a beautiful girl he loves but when his father steps too far out of line Blaine looses it. He has put up with his father all his life but now enough is enough. On the way to the prison he decides that Blaine McFadden is dead and thats when Mick is born. No ones needed to know he was a lord. He has survived the first 6 years of the prison and is now allowed to have his "freedom" in Edgeland. Most people turn to him when they want something sorted because he is level headed.  The setting of Ice Forged swaps between Blaine in Edgeland and Connor in Donderath. Edgeland is the worst place to live, but then again it is a prison. Its cold, barren and harsh. The prisoners try to have some semblance of life while trying to forget that their life isn't their own. Its brutal and more so when they have to eek out a living with no help from outside. Then Blaine has to try to restore the magic to their world when it stops and try to survive to war that's happening. Donderath meanwhile, is facing a coming war. Connor is tasked with finding a mysterious map using a magical pendant. When the war knocks on his door, he has no choice but to board a boat leaving Donderath. The only place that seems to have escaped the was is Edgeland, so when Connor finds himself in the one place he never thought he would see, both worlds collide.  Its been a while since I read a good high fantasy and Im glad I got back into it with Ice Forged. At times I got a little bogged down with what I thought were inconsequential things but everything came together nicely. Everything happens for a reason!! It was fast paced enough to keep me turning the pages. It had plenty of action and surprises. With gritty characters and strong leads Ice Forge is a very strong start to what promises to be a great series.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm going to have to look over the next book in this series when it comes out. I may not buy it, because this whole "restore the magic" quest is already seeming a bit tired. I was originally interested in the prison/redemption concept, and the idea of magic losing out to science and that transition, but they payoff doesn't seem to be there, for me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
very well developed full of action
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is great you should reslly read it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Welcome to the Ice Kingdom! IceWings only.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"You cannot do that! He is mean!" "Not true." Elsa shot back. "Sure!" Insisted Ana. Elsa sighed. "You can if it is true love." "True love indeed!" Yelled Ana. "Ana, what do you know about true love?" "I know plenty of true love! I just got married to a good kind man. Kristoff." "Ok...." Groaned Elsa. "Ana please.." "No Ana please!" Yelled Ana. And with that, she punched Rye in the face. Both gasped. "HANS!?" They said in unsion. "Ow that is the second time....whoa." "Hans, what are you doing?!" "I...uh..I..." stutterd Hans. "Ha! Trying to steal the crown, huh? Well, now you will be gone. Many girlfriends you will have." Snooted Elsa. "Go, or I will freeze you now." "No." Growled Hans. "Okay." Shrugged Elsa. She froze his behind. "Yow!" Yelped Hans and he ran all the way back home. Ana looked at Elsa. "Next time be careful. And the Trolls figured how to un-ra.pe. people. Tuh. Hans." Elsa smiled. "This week was very se.xy. Don't worry, I will." Grinning, the two sisters hugged. THE END!!!!!!!! BYE!!!!! ~SUSAN!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Welcome all to my palace