×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Immortal City
     

Immortal City

4.7 48
by Scott Speer
 

See All Formats & Editions

Jackson Godspeed is the hottest young Angel in a city filled with them. He's days away from becoming a full Guardian, and people around the world are already competing for the chance to be watched over by him. Everyone's obsessed with the Angels and the lucky people they protect - everyone except for Madison Montgomery.

Maddy's the one girl in Angel City who

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Immortal City: First Edition 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 46 reviews.
Buried-in-Books More than 1 year ago
I have to say I was kicking myself for picking this one up. I am over angels. And for the first few chapters, I was still over angels, but then I flipped to the inside jacket of the book and read, "Set in a reimagined Los Angeles that sparkles with glamour and celebrity worship, Scott Speer's Immortal City is charged with passion and haunted by themes of power and idolatry." Then, I got it. All the expensive cars and hero worship and Rodeo drive and designer name dropping and the beautiful people. And all the worshiping of the Angels, the networks dedicated to it, the paparazzi, the nonstop talk among Maddy's friends at high school about Jackson Godspeed. What had seemed over the top became more meaningful when Jackson and Maddy's worlds collide. It is ridiculous, the worship of the Angels, but who wouldn't want a Guardian Angel? Who wouldn't want to go through life knowing that someone was there always to snatch them from the jaws of death? Of course only the very, very rich can afford a Guardian Angel and there are only so many to go around so the demand is high and their cost is even higher. It seems a bit outrageous doesn't it? Angels taking money to protect people?? Yeah, well some people in Immortal City think so too. Maddy for one. Especially people who didn't have their families saved by Guardian Angels. Can you imagine if your mother was in a drunk driving accident and the drunk driver was saved by a Guardian Angel, but your mother died because she couldn't afford protection even though the Angel could have saved her. You see how some people might hold a grudge against the Guardian Angels. The main characters are likable enough. Maddy was too insecure to believe Jacks, Jackson Godspeed's nickname, would have any real interest in her, and that got a little annoying. Jacks was a little too self absorbed to see what her problem was. Again, some of Speer's more subtle ways of pointing out what worship and idolatry does to both ends of the spectrum. But once the action starts, I really couldn't put the book down and forgot about Angels. This was less about Angels and more a mystery and Maddy and Jacks defying the odds and breaking the rules. I do love rule breakers and those Guardian Angels had some very strict rules. And the penalty for them was very high. That's all I'll say, but even if you're tired of Angels, and I was, give this one a try. It is not the same worn out story. It's got Guardian Angels as A-list celebrities and the only one that can rub elbows with them are the elite rich. And then the up and coming star falls for a nobody and a non-Angel and you've got a story with unbelievable twists and turns and I mean that literally and figuratively! It's a great start to a new series. I can't wait for the next novel!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I picked up this book and within the first page I was completely hooked! If you're reading this, please write another book, Scott!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely LOVE this book, its full of action and twists I would have never expected. If you are looking for anything thats good to read, oh baby this is it! It is very entertainig and it will replace that Twilight novel on your shelf in a heartbeat. Grab on ad dont let go, this book reads easy and is very interesting. ITS A LOVE STORY MIXED WITH A MURDER MYSTERY. And durig all this Maddy is finding remnants of her past. I'd HIGHLY RECOMMEND
dear_prudence More than 1 year ago
Once I picked it up, I couldn't put it down. It's so original and different from most other Angel stories out there today. I was extremely impressed and have already marked my calendar for the release date of the next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ok, an amazing & surprising treat by a male author! I love angel stories & this one was at first a little bit annoying however it quickly became an obsession!!!! I could NOT put the book down until I finished it! The characters were interesting & the dynamics of the various relationships intriguing. For a male author to be able to make my heart hurt & bring me to tears is a feat which has never been accomplished until NOW! Cant wait for the next book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good quick read, loved the plot. A few typos, but not so many that it was annoying. Like twighlight, except replace the vampire with an angel. Will read the others.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was AMAZING! It hooked you right when you picked it up. It draws you in with the AWESOME cover, but also with the SPECTACULAR writing!  If you love stories with action and plot twist, but also with some romance in them. This is the book for YOU! 
MonicaFMF More than 1 year ago
This is a coming of age and a coming to grips with reality (their reality) for Mads & Jackson. They live in a world where angels, trained Guardian Angels, protect people for money. There are also a couple love triangles to sort out along the way with a serial angel killer on the loose to add to the intensity. The characters are authentic and for the most part, well developed. The plot is well constructed and fairly vivid, except for a couple of parts that left me with questions. Overall, a fun read!(less)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A very eciting love story with a deathly twist
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldnt stop reading i love it sooo much i could not imagine a greater book!!!
mrs_jacoblack14 More than 1 year ago
I read alot of books on Angels some on good angels some on bad angels but this book has found its own category in my angel classfiaction log because it was fresh new and I didnt expect my self to even consider reading it I'm very egar for the next installment because the characters really came alive in my heart truly a captvating read.
janiceb937 More than 1 year ago
when does the second book come out??!!! please help
glittergirl1 More than 1 year ago
it was great :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This author did a great job. Thats saying alot considering i've read about thirty angel-like books in the past few months!!! Easy to follow along with and very entertaining!!! HOPE YOU ENJOY IT TOO!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
THIS BOOK WAS AMAZING!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was good! Different from other books I've read and it made e,me cry near the end. But It was very good!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed reading this book!! It was a very fast read and I really liked the twist the author put into the plot. I can not wait for the next book to come out:) I will continue reading this series!!
rigger1 More than 1 year ago
I have to say that I loved it. I hope that he writes a second book to immortal city soon.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago