×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Imitation of Christ
     

The Imitation of Christ

4.0 21
by Thomas à Kempis
 

See All Formats & Editions

"Religion's second-best seller." -- Walter Elwell, describing The Imitation of Christ as second only to the Bible in sales and popularity among religious readers.

Through its realistic delineation of the complexities of human existence, and in its soul-building optimism about the benefits of aspiring to a Christ-shaped life, The Imitation of Christ

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Imitation of Christ. 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As Msgr. Ronald Knox once said, if you find 'The Imitation' an 'easy read' then you're probably not getting much out of it. It's a tough book and it took me a long time to appreciate it. But at some point Thomas a Kempis' approach really hit home and became a source of joyful and profound meditation. I've sampled numerous versions of 'The Imitation,' but I prefer the Penguin edition for its readability and scholarliness.
Elphaba71 More than 1 year ago
This is such a great book to read and refer back to.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Comparing the Latin text to the Penguin and Vintage translations, one finds in the 'vanity' section of chapter 1 that the Penguin actually leaves out the first sentence! The Vintage renders it 'It is vanity to seek riches that are sure to perish and put your hope in them.' The Penguin goes straight to the vanity of soliciting/pursuing honors. If the Penguin omits an entire sentence from the 1st paragraph, what else is wrong with it? Yikes. Try the Vintage Spiritual Classics edition (tr. Tylenda).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought the hard copy version years ago and found it tedious reading because the language was so archaic that it became a barrier to understanding what Thomas a Kempis was saying to his audience in the 1500s. I don't believe I ever finished it. I bought this electronic version only because the editorial review said that the language had been updated. It has not! Not in this particular manuscript... not at all. Beyond random "--eth"s and a broad assortment of "thou" and "thy", the sentence structure often obscures meaning. I'm sorry to say that this edition is not what I thought it would be.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I started reading this book in hard cover copy right 1993, but could not understand it. I then got this one and it was easyer to understand. This is done in the old English style and the hard cover was in a newer English version. Try it out. :-)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago