×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

In a Heartbeat
     

In a Heartbeat

4.7 173
by Loretta Ellsworth
 

See All Formats & Editions

For fans of Gabrielle Zevin and Lurlene McDaniel, In a Heartbeat explores the ties of family and the weight of regret when a mistake costs Eagan her life during a figure-skating competition. Left in the afterlife, reflecting on what she could have done differently, Eagan's still-beating heart is given to Amelia who has been waiting patiently for a transplant. When

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

In a Heartbeat 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 173 reviews.
Jenn_Lynn More than 1 year ago
When I 1st started reading the beloved book, In A Heartbeat, I thought it was going to be a predictable book that wasnt worth my money. Then about half way through the book, it really struck me. I told all my friends about the book and they ALL want to read it, even the guys do! And they NEVER read! In that one chapter, when Egean checks off she wants to be an organ doner when she gets her drivers licence, it got me curious. I checked up online about it, and just since last week, 107,028 people are on the wating list on getting a transplant. Only about 2,000 people got lucky and had a second chance of life. AND get this; ONE person can save up to EIGHT lives! Now I know a lot of people are thinking, "Yeah right, like I'm going to give up my body to someone I dont even know" or "I dont want to be a recycled person!" But really, if you die, all your body is gonna do is gather up dust and so on.. Why not give your perfectly fine organs to a person who wants a second chance of life. Be kind, and think outside the box. Think this, if you were in the hospital bed from a accident and just found out that you could have less than a month er so to live, wouldnt you want to get a new whatever you need transplanted so you can have another chance? Go back to normal? In A Heartbeat is an amazing book that I will always remember. I love it for the fact that I can read different character's minds and what they are doing when they arnt together. When I get the book back from the long list of friends that want to read it, I just might reread it. It's that good. I promise. I couldnt find the right spot to stop and do things, so therefore, I couldnt put it down. Enjoy :]
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im 12 and i loved this book. It can be a little sad but not to the point where you are crying. This was my first nook book and ni regrets on buying it. I like how every chapter is from a different perspective. Love it and trust me it's worth it ;)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing! I give it a 5 out of 5 star review. Trust me, if you dont get this you are bascily missing out on life. I just love how the book tells you about two different perspectives from two different girls but the story is still connected. GET THIS BOOK NOW OR ILL BUY IT FOR YOU! Some things just happen in a heartbeat. Beawere.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In a Heartbeat, by Loretta Ellsworth, is an amazing book.It is filled with infinite possibility, and you'll never want to put it down. The possibility of a second chance will leave you curious and yearning to know more. All the characters are so well-described and realistic, that you'll feel like you know them yourselves. When Eagan makes a small mistake that costs her her life in a figure skating routine, Amelia receives her heart. But, Eagan isn't gone completely. She still relives vivid memories through her still-beating heart. Eagan wants to move on and accept her death, but can't until she resolves unsettled issues with her mother. Eagan is trapped. Readers can learn a lot from this story. It made me realize that life is short, and and you should try to enjoy every moment while you can. Eagan always had a good life, but her bitter relationship with her mother made her forget it at times.Things for her seemed worse than they really were. This was definitely an excellent book. I liked that it changed point-of view often so that it was more interesting. The ending was brilliant. It almost made you wish things had had happened differently, but you know that's how it would've happened in real life.I fell in love with the characters, because they seemed so real that I felt like I knew them. I give In a Heartbeat four out of five stars.ook was so great that I look forward to reading the sequel. I recommend this to anyone who is fascinated by heart transplants, and how they affect others. This is a "must-read" for teenagers everywhere.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have the actual copy of the book too and i sent in my room to get something, i saw the book sitting there, picked it up,read the first chapter, which is only one or two pages, i was hooked. This is the best book i have read in a reallh long time and im no where near the end of the book. Oh well!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Varry good buy it u wont be ashamed
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story was one of my favorites..ever. if you are reading this, go and buy this book. You wont regret it at all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I jut started to read this book and i am soooooooo interested in it!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It is AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
