×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Icebound Land (Ranger's Apprentice Series #3)
     

The Icebound Land (Ranger's Apprentice Series #3)

4.5 704
by John Flanagan
 

See All Formats & Editions

The international bestselling series with over 5 million copies sold in the U.S. alone!

Kidnapped after the fierce battle with Lord Morgarath, Will and Evanlyn are bound for Skandia as captives aboard a fearsome wolfship. Halt has sworn to rescue Will, and he will do anything to keep his promise–even defy his King.

Expelled from the Rangers he has

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Icebound Land (Ranger's Apprentice Series #3) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 704 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book!! YOU should read the book one and two
Devin McCabe More than 1 year ago
Great book suggest read 1 2 first and just read whole series you will love it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Rangers Apprentice the ice bound land is a slow paced book that sets up the next book in the series. Will is doing all he can to recover and help Evanlyn. They are still with the skandians. this is a very exiting book were Halt and Horace are racing against time to save Will and Evanlyn when it takes unexpected turn in Galitca which will lose valuable time to save. This a very good book because of the back and forth movement is the book. Sometimes you will find you will be with Will and Evanlyn. I liked the book John Flanagan used the snow covered mountains as the seeing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my new favorite series. They are fantastic books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read all of these books they are so good!!!! Even at age30 im enjoying these books
Tammy Strunk More than 1 year ago
I have read the whole seiries and this might be my favorite
Barry Miller More than 1 year ago
J. Flanagan has once again achieved perfection with his 3rd book of The Rangers Apprentice. I just started to read his book and I am already in love with them. This is a great series for all ages. It is filled to the brim with action, a little bit of romance, and adrenalin. From advanced readers (9-12) to teens (13+) to adults, this series will make you laugh, love, and even cry at and for he characters. Enjoy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my fav so far. I was expecting somting going on between will and evanlyn... WHO GIVS A RATS ASS IT WAS AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
this is the best book ever
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is a grate book in every possible way !!!!!!!!! :) : D
ZuZusPetals More than 1 year ago
My eleven-year-old son and I have been reading together at bedtime since he was a little boy. We are always glad to find a series of books that we can enjoy together. This series by John Flanagan has been among the best. The characters are well developed and complex and you cannot help but like Halt, Will,Evalin, and Horace. The humor is smart and quirky. I think it is a wonderful lesson for my son to see how people who originally did not like each other can develope a friendship and mutual respect for each other. I also think he is impressed with the admiration and loyalty they feel for each other. The look in my son's eyes when Will finally recovered from his addiction to warmweed could not have been happier if it had been one of his own school buddies. We had to start the next book in the series the very night we finished this book. Great stuff!
icedominater1 More than 1 year ago
Ranger's Apprentice Book 3 I am going to tell you about this spectacular book, Ranger's Apprentice. The reason it must be told is because I find it to be an exciting tale of action, mischief, and it has an intriguing story that I think is stimulating. This book starts out with two main characters, Will and Evalyn (Will is an apprentice ranger, someone who uses a bow to fight, and Evalyn is a maid), who in the last book, got captured by a band of fierce Scandinavians. These barbarians plan to take Will and Evalyn back to their home country and sell them off as slaves. But what they don't know is that Will's master Halt (Halt is also a ranger, but he is a senior ranger, not an apprentice) and his friend Horace (a knight) are traveling to save Will and Evalyn. Meanwhile, the Vikings and their slaves get caught in a huge storm with waves higher than the ship. "The ship began to claw its way up the face of the wave, rising higher and higher, moving more and more slowly until Will was sure they must begin the terrible backward sliding motion again. Then the crest of the wave broke and thundered over them." Pg. 4 By the time that it is over, they are forced to dock on this small island. At the same time, Halt and Horace are traveling through a country called Gallica, and all these strange knights want to challenge Horace, but always loose. Soon Horace's fame spreads and attracts some odd knights. On their way through the country, they get captured by an evil knight named Deparnieux (day-par-nyeu), where in a couple weeks a challenge will be issued between Deparnieux and Horace. "What a thoroughly piece of work you are Deparnieux," Horace said softly, and the black knight leaned forward across the table, thrusting his chin out for the ritual blow with a glove that would issue the challenge and make the entire event irrevocable. "Frightened boy?" He sneered, and then flinched as a glove slapped stingingly across his cheek. Not the pain made him flinch. Rather, it was the unexpectedness of it all. For the boy across the table hadn't moved. Instead the bearded, grizzled ranger had come to his feet with the speed and agility that left the warlord no time to react, and struck him across the face with the glove he had held under the table for the past few minutes. "Then I challenge you, Deparnieux," Halt said. And for a few seconds the warlord felt a surge of uncertainty as he saw the light of satisfaction deep behind those steady, unwavering eyes" pg. 226 and pg. 227. Meanwhile, back in the Vikings home town, called Hallasholm, Will was sold as a yard slave, and Evalyn as a house slave. That means that Will has to work in the cold snow 20 hours a day, and Evalyn has to work inside for 15 hours a day. The sad part is that Will, just to stay warm, needs this very addictive drug called worm weed. If he doesn't get the drug he is turned into a mindless animal that always craves the drug. Finally, the Viking leader Erak, that captured Will and Evalyn, feels some sympathy for Will who was once a great warrior. So as you can tell.wait I'm not supposed to tell you the end, but I can tell you that the day comes when the challenge against Deparnieux is issued. Instead of Horace (the knight) fighting him, Halt (the senior ranger) challenges Deparnieux. But sadly, you'll have to read the book to find out the end. Rating: 10 stars out of 10 I rated this book 10 stars, because it had everything. Action, a great story line, and
darkawesomeness64 More than 1 year ago
An amazing story with lots of twists and surprises that will make you never want to put the book down, starting off with Will and Evanlyn getting taken to Scandia this is one book you won't want to miss!
Sandra Jensen More than 1 year ago
Itbis awesome
steverc More than 1 year ago
A can't put down book.
cardinal79 More than 1 year ago
My 11-year old son read this book and thought it was great.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wish there waz at least a little romance between 'Will' & some girl it should be akinda girl who is stubborn, short temperd, likes to fight, real quick witted and is one of the 'Rangers' daughter oh & she should also b 15 & hav long thick black hair and she should be training her whole life to bcome a 'Ranger' other than that this is avery great series!!! Hope they make a tv series outta this series!!!!!! Any1 agree with me here??!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really ,really ,really great, because there is a really good ending and cliffhanger!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So I mentioned bad things. There aren't many, but the worst is that in the second half of the book, nothing happened. Or almost nothing. The whole second half just had me longing for something to happen. Very sad in places too, but that just adds to the drama. Other than that, the book was great. The first half was action-packed and left me hungering for more. So all in all, read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Whoever doesnt like John Flanagans writing needs to look at the other books that are popular like the hungar games was super predictable and undiscriptive. Twilight was a bunch of fail werewolves and vampires...The only other popular book series that is good is diary of a wimpy kid because it is funny and you dont now what to expect.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is one of the best ive ever read!!! But be sure to read the first and second ones
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ammazing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think it is so very aweso
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a stunning, action-packed book!