×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Identical
     

Identical

3.1 69
by Scott Turow
 

See All Formats & Editions

State Senator Paul Giannis is a candidate for Mayor of Kindle County. His identical twin brother Cass is newly released from prison, 25 years after pleading guilty to the murder of his girlfriend, Dita Kronon. When Evon Miller, an ex-FBI agent who is the head of security for the Kronon family business, and private investigator Tim Brodie begin a re-investigation of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Identical 3.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 69 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story line started in an engaging manner, but quickly got mired down in many scientific details. I LOVE science and technical information, but somehow Turow's incorporation of these elements into this mystery slowed the tempo and almost immediately gave away the crux of the book.
BBLB More than 1 year ago
I am a fan of Scott Turow and was anxious to read this book. But after reading a few chapters I had a big problem: the murder victim, Dita, was such an unsavory character that I didn't care whodunit. Even though Turow tried to weave an interesting tapestry of lies, twins, coverups, etc., it just never got interesting enough for me to keep reading. Very disappointing. I gave it two starts for also adding political corruption to the mix.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a GREAT book!!!!! You will not be able to put it down. Just when you think you've got it all figured out, you REALLY don't. Highly recommend.
Delphimo More than 1 year ago
This is an interesting story of identical twins and the depth of love that drives them to an extreme sacrifice. The story also centers on the first layer of American Greek culture and family. The person responsible for the death Dita is not revealed under the end of the novel, but I had already guesses the culprit. The story becomes a little confusing after Cass is released from prison, and the reader slowly learns of the twin’s deception. Also, a few of the characters have similar names, which provides more confusion. The facts seem to waiver, especially on the children of Lidia. The prime investigator, Tim Brody, seems ready to sink into a chair and die at any time. The story does not flow well.
GS74 More than 1 year ago
UNLIKE THE PREVIOUS NOVEL, THIS BOOK HAS A GREAT DEAL OF ATTENTION PLAYED TO DNA, WHICH SLOWS THE ACTION PAINFULLY.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Plot seemed to plod along with predicable outcomes. I enjoyed his earler books. This lacked something for me.
pms47 More than 1 year ago
Highly enjoyable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the book. It was quite well written, as is customary for Turow. The story is interesting and complex, to the point of confusion at times, with its array of characters and their varied conflicts. Although the overall plot is quite good, I don't consider this to be Turow's best.
LylaB More than 1 year ago
I was frankly not that impressed with this Scott Turow. An interesting concept but not that well executed. Turow did not make me really care about these characters or what happened to them. It had an interesting signature Turow twist at the end but by the time I got there, I really didn't care, I just wanted to finish the book and move on to something more interesting.
AlainDC More than 1 year ago
Have always enjoyed Turow and IDENTICAL was no exception. Well written, plot well laid out and thick as cold molasses. It kept me guessing all they way to the reveal. For all lovers of good mysteries.
ybdude1936 More than 1 year ago
Scott Turow's ideas about how far the police can go in solving a murder via DNA are off the wall. Do identical twins have the same exact DNA? We are told that it is extremely difficult to DNA identicals even though they may be taller, smaller or have other physical traits differ. I find this to be captivating, but looking at it logically, those other traits would skew the DNA process. The section on DNA from a 'world renowned' expert is interesting, but it can't carry the whole book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just did not grab me....not a page turner. Was not drawn in. Abandoned the book at the half way point.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
jws1 More than 1 year ago
Absolutely horrible; he used to be run of the mill in the genre, but this and recent efforts have become so progressively biased to the political left that Its embarassing.  I can't understand why all of the liberal progressive former lawyers have to include gay characters, whining complaints about political financing etc etc and continue to promulgate their support the failues of Obaman and thier love for a convicted felon.  
CMKmom More than 1 year ago
Fairly good story line - made way too much of the "twinness" and less of the story which was sort of off-putting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was good if you can get past the beginning. Lots of characters and a bit confusing, but worth it in the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Boring, dry and I did not finish this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
gloriafeit More than 1 year ago
This is the story of two families of Greek heritage, intertwined in more ways than one would think possible, over a couple of generations: The Kronon family, and the Giannis family, the latter including Paul Giannis, just over 50 and a state senator now running for mayor, and his identical twin brother, Cass, a former Kindle County cop who as the book opens is about to be released from prison after serving twenty-five years after having confessed to the murder of his then-girlfriend, Dita Kronon, in September of 1982. Needless to say, that event had radically affected each member of both families. Dita was a very volatile young woman, and the romance had been fraught with problems: The twins’ mother, Lidia, then 63, had made it known that if the two got married, their father would never speak to him again, as there had been very bad blood between the men for 20 years. Dita’s brother, Hal, a very wealthy businessman, convinced that both brothers were involved in his sister’s death, hires Evon Miller, a young woman who is a former FBI agent, and Tim Brodie, now an 81-uear-old p.i. and the homicide cop who had handled the original investigation, to thoroughly re-examine all aspects of the murder, something never done once Cass had confessed, and to then convince a judge to re-open the investigation. Early on, when much of the p.o.v. is generally that of Evon and Tim, the reader’s sympathy lies less with their boss, Hal, and more with the twins. The book moves in a leisurely manner, the murder having taken place over twenty-five years ago, and its attempted painstaking reconstruction, over a period of a few months, with the p.o.v. moving from one of the main characters to another in present time. There are forays into the past at pivotal points in the book, perfectly placed for maximum sustained suspense, slowly bringing the reader the truth of what actually transpired on the fateful day. The characters are very well-drawn, the courtroom scenes of course beautifully done, and the investigation and the secrets it uncovers fascinating. The novel is described as a complex web of murder, sex and betrayal – what more can one ask? The author has an undisputed history of well-deserved bestsellers to his credit. He continues to tell a helluva story, and the novel is recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read Innocent and Presumed Innocent both very good. This-no. It's almost as if someone else wrote this and he allowed them to use his name. It rambles aimlessly and the end is no surprise. Most especially I'm not interested in having someones entire political agenda attack me throughout the book. If it were possible to have my time and money back...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you like a book about non-heterosexual women and their thought processes this might be the book for you. It was not for me. I did not get very far before I deleted the book from my reader. I do not recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago