×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

In Her Name: The Last War
     

In Her Name: The Last War

4.4 24
by Michael R. Hicks
 

See All Formats & Editions

THE LAST WAR is the second trilogy collection of the bestselling IN HER NAME series. This book includes the full text of the standalone novels FIRST CONTACT, LEGEND OF THE SWORD, and DEAD SOUL.

FIRST CONTACT

Led by Commander Owen McClaren, the TNS Aurora is embarked on an extended survey mission, searching for new worlds that could support human life. Drawn to an

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

In Her Name 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 24 reviews.
TechnoGeek1 More than 1 year ago
The author's gift is in creating SciFi worlds but grounding the story in the inter-dynamics of the characters. Hicks does such a good job in the characterizations of the main characters that they didn't leave me even when I wasn't reading the books. About midway through the series, the characters and story began to haunt me (in a good way). This is a very good series that I would recommend not only to SciFi junkies, but also to those who haven't read the genre before. It's well written with a very good pace. I read all three books within a week. Strongly recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is well done excellent detail to the landscaping it takes my breath away just to imagine some of the scenes and places. And the characters are brilliantly done. When I read this series it makes me feel like I am right there next to them and I swear I can hear their voices, feel their emotions. I think this series is a must read for any science fiction collection. Also a brilliant tale of a coming of age hero where his actions have consequences. A must read for anyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is on of the best syfy books I have read. It is original and is written from the eunique perspective of the aliens rather then the humans. I would prefer the profanity was not used. I do questionn that why alliens so advanced had no translator trchnolgy. I was also bothered by their view of humans as animals. All that aside it was a very fast and exciting read not a single booring page. It painted a picture of allien cultute and gave depth and insight to both halien and human chacters. I would highly recomend this to any syfy fan.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LAWonder More than 1 year ago
OK. I had determined in the first half of this book I really could not justify even a solid three star rating. It seemed repetitive and lacking in content. There was also profanity and I wasn't at all impressed with the writing..there was also a lot of typographical errors. This is a story of a cruel warring planet who is feared by confederations and all who dwell within. This is also a story about a young boy who repeatedly suffers because of this planet of cruel individuals. His life continues in chaos after being captured. He goes through much physical and emotional pain. He, also, evaluates and reevaluates his fate in life. He has to decide what course he should pursue. There is a scene with sexual content but doesn't become explicit. I, reluctantly, had to change my rating because the last half of the book was very profound and intense. It really left the reader hungry for the next book of the sequel. This novel is about survival, loyalty, honesty, honor, love, hate, friendship, wartime, fortitude and perseverance. This is primarily written for YA but I wouldn't recommend it for YA reading because of profanity and sexual content.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hate2beLate More than 1 year ago
Just finished the first 3 before this series and can hardly wait to start the next 3 on my Nook, and it was so addictive! The flow of the writing just pulls you through the pages until you get to the end...way too soon! I've already recommended it to every one I know that enjoys this genre. Great job Mr. Hicks you have a true gift. Please, keep them coming!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SolitaireParke More than 1 year ago
In Her Name: Empire by Michael R. Hicks was a real treat! I gobbled it up in two sittings and read until my eyes hurt. I was captured by the story within the first three pages and felt the struggle of the Protagonist as if it was my own. When I got to the end, I discovered I was angry. Angry that I hadn't purchased the next two books! It doesn't take rocket science to know what I'm going to read next. Great work Mr Hicks!!
dbruce More than 1 year ago
This tale started out slow and rapidly became difficult to put down! Fascinating story line. The idea of aliens has to be rethought after this!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read this on the other popular e-reader, and here's my opinion. As far as the story goes, it just wasn't my cup of tea. I didn't fall in love with the characters and the storyline didn't draw me in. That said, it is very solidly written. Michael Hicks does an amazing job and I can understand all of the buzz this series gets. If you are into the military sci-fi scene, there is a good chance you will enjoy not only this books, but the entire series.
VirginiaRipple More than 1 year ago
I admit it. I was sucked into the story before Chapter One ended. The Good... Although the stakes never change (life or death every time) it feels like it does. It's not a matter of if Reza will survive; it's a matter of how and who will survive alongside him. Empire is rife with tension and conflict from beginning to end, forcing the reader to keep turning pages to see what happens next. The characters feel real and demand we pay attention to them. The Not-so-good... While the overall writing is captivating, there is quite a bit of head hopping to get used to. Even so, Hicks is able to pull it off with a minimum of jarring the reader. At times the descriptions of the Kreelan homeworld were more detailed than I like and I felt they dragged the story down. However, one expects a certain amount of world building in Science Fiction and Fantasy. I don't think the descriptions in Empire were excessive. The Overall... Loved this book. I highly recommend this for anyone remotely interested in Science Fiction.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
storky4u More than 1 year ago
Purchased the Omnibus as an ebook for my Samsung Epic and it was a great read for the price. I am soo happy that there are new Sci Fi writers like Michael Hicks out there. I am happily reading all his stuff. Had no trouble reading it on my Epic. I am a VERY fast reader so it did take a lot of flicks, but on my epic I was always able to take up where I stopped. Liked his writing soo much I have asked my local library to purchase the hard copy of his new book coming out!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
KelBar70 More than 1 year ago
I have read the entire series and found the books well written and the story engrossing. Overall a good non hard scifi series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was completely engrossed into the story from the start to the finish I would recommend this to any sci-fi fan.
Crispy More than 1 year ago
The digital book is horribly formated. Each paragraph requires a page flip (loading of a new subfile), no matter if it fills the screen or not (by the time I got frustated and gave up reading I had yet to have a paragraph fill more than 2/3 of my Droid screen and on the computer HA!). When the omnibus has over 6000 paragraphs and the flow of reading gets broken after each paragraph, I just could not finish the book. And what I read seemed really interesting. Currently in the process of converting the book to a different format. Even if it becomes readable I don't suggest purchase as it is to much trouble.