OMG! This is just about one of the best books i ever read. It can get sad at points but not to the point where you start crying. It goes baack and forth between two poits of views. This book with will make you think a lot. I would totally recomend this book its amazing,
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am 11 and i cryed when I read the begging till the end. It is so detailed that I felt so sad.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wwhen i started to tead this book, i couldnt put it down! I recomendd this to everyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I LOVED this book soooooo much!!!!!! It was soo touching and an AMAZING story!!! I can't even put in to words how AMAZING and how much I LOVED this book!!!!!!! You HAVE to read this book!!!!!!!!! I recommend this to everyone who wants to read an AMAZING book!!!!!! : )
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is definitly in my top five favovites. My first three is obviously The Hunger Games Trilogy. In a Heartbeat is my fourth. I would highly recomend this book to anyone who likes a sad but happy story if you know ehat i mean.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I tried to get into the book but it was so slow! I wanted to like it but i just couldnt get in to it. Im sure its good but just a slow read for me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awwwww. I wuv wis book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book makes me relize that you have to enjoy lifes gifts for what they are and live every day like you may not ever see the sun again. We could all die at any time so you have to enjoy the little things. Thanks for the book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing!! I could never put it down!! GET THIS BOOK I PROMISE YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the best book ever even if ur younger than 11 im 11 but i read it when i was 9 yrs. Old at times it make u sad at other times it makes you laugh. Its a great book it makes me think how u should enjoy ur life while u have it. Also tellur family u lov them because if u dont ull regret it. My favorite book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When i read in a heartbeat i didnt want to stop it may be short but it cant be toped
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thiswas a great book, but you shouldn't buy it here, you sould buy it at a schostalasic book fair. It is so much cheaper there!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found this book at the book fair at nt school, i wanted to get it cuz i wanted 2 b a cardiologist. The summary interestd me, so i went a head & bought it. This book did NOT disappoint me, it was incredible, i luved it so much, i did my book report over it. At the end of my report people were allowed to ask questions, alot of the quesrions were "were did u get thar book". Even 2 of the most athletic, not- interested- in- girl- books guys seemed 2 be a little interested, concidering that both of them asked at least 2 questions. Even my teacher started reading it when i put mt book down :D. My point is, great book, worth ur money. Im already reading it for the SECOUND time, when im done im gonna look out for the book change of heart. U wont regret getting it, i promise, now my fave book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My friends read it said it was good. Im excited to read. Sounds sad tho :(
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think this was an overall good book. Im in a book club and we had to read this book and i think its a bit innapropriate for an 11 year old book club.But i reccomend it to 14 or 15 year olds.There is a bit of cussing and sexuality and it was a little uncomfortable to read.
BookReviewsbyClare More than 1 year ago
Olympic-caliber figure skater Eagan mis-times her jump and In a Heartbeat, her life is over. Homebound Amelia draws horses and uses a lift chair to move around her house, and In a Heartbeat, Amelia has a chance at life again. In a fit of rebellion - and In a Heartbeat - sixteen year-old Eagan checked the "organ donor" box on her brand new-license and the lives and hopes of two Midwestern families are changed forever. When fourteen-year-old Amelia starts becoming a snarky sassy teen, with characteristics of her donor's personality, she is driven to discover who her donor was. This is a tender young adult story of dreams, hope and discovery. It was painful to read the tense relationship between sixteen year-old Eagan and her mother. Eagan's mother push-push-pushes Eagan to skate her best, as if skating's all that matters. Eagan's mother's loneliness and the desperate way she won't let her daughter settle for mediocrity remind me as a parent not to let my dreams for my kids interfere in their dreams. This book made me recognize the value (and blessing) of ordinary. The book opens after Eagan has died, but not since "The Lovely Bones" has a dead character been such an active vital voice. I think this book should be required reading for all new teen drivers, as well.