×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

In Lucia's Eyes
     

In Lucia's Eyes

3.6 11
by Arthur Japin
 

See All Formats & Editions

Lucia works as a servant girl in Italy and is engaged to be married. But after the pox disfigures her face, she flees in shame without telling her lover. Years later, as a reknowned Amsterdam courtesan who never goes out without her veil, Lucia is at the theater when she recognizes her long-lost fiancé, Giacomo Casanova; and she cannot resist the opportunity

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

In Lucia's Eyes 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I purchased this book without any knowledge of it existing and I relied on the reviews. From what I had read this book was very good, and it left you on your toes every page. These notes were very true! It was so intresting to learn about the late eighteenth century era, and it makes me want to know more about the people and especailly Lucia! I was blown away by so many parts of the book and how surprising they were. I hope Arthur Japin writes another book taking place in this era bacause it was great! I recomend this to any age and any person intrested in learning about how life was back in the late eighteenth century! -CCR
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is truly one of the best books I've ever read. Understanding that it's a novel, the author did extensive research on this woman and he's basically telling the story of Casanova's first and only love. The language of this book is really beautiful and the writing style captivating. The story is facinating and what it taught me as a person is more than valuable. I suggest it to anyone.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Beautiful writing, fascinating story... I simply loved this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
eccentricallywitty More than 1 year ago
I often reread this book when the world has gone cold, when the air has gone still, and miraculously (as all good books do) it brings warmth, and breeze. The book is not a comfort read, rather, a book so beautifully written, with such a multilayered and complex central character that her journey, both philosophically, theologically, and romantically sweeps you into a room of thought and self-reflection. very rarely does a book make you look at things in a different way, make you braver, and for lack of better words, make you treasure its prose.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
harstan More than 1 year ago
In Pasiano, Italy fourteen years old virginal servant Lucia works in a noble house. There she meets seventeen years old just as virginal seminarian student Giacomo Casanova. The youngsters fall in love until she Lucia catches smallpox that scars her face terribly. Unable to face her lover, she runs off Giacomo before fleeing across Europe............... She earns her way doing various jobs especially as a prostitute to those every other fallen woman rejected. Eventually she becomes Madam Galathee de Pompignac running a popular brothel in Amsterdam and using a sexy veil to hide her visage while also making her mysterious to her clients. Casanova, renowned as the seducer le Chevalier de Seingalt, meets his first love and they wager a war of words, wit, and a challenge to determine whose gender is the stronger...................... This fascinating historical tale provides a different look at Casanova through the eyes of his first love. Her trials and tribulations turn her into a strong intelligent woman during an era when females were not expected to show any wit. The period is vividly described, though at times the window into the mid eighteenth century overwhelms the battle of the sexes. Still Arthur Japin provides a solid gender war that humanizes the legendary lover as he competes in a fierce skirmish of the mind and the body against his greatest opponent, his first love............ Harriet klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really? 10 dollars and thats all we get? I'm very upset. Just hope it's worth it.