×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat
     

If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat

4.4 30
by John Ortberg
 

See All Formats & Editions

Winner of the 2002 Christianity Today Book Award!
You’re One Step Away from the Adventure of Your Life.
Deep within you lies the same faith and longing that sent Peter walking across the wind-swept Sea of Galilee toward Jesus.
In what ways is the Lord telling you, as he did Peter, 'Come'?
John Ortberg invites you to consider the incredible potential

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 30 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Oh My God....I felt as if this book was written expressly for me! Of course, that is not true...it was written expressly for those of us who are trying to hear God's voice. I wish I could send a copy to everyone I know.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've been a John Ortberg fan ever since I heard him speak several years ago. Since then, I've read all his books, but this one really challenged me to stop being a 'pew potato' and go where God is calling me without insisting I know where that is first. Ortberg's style is not at all 'preachy,' and you know he is writing directly from his own experiences. I love that he is so transparent and genuine about his own shortcomings. You know he grapples with every issue himself that he writes about. His writing can make you laugh out loud one minute, then turn and lay something deeply profound on you in the next paragraph. A treasure of a book that I plan to keep and read at least once a year!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Again John Ortberg does not disappoint . A thought provoking message with much to discuss and meditate about . The material is interesting and well written. Good for a group study.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book, so did our sunday school class!
lou-baby More than 1 year ago
While this was a "pleasant" book to read and the message was quite true, the reader got all they needed to know in the first two chapters. After that, it was a lot of redundancy. I probably wouldn't recommend this to a friend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This study is good for an intellectual conversation between friends who would like to grow closer to God by improving their walk. Our group consisted of 6 married couples who were committed to help each other get out of the boat and do God's work.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
John does a good job of inspiring you to take risks while at the same time making sure you understand that there will be difficulties and fear when you do. He shares funny personal events that help you to better understand his points. He also backs up his assertions with other authors and Bible verses. I am not an avid reader and I thoroughly enjoyed this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was truly a turning point in my life. As a non-'for fun' reader, I finished this book in 4 days because I couldn't put it down. The insight and depth Ortberg brings to surface is awesome! You really can get the vision, courage, strength and faith to do what you dream, with the Lord on your side. But, you have to take the first step. That is what our Lord has always shown us. Show Him that you are willing by taking the first step and He will show you things unimaginable that you can attain! You cannot walk in faith and fear at the same time. It is your choice how you walk each day. I am choosing faith!
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you are struggling with your misery life, can't stand it any more and don't know what you miss for the changes, here is the book to tell you.