×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Ill Wind (Weather Warden Series #1)
     

Ill Wind (Weather Warden Series #1)

4.0 192
by Rachel Caine
 

See All Formats & Editions

Someone's finally doing something about the weather...in the first in this series by the New York Times bestselling author of Ink and Bone and the Morganville Vampires series.

It's "A FUN READ" (Jim Butcher) from "A FIRST-CLASS STORYTELLER" (Charlaine Harris)...

The Wardens Association has been around pretty much forever

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Ill Wind (Weather Warden Series #1) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 192 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Joanne is literally a woman marked for death. As a weather warden, she commands great power, always for the good of humanity, but she's always been a little uncontrollable. The head weather wardens' fears seem to be proven true when she apparently kills a senior warden and acquires a demon mark. Now, Joanne is on the run, trying to prove her innocence and attempting to track down a fellow warden who can help her, if he will. If she didn't have to cope with people trying to kill her and Djinn with their own agendas, not to mention their masters' agendas, she might have a shot at it. Her only ally is a mysterious hitchhiker, and that is not a constant. There is Rahel, but the Djinn has a major attitude problem, and Jo can not bring herself to trust the spirit being. With time running out, Jo is forced into a battle that will have a surprising outcome. ........................ **** Take a little of the Fugitive, toss in some Kim Harrison or Janet Evanovich, and something totally unique, and you will get this book. Jo's running commentary on life has a sarcastic wit that is sure to make you grin. There is a sensuality factor, but it's not the all too common overwhelming, show and tell entirely too much that is the norm. Rather, it simply adds a touch of spice. The ending twist is one you won't see coming, but the originality is worth kudos to Miss Caine. ****
BookFiend10 More than 1 year ago
I totally loved this book! It was quick and the plot was original- let me tell you there aren't that many these days! I loved the writing, characters, plot and so many other things that I read this book in a matter of days...! Oh you should read this book before even looking at the others in the series... Would I recommend you read this book; yes!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this 1st book in Rachel Caines series. It was quick, witty and thoroughly entertaining. If you're a big fan of Jim Butcher and Charlain Harris, the Weather Warden series is a must!
Sandra027 More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book. By page 130 (almost half-way through) I was surprised to realize not much had actually happened yet. While world-building is important, especially in a book where magic is used in an unusual or new way, this story seemed to have a lot of set-up for me. That being said, I wouldn't say it was boring at all, just a little slow. The story did pick up a little at that point, although it never felt super fast paced even once the action started. I liked the characters a lot (esp David and Rahel), and although I was sure David would be incorporated into the plot somehow further than his initial introduction, I was pleasantly surprised how things worked out. The last few pages definitely gave me an unexpected twist and I'm interested to see where the story will go from here.
imasucker4downworlders More than 1 year ago
Honestly this is my favorite series ever. But the first book was not that good at all, but u need it to read the rest, which is when it becomes awsome. Once u read the end of the second book you will be hooked! This book gives u alot of information at once, but u need it or it just wouldnt make sence. It is definatly a good idea to read this book and even if you dont like it, read the next one because then you'll understand why people love this series and u'll find urself buying the rest of the series.
anne_jindra More than 1 year ago
Joanne is a Weather Warden, a guardian of the Earth with the ability to see into the in between and change chains of electrons and molecular patterns on a large scale to protect the world from chaos. The catch? Nobody knows it but other Wardens. It's not hard for Joanne to hide in plain sight, with a serious lust for heels, bikinis and cars, a thing for hot guys and the right kind of attitude to work a regular job she blends right into society. The only time things fall apart for her is when a major Boom goes off in the otherworld and she finds that she's got some explaining to do. Unfortunately that happens an awful lot to her over the course of the next few years (and six or seven books), as the Wardens have been corrupted, possibly by the Djinn that they keep captive. She makes the mistake of falling in love with a Djinn and is given other eyes as she travels through to the flip side of reality. Most of the Djinn are kept trapped in bottles and the Wardens know that the only way to trap a Demon is to attach it to a Djinn and lock them both in a bottle for all of eternity. Great for humanity- not so much for the Djinn. She finds herself caught in a power struggle between the Old Boys Club of the Wardens, the rebellion of the Djinn and her own boring life (which finds some spice when a crazy sister gets thrown in for good measure) and- as always the only answer is a six cylinder engine, a pair of great heels and a seriously revolutionary attitude. Ill Wind is the first in a great series of books that combines the usual heat and fun of female centric worlds with the basics of energy as it combines through magic and into quantum physics. Smart, fun and funny, it's a great series to bring the usual mysteries involved in religion and the modern psyche into a more logical take on reality. Demons and witches and hot Djinn- oh my. http://badfantasyrx.blogspot.com/2016/06/ill-wind-from-fantasy-to-quanta.html
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LilyElementBookReviews More than 1 year ago
Joanne Baldwin is a Weather Warden, she is able to control the weather and potentially lessen the danger in natural disasters. She is on the run to seek out Lewis, the most powerful warden alive in attempts to save her life. Ill Wind is a race against the clock, Joanne has to find Lewis and save herself before the other Wardens find her. There are more than a few bumps in the road for her. The types of characters in Ill Wind was refreshing. I read a lot of Paranormal Romance and Urban Fantasy so all of the vampires and such can be tiring. There are Djinn and also wardens which control elements. The bulk of the story focuses on Joanne, so it's mainly full of weather wardens. Though a tad bit on the slow side when the book starts, it quickly progresses until you can't set it down. If you haven't read Ill Wind yet, I highly recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the story, though the continuity lapsed in some places.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story! Fast paced. Perfect ending. Would have given 5 stars if Oversight/Aeathric/Weather info was a little easier for me to understand. Looking forward to book 2! Glad to know I now have a sizziling series to get me through the hot summer!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Didn't think that would happen at the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just okay. I like the Outcast Season series much better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago