×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

If This World Were Mine
     

If This World Were Mine

4.7 10
by E. Lynn Harris
 

See All Formats & Editions

Four friends, all graduates of Hampton Institute, keep a collective journal they call "If This World Were Mine," and share their personal diaries each month at a gathering filled with humor, gossip, and affirmation. The four group members are as different as the seasons, yet they all share a love of one another. Yolanda, a media consultant, keeps it going

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

If This World Were Mine 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was HOOKED when I first turned on to E. Lynn Harris. I can't remember which book I read first but I have read them all except A Love of My Own but it's in my TBR pile. My favorite being Any Way The Wind Blows.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I THOUGHT THAT THIS BOOK ALONG WITH THE OTHERS WAS VERY INTERTAINING. I THINK THAT HE IS A VERY GOOD WRITER AND THAT HE SHOULD MAKE MOVIES OUT OF HIS FILMS. HIS BOOKS ALWAYS KEEP ME WANTING MORE.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book is full of suprises and events. I enjoyed the book especially becasue it was African American gay lititure andthat is always great! I also belive that the formatin which the author writes the book keeps you reading!
Guest More than 1 year ago
A true tale of trust, friendship, and understanding.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book could have been called the Real World like the MTV sitcome. It deals with life to life bases and I really loved it. Lynn used his great talents to create a beautiful book!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I Loved it. All of E. Lynn Harris' novels are the best. He really makes you feel for the characters even if you hate them.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book especially since the ending was very heart warming.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I somehow missed this book when it first came out although I had read the books precending and a few after. However, as with the others, it held my attention until the end. Still filled with juicy characters and Mr. Harris's 'G-flavor', all I can say is that Mr. Harris truly has a gift for storytelling. One thing bother's me however, and that it that his books seem to glorify premiscuity -- can anyone spell HIV AND AIDS?
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book touched a hot spot in my mind,it is an Outstanding work of art, E Lynn Harris is my weakness today, and everyday from this moment after. He has given me so much joy, created so much laughter. I think of this book and begin to smile, because I now know what my heart's been after. Filled with natural adventures to boggle one's mind.Tears of joy pour because this book hit home,Mr. Harris left foot-prints under the sheets.I strongly recommend this book and all of E.Lynn Harris's work. I like his style,' It was like Mr. Harris knew my life story' .This is why he is my forever weakness, I love his work, I am his greatest fan
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the best book. I laughed and I cryed. This book was all that. I hope there is going to be a part II.
Guest More than 1 year ago
E. Lynn Harris is a wonderful author. I have read all but two of his latest books (one hasn't been released yet) and can't wait to start them. He has opened the minds of so many of my 'narrow-minded' friends. They all laughed and made fun of me when I told them what his books were about, now they're beating me to BN and buying them before I am. Keep up the good work!
Guest More than 1 year ago
'If This World Were Mine' provides a new meaning for black sexuality, particularly the black male. The dynamics of E.Lynn Harris' ability to communicate truth and honesty is amazing. It has been over a year since I have read the text, but the joy of reading such an accurate depiction of many gay black lives, straight ones too, has allowed me to reflect upon new possibilities and limitless opportunity. As our society continues to depict men who 'become' gay as nasty and disgraceful, Harris introduces us to this as more of a mystery. Indeed, being gay is a mystery. Especially, when we began to think spiritually and the interconnected characteristics that no longer serve as stereotypes but commonalities. Harris has his finger in this book and his other texts also pinpoint the dynamic of this long, lost, and sometimes unavailable mystery of black sexuality.