×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

I'm Telling: A Novel
     

I'm Telling: A Novel

4.3 38
by Karen E. Quinones Miller
 

See All Formats & Editions

Faith Freeman has a secret: When she was eleven years old, she caught her stepfather molesting her twin sister, Hope. Years later, Faith is a successful literary agent. Her twin, addled by drugs and prostitution, struggles through life on the Harlem streets. When Hope seems to have set her sights on Faith's man, the tender bonds of sisterhood are cruelly tested

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

I'm Telling 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 38 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kesh60 More than 1 year ago
Powerful story!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was my first time reading this author, but was well worth it!
Oshay More than 1 year ago
Omg! I love this book especially the ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
DESIREE SMITH More than 1 year ago
liked this book...first time.reading one from this author, will look into other books by Karen
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the best book that I have ever read.I couldnt put it down.I had to keep reminding myself that this story wasnt real.But It had real Meanings..and it made me think about what people would do in certain situations.I loved Henery too cause he was faithful to faith and treated her like a queen.and I really wish every guy was like that.And im happy that everybody said wat was had to be said.And that Hope was clean from drugs for a little while and that Mrs.Irene loss weight.The story was interesting...
Guest More than 1 year ago
I first read only a piece of this book when a co-worker brought it to work and let me skim through it. I was hooked from the first page. It was so good that when I left work I went searching for the book. I found it and read it all before I went to bed that night. The imagery is so real, it's as if you are there. This is one of those true to life type stories. I have worked with any children and adults who have either been the abused or witnessed the abuse...it was a story that gave me an insight I never would have been able to get before. This story is a great read and will have you up all night turning the pages trying to make sure you don't miss a beat.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book to me is really emotional, and me personally really enjoyed it. 'I'm Telling' is a story that happens everyday in society and I hope that alot of young girls in society read this book, so that they want be afraid to tell.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I truly enjoyed this book. It took me a moment at first to get into it. But, once I got into it I loved it. It shows the strugles and triumphs black women go through each and everyday and how sisterhood is a bond that can never be broken. I highly reccommend this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a excellent book well written i recommend everyone to get this book it is a wonderful story..
Guest More than 1 year ago
at first i thought this book would delve into the father daughter relationship that would harbor incest but in fact the book is nothing about that and it constantly jumps from one thing to the next with no prelude.. the ending leaves you hanging the middle leaves you guessing and the beginning of the book is inconclusive .. a good effort on the part of the author but if you ask me she seemed very distracted when she was writing this book and suddenly got tired of writing it and decided to wrap it up
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a loving book. When I read this book I said to myself that she was going to be my favorite and only author. I was looking around for this book everywhere,but I couldn't find it. When I finally found it, I was so happy to finally have it in my hands. I take my hat off to Karen cause she really did it in this story. For those who love to read interesting books, this is the one for you, it really is.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was about a set of twins named Faith and Hope. As children, Faith witnessed her sister Hope being sexually molested by their mother¿s boyfriend. She let it go on for a while without telling her mother and when she did finally tell her, it ruined everything and caused a fight. When they were older, Faith grew up to be a literary agent and Hope was a prostitute and a drug addict. Hope and her mother were constantly fighting because she was still having sex with her boyfriends. My favorite character was Faith. I liked her because she was a strong, smart, and beautiful young woman and she had her life together. She didn¿t take any mess from anybody and when her mother and sister fought, she refused to get in the middle of it. She had money, her own place, and a steady boyfriend. She and Hope were two totally different people. She was there to comfort her mother and her sister when they needed her. I would definitely say that she was the strongest character in the book. She helped her sister get a job and she got her into a drug program. I liked this book because it¿s very detailed. When I picked it up I couldn¿t put it down. It was very intense but at the same time it had a little comedy. I also liked it because it sort of teaches a lesson about love, family, loyalty and honesty. Although there¿s a lot of backstabbing, you can tell that the characters still a lot of good feelings and love toward each other. I would recommend this book to anyone who has gone through hardships and rough childhood.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was incredible! I loved the bond between two sisters. You could feel the love they had for one another. I recommend this book to everyone to read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was a great book. This book talked about to people who came from the same womb at the same time but were different. Faith, was succesful had a real good man, good life, everything was ok except for her family. Her sister was sexually abused as a child, and had a mother who chose her men over her child. This book makes you think about situations, choices, people, and how to overcome everything. I would recomend this book to anyone with good taste. I loved this book, when I started reading I couldn't put it DOWN!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a very very good book. It keeps you wondering whats going to happen next. Twin sisters Hope and Faith go through a lot as children and adults. They both have secrets that eventually arise. Plus an amazing and unexpected ending.
Guest More than 1 year ago
at first i went to the book store they didnt have the book i wanted which was like it had to have drug selling and killing but when i read the book i loved it i could not put itdown i was shock that i would like this i guess i fooled myself
Guest More than 1 year ago
In this book, the main character, Faith seems to have it made. And she does, her career is poppin' off right and she's signing major deals, her family is supportive and she has the world's greatest man. However, as time progresses, she is forced to see people for who they really are. Her twin sister: the crack-head prostitute, her mother: the condoner of child abuse towards her youngest daughter. And her perfect boyfriend of 15 years: a cheater? Towards the end, there are unwanted confrontations that need to be made and important decisions that must be reached and it couldn't be more shocking.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book from beginning to end. It dealt with real life situations that go on every day. This was the first book that I read by this author and I look forward to reading some of her other books as well.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was excellent. I just couldn't put it down. This was the truth. This just goes to show how some women choose their happiness over their own children. They act like they don't know what's going on in order to keep these know good men. While these children grow up scarred. Thank you Karen for writing this book. Maybe you've reached one of this young girl and hopefully the wont be afraid to TELL!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love this book. Lovely! It deals with real issues a lot of family's sweep under the rug. We need to stop hiding it and deal with it. There is only one thing I didn't like. Without giving away the book, there is a gap between the middle and the end that i would like to see closed. I think how they got from point B to point C is very important. I would like to see that explored. Or maybe that was better left for a study guide group discussion.