×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

In God We Trust: All Others Pay Cash
     

In God We Trust: All Others Pay Cash

4.0 43
by Jean Shepherd
 

See All Formats & Editions

A beloved, bestselling classic of humorous and nostalgic Americana, reissued in a strikingly designed paperback edition.

Before Garrison Keillor and Spalding Gray there was Jean Shepherd: a master monologist and writer who spun the materials of his all-American childhood into immensely resonant--and utterly hilarious--works of comic art. In God We Trust:

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

In God We Trust: All Others Pay Cash 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 43 reviews.
Kalel13 More than 1 year ago
All of the hilarious moments that make the movie a tradition are here along with other anecdotes. Actually the tale of Ralphie's plot to get the Red Ryder carbine action BB gun only takes one chapter; but there are a lot more misadventures spread throughout. If A Christmas Story is part of your holiday viewing year after year, this will enhance your enjoyment of it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book reminds me of the old stories my grandmother told me as a child from her like in the fourties. I think the imagery gives it character and i would recommend it to everyone.
Guest More than 1 year ago
In Indiana 60-65 years ago, men were men and sheep were sheep. Buy the book-- but pay in cash.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Jean's wit and his phrasology are in a class by themselves. Anyone should be able to identify with his rememberances even if their childhood was at a later time than the late thirties--early forties. I enjoy reading parts of this book as I do enjoying a glass of fine wine. The song, 'Try to Remember' would aptly describe the many poignant memories included in this very witty book. Read all Shepherd's material. I guarantee you'll identify with most of it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is a masterwork of fiction that is like a time machine that takes you to depression era Indiana. If you have ever watched 'A Christmas Story' you must read this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you liked the movie' A Christmas Story' you will love this book. It is a wonderful trip into a man's memories of his childhood.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wanted to enjoy this book....I love the movie A Christmas Story.  I had to force myself to read the whole thing.  I kept hoping it would get better, but it just dragged on and on!  There was a funny passage now and then, but not enough.  Reading this book was sort of like trying to run in chest high water----you really work at it, but in then end you don't get any where and you are just tired of trying!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the book and the stories told. Takes you back in time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jean Shepherd was a great storyteller and this book captures his style. Many episodes from this book were later adapted into the popular movie, A Christmas Story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rachel_Luray More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the narrative and story weaving that Jean pulled together in this book. A slice of Americana family history in a well written tale. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Only one chapter of it :( watch the movie though it is awsome :) - Happystar
tinydancersmom More than 1 year ago
Wonderful book! One of the stories in it was the movie "A Christmas Story" which is also my favorite Christmas movies. Jean Shepherd has a really funny dry wit! This is a book I read over and over!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just finished. Laughed the whole time. Dispointed no mention of the tongue on pole incident. Guess some things are better left for the movies.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BLUEBELLE4 More than 1 year ago
i used to stay awake half the night to listen to Gene on, i think it was, WOR N.Y. Then I read his books. reread his books and laughed myself silly. Last time I read In God We Trust, All Others Pay Cash, I laughed again as the book was in the religion section of the local library. It will be a joy to read this book again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago