BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

In Leah's Wake

Average Rating 3.5
( 370 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(120)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(62)

2 Star

(55)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

STRONGLY recommend if you have teenager issues!

When I read the sample of this book I was speechless. I immediatley bought the book and remained glued to it from start to finish. I could not believe it but this book was just about the exact thing we have gone through with our teenage son...especially the crazy boyfri...
When I read the sample of this book I was speechless. I immediatley bought the book and remained glued to it from start to finish. I could not believe it but this book was just about the exact thing we have gone through with our teenage son...especially the crazy boyfriend (in our case girlfriend) and family/adults that encouraged the behavior. I could relate and feel every emotion of the parents. I would love to thank the author for this book....while reading it I did not feel so alone.

posted by asnow4sure on May 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

So Disappointing

I was looking forward to this read after I read mostly decent reviews...It was boring and wayyyyyy to long. On the Nook it claims to be 897 pages but every other page went up by 2 so I suspect it was more like 600 actual pages of NOTHING!

I read and read hoping for s...
I was looking forward to this read after I read mostly decent reviews...It was boring and wayyyyyy to long. On the Nook it claims to be 897 pages but every other page went up by 2 so I suspect it was more like 600 actual pages of NOTHING!

I read and read hoping for something to happen, and no. I don't recommend wasting your time.

posted by ash8752 on September 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 370 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    STRONGLY recommend if you have teenager issues!

    When I read the sample of this book I was speechless. I immediatley bought the book and remained glued to it from start to finish. I could not believe it but this book was just about the exact thing we have gone through with our teenage son...especially the crazy boyfriend (in our case girlfriend) and family/adults that encouraged the behavior. I could relate and feel every emotion of the parents. I would love to thank the author for this book....while reading it I did not feel so alone.

    23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Seriously Good

    I was suprised how much I liked it! I have never heard of this author before, but it was a really good book.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    Wonderful! I loved it!

    One of the best books I have read in quite a while. You are instantly sucked into the book whether your famiily has experienced such a thing or not. The characters are .relatable in one way or another. I wouldnrecommend this book to anyone!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Great read!

    I read this book through the lend me option from my sister. What a great book to share! Riveting characters and storyline. Anyone who is raising or has raised teenagers can definitely relate to the family dynamics of this novel. Terri did a great job and it's hard to believe this is her debut novel. Definitely a novel worth checking out!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    Enjoyed

    I really enjoyed this book i recomend it!

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    Thoughtful and Beautifully Written

    In Leah's Wake is different from the type of novels I usually read, but the story sounded interesting. The issues in this book are ones most people today can relate to. The teenager feels like she's being pressured to please her parents and thinks this is unfair, so she rebels. I found it really easy to identify with this family, as I've seen similar situations in my own life with people I know.

    Telling the story from the perspective of different characters gives the story depth and it also helped me to understand each person's motivations. In Leah's Wake is beautifully written. It is also thought provoking. I was enthralled. I definitely recommend reading this novel.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Remarkable

    I'm not one to usually read novels but this was recommended by a friend. That being said, it seriously was a really good book.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    A Real Page Turner From Start To Finish

    Once I started reading In Leah's Wake I couldn't put it down. I found Terri Long's book to be a heart wrenching, page turning, emotional ride that brought the characters to life. It was unsettingly real in a way that demands a sequel.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    Great book!

    The author draws you in by building the kind of teenager that alot of parents and teens themselves can relate to. I would definitely recommend it!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Good read

    Typical Smashwords no editing , typos , & strange paragraph form , the story itself deserves much better. A story of non- communication , teen-age self - centeredness , adults not dealing with reality, and how life can get over - whelming quickly. I quickly got drawn in , seeing comparisons to any parents full load , and how people can get lost in the daily shuffle of responsibilities. Although not always sympathetic , the human traits rang true. A thought provoking read about love , family , how damaging " keeping up appearances" can be , and how we often seek comfort everywhere but the right place

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    In Leah's Wake grabs you in the opening pages and doesn't let go until the final chapter. The characters are so real and the story could be that of someone you know. I definitely recommend this book. Also, I'm confused about the reviews that refer to this book as being 900 pages as it's only 350 pages.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Loved It

    Great family story. I fell in love with the children.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Wow - Felt like I was in the book

    I got about 200 pages into this book on my flight from LA to Vienna and had to switch to in flight entertainments. Way to familiar situation and much too - scary. Terri G Long had to have been awful close to this kind of story to gain insight into the details she writes about. The main character was me about 15 years ago. Tod, the boyfriend - lets just say my dad and this book's dad have a lot in common where it comes to dealing with bad boyfriends. After finishing this book i had to call my mom from my vacation just to say I was sorry for being so difficult in high school. This was a fast read and I loved Leah and Justine. These characters feel real. As a mom now, I get the parents too.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    GREAT READ

    This was a really good book. It kept me interested till the end. It was one of those books I could not put down.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    A Seriously Amazing Read

    All I can say is FINALLY a real life story about good kids that take make the wrong choices. If you have ever had to talk your teens about drugs and making choices, you should read this book and if you have a son or daughter read it as well. I love the story because it's real and honest and exemplifies how struggles in real life happens. I've walked in these shoes and felt this pain. I've lived these moments and I am happy that this author was able to play it out with her words. The struggle and crisis that families face when bad choices are made. The amazing thing about this book is how the author was able to portray the experiences of each and every family member on an intimatel personal level. Thank you for an honest look at the struggles families face when the wrong road is traveled and how bad choices are not easily corrected. Families are forever!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Good for the $$

    Very good and realistic, great read for any parent.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    Great read!!

    Great read for those parents who have teenagers or those ones close to have one! Entertaining read!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Riveting

    In Leah's Wake is beautifully written, engaging, and an irresistible read. Money well spent. :)

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a book that stays long after you're done

    Call it a clan, call it a network, call it a tribe, call it a family. Whatever you call it, whoever you are, you need one. - Jane Howard Leah Tyler is not your average teen. she is a star football player and her school work is brilliant . her father Will and her mother Zoe could not have been more proud to have a daughter like her. her sister Justine looks up to her, too. everything seemed perfect for Leah until she gets involved with Todd Corbett and his crowd. suddenly, her future and that of her family did not appear so promising anymore... have you ever gotten to read a book that you could barely put down and that stays with you long after? i have and this is one such book. in her amazing debut novel, Terri Giuliano Long invites the reader to witness the ups and downs of a middle class American family. she takes us inside each major character's point of view and we become intimate with them as we learn about their feelings, dreams, hopes, fears and secrets. i feel for everyone in this story. whether they did something that could be considered right or wrong turned out to be irrelevant to me because each had something significant to tell. moreover, i could relate to a few of these characters. as i continued to read, i was struck by how similar dynamics among family and friends could be wherever you live or come from and that some events can really spiral out of control despite one's good intentions. as the drama and conflict played out among the Tylers, i could not help but think about my own family, my relatives and friends and the problems and issues we lived through and those that we still face as well. i highly recommend this book to everyone who has ever been a part of a family. my wish is that after reading In Leah's Wake, we all continue to learn to be more open, honest, caring, understanding, forgiving and loving individuals.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Great book!

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 370 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19