×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Ideal Man
     

The Ideal Man

4.0 418
by Julie Garwood
 

See All Formats & Editions

A woman’s life and love are compromised in this pulse-pounding new thriller by #1 New York Times bestselling author Julie Garwood...

Dr. Ellie Sullivan has witnessed the shooting of an FBI agent in pursuit of a ruthless modern-day Bonnie and Clyde known as the Landrys. The only person to see the shooter’s face, Ellie is suddenly thrust into

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Ideal Man 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 419 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In St. Louis, trauma surgeon Dr. Ellie Sullivan works at St. Vincent's ER while also training residents; however, she leaves the hospital in a few days though the administration would agree to anything for her to stay. She begins her run in Cambridge Park thinking about her facing the ordeal of going home to Winston Falls, South Carolina to attend her sister's wedding to Ellie's former fiancé and the possibility that Evan the maniac will be in town. Shots are fired and FBI Agent Sean Goodman is hit. Ellie stops the bleeding so the victim can be rushed to St. Vincent ER to finish saving his life. Agents Tom Bradley and Max Daniels thank her and question her, Ellie and Max are attracted to one another from the moment he learned she was the trauma expert and not a high school soccer player and she when she realized he had a self-deprecating sense of humor. Cal and Erika Landry are the gun dealers who escaped the Feds; they try to kill Ellie as she saw their faces while Evan the psycho stalker is free from prison planning a return engagement with Ellie. Max arrives at the Magnolia State wedding to protect witness Ellie so she can testify against the recently captured Landry duet, known for killing or frightening away anyone who fingers them. Although the suspense is over the top of Sassafras Mountain with two stalkings, readers will enjoy this entertaining contemporary romance due to the sassy observant Ellie. The fast-paced story line grips the audience with Ellie's trauma life saving work while also appreciating Max's dedication to duty and his smile. This is a wonderful tale of two delightful heroes in love. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After grinding my way through the complaints about the price. I finally found a review or two about the actual book. Thankfully I didn't get discouraged and found the reviews!! This book is amazing! I found myself looking for more Julie Garwood books, she is an amazing writer. Give it a try, screw the price!! :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I will have to wait for it to come out in discount paperback. I love love Julie Garwood though.
SharonRedfern More than 1 year ago
Ellie Sullivan has it all.she is young, beautiful, and a gifted trauma surgeon. Unfortunately, she is also the witness to a murder, has been stalked since her pre-teen years by a man from her home town, and has to go home for her sister's wedding to Ellie's ex-fiancé. She meets FBI agent Max Daniels at the murder scene and there is instant attraction between them. Because of the history of disappearing witnesses against the killers, Max becomes her "plus one" at the wedding to keep her safe. I enjoyed this book tremendously. Ellie is feisty and independent even after having her life disrupted by her crazy neighbor. She and Max have major chemistry and both have been traumatized by events in their early life which make them somewhat wary in relationships. The unfolding of their relationship is classic romance and yet the suspense element is always there. There were some good bits of humor in this book as well. I especially enjoyed a scene where they go out to eat and Max eats a ginormous BBQ meal which leads Ellie to realize she doesn't have to worry about him being killed at work because his cholesterol will kill him first. There is also a very funny part about an air conditioner that is in the bedroom they share. The subplot with her "bridezilla" sister Ava adds tension and humor to the story. I would have liked to see Ava get a little more comeuppance than she gets, but she is Elli's sister after all. There is an interesting twist with Ava's twin, Annie. The back home section of the book dealt very realistically with the stress on a family when a member is threatened. Max's brother adds a little bit to the story as well. This book is a page turner from beginning to end. Ms. Garwood always does a great job with her characters and plot and this book is no different. I can't wait for the next book to arrive!
jkazimer More than 1 year ago
As much as I love Julie Garwood, this book didn't hold up to her usual offerings. Yet, it was worth reading, but not at the current price. Wait for the price to lower. The main characters, Ellie and Max lacked conflict and tension. They was a lack of would they or wouldn't they, and often they seemed more like friends than the passion I love from Julie's other characters. The plot also lacked twists long associated with Julie's books.
MelissaW More than 1 year ago
I've been a fan of Ms. Garwood for years. When she made the move to contemporary romances, I wasn't sure how I felt about it, but this book solidifies my mind. I love her in this genre. I really enjoyed reading Ellie and Max's story.
StoryloverTN More than 1 year ago
As a longtime fan of Julie Garwood (I have read everything she has written to date) I was sorely disappointed in "The Ideal Man". The primary charachers are just tweeked versions of the characters in "Mercy"; the prodigy woman doctor, the strong silent hero with 6 brothers etc.....She is capable of such good story structure, this seemed like some "throw away' attempt to get something published this year. Maybe she has run out of story lines and characters. The next book I won't buy but will check it out of the library to see if I want it for my library. Would like to see an effort in line with Mercy, Heartbreaker, Murder List, or Slow Burn....Julie, you are capable of much better.
aimee21 More than 1 year ago
Was looking for more from this book. I usually love Julie Garwoods books, this however was just flat. It read like it was written by someone other than her. No twists, no turns just a readable story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you are looking for a good read with both romance and suspense, The Ideal Man is a book to pick up. Julie Garwood has delivered as usual.
Kat-WitandSin More than 1 year ago
Ellie Sullivan was a child prodigy whose life was almost cut short at a young age by a brutal stalker. Now a surgeon, Ellie does her best to keep her life normal. But a run in the park leads to Ellie witnessing a FBI agent being shot. She saves the man's life, but now hers is under threat from the criminals still at large. Agent Max Daniels is determined to protect Ellie at all costs, so if he has to go to South Carolina to act as Ellie's bodyguard during her sister's wedding, that's what he'll do. But Ellie's hometown isn't as peaceful as it seems on the surface. Danger has Ellie in its crosshairs as old threats meet new. The passion's on high as Julie Garwood spins a tale of love, obsession, feuds, and crime. The Ideal Man is an engaging read and both Ellie and Max are sure to win readers' hearts; they definitely won mine. Ellie is a brilliant woman whose hard work, kindness, and general likeability make her an appealing heroine. She also hasn't known what it's like to be safe since she was eleven years old and a crazed teenager began to stalk - and later - beat her. The sense of never being truly secure made my heart break for Ellie and it also made me sympathetic toward her in that she wasn't a cardboard model of a heroine with a picture perfect life. Max, in turn, is a deliciously sexy hero. He's smart, protective, and understanding; he's a strong man who isn't the stereotypical "alpha male" and that almost made me swoon. I loved Max and Ellie together and I eagerly turned the pages of The Ideal Man to follow along on their journey. The threats to Ellie's safety add a splash of danger that adds further dimension to the story, making The Ideal Man feel like a "full" book. Even though The Ideal Man is missing Ms. Garwood's signature humor, which first made me fall in love with her books, there were really only two things that kept me from one hundred percent loving The Ideal Man. The first is Ellie's obnoxious sister Ava, whose antics were so over-the-top they detracted from the story. The second is a small subplot I won't spoil. What bothered me was not the subplot itself, but rather the fact that it seemed to be a setup for a future book - one I was very excited to read. Unfortunately, the wonderful plot was abruptly wrapped up in just a few pages at the end of the book, disappointing me terribly. With that being said, I still really enjoyed The Ideal Man. Ms. Garwood has delivered a solidly entertaining book that made me smile, laugh, and read late into the night.
nampatel More than 1 year ago
If you've read every Garwood book from Saving Grace to Heartbreaker, you'll be a little disappoint. I have loved Julie Garwood (Mercy and Heartbreaker being my favorite) until the last book, which I still think was written by someone else. This one is a little better, but not quite equal to the best of her books. What she is known for - great characters, humor and intelligent suspense - is not quite here in this book. It is entertaining but Max still feels flat (for example he switches from being portrayed as surly to suddenly charming and funny). He feels incongruous at times. Ellie is more entertaining and rounder. There is humor but not the laugh out loud of her older books. The suspense, well, it's too much (two stalkers) and not enough (the middle is entirely devoid of suspense. So the resolution feels flat. I think it's worth a read but if you are expecting Heartbreaker or even Murder List, this falls short. However, not as bad as her last book which was completely unreadable.
Susan Idzi More than 1 year ago
As always, a great story! A must read. Get over the price and stop messing up the ratings by using cost as a factor!!!!
The_Book_Diva More than 1 year ago
If you like reading Julie Garwood's books then The Ideal Man will not disappoint you, you'll love it. The story starts off simple enough, an off-duty trauma surgeon witnesses the shooting of an FBI agent during a sting operation gone awry. Although Dr. Ellie Sullivan can't actually identify the couple (other than saying it was a man and a woman), she is still considered a potential witness and may be in danger. Enter FBI agent Max Daniels. Max and Ellie hit it off and begin this rather sweet, and weird (in a good way), romance. Max is concerned about the potential that the gun-running couple that got away, may have hired a hit man to kill Ellie before she can testify, as this has happened to previous witnesses. His fears are well-founded as there is a hit man after Ellie. The fun really begins when Ellie returns to her hometown for her younger sister's wedding. Her sister, Ava (a self-absorbed, egocentric bridezilla), is engaged to marry Ellie's ex-fiance. Ava slept with the guy the day after Ellie had brought him home to announce their engagement. (I said she was self-absorbed.) Annie, Ava's twin sister, is also in crisis mode because she's pregnant and can't locate the father-to-be. Oh, did I forget to mention that Ellie also has a demented stalker based in her hometown? So make that two potential hit men after Ellie. There are a lot of twists to the story that keep it lively and intense. I found myself reading it in one-sitting simply because I couldn't wait to see what was going to happen next. This is not your typical romantic suspense but it is definitely worth reading. The characters are all somewhat quirky but likeable, well except for the bad guys.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
THIS WAS DEFINITELY A PAGE TURNER FROM BEGINNING TO END. I JUST COULD NOT PUT THIS DOWN STAYED UP TILL 4:00 IN THE MORNING JUST SO I COULD FIND OUT THE ENDING. U WON'T BE SORRY/ HAPPY READING.
Sherry Gossett More than 1 year ago
Great story. Starts out with lots of fast paced action that keeps up until the very end. JULIE GARWOOD is one of my favorite authors. I have read all her works, and have never been disappointed. Can't wait for her next book. This was worth every penny!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
For those of you who are concerned with t high price def not worth it, wait till t price drop. I bought Julie Garwood book at that price because I am a fan, have read her previouse work and deemed it worth it to spend that. Boy was I wrong the first chapter is awesome and so promising so much spark and sizzle but then it gets lost. I found the family completely annoying, the fact that nobody took a notch or two off Ava is mindbuggling. Really your eleven year old sister is almost killed aaaanndd Ava throws a tantrum very vexing and frustrating book
BethWanamaker More than 1 year ago
I cant wait to read this. I have read all of Julie Garwoods books. I would pay $30 to read this!
theReader278 More than 1 year ago
I am so excited to get my hands on this one.!!!a
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
PeniA More than 1 year ago
I love Ms Garwoods stories and this is just one example why. The story is fresh and original. Life is complex and never focused on just one thing at a time as experienced while experiencing this story. This is a stand alone story so everything is pretty much rapped up in the end (sadly it doesn't look like we'll get other stories from this one) but all my questions were answered :-).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was great but all of JG's books are. Just watch out for those blasted plot spoilers that seem to follow me every where!!!! nlr