×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

In the Blood: A Novel
     

In the Blood: A Novel

4.3 53
by Lisa Unger
 

See All Formats & Editions

The masterful psychological thriller by New York Times bestselling author Lisa Unger—“good, scary fun” (The Washington Post).

Lana Granger lives a life of lies. She has told so many lies about where she comes from and who she is that the truth is like a cloudy nightmare she can’t quite recall. About to graduate from college

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

In the Blood 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 53 reviews.
XXXOOOBookwormOOOXXX More than 1 year ago
In The Blood by Lisa Unger is an amazing novel. From the very first page this story has the energy and momentum of a freight train. It's hard to do a review of this novel and not give any of the story away - and I hate when people do that!! What I will say is that it has a super cast of characters. It's twisty and surprising and will keep you reading until the wee hours of dawn. It's extremely hard to tear yourself away once you get going on this book. What I liked best is that In The Blood felt very original to me. Sometimes you finish a book and feel like you've read just another version of the same story. In The Blood is out of the box and I enjoyed it immensely. I can't wait to read more work from this author.
RobertDowns More than 1 year ago
Is evil predetermined genetically, or is it based on environment and upbringing? IN THE BLOOD attempts to answer this question, and I can state rather emphatically that my mind might never be the same again. The mental mind trip left me in a cold sweat, and there’s a chance I may now be prone to night terrors. If I wake up screaming, though, I’ll only have myself to blame, as I attempt to pound through the pain. The plot moved along at a slow simmer with some rather unexpected twists and turns, as I kept a death grip on my Kindle and flipped the pages with one eye closed. Terror of the psychological variety proves much more appealing to me than some dude in a hockey mask slashing oversexed campers with a machete. And there’s plenty of terror to be had here, most of which floats just beneath the surface, bubbling up when you least expect it, and grasping you around the ankle before pulling you beneath the water. Lana Granger may have told more than a few lies in her day, each one building upon the one before it. Even though she might show aspects of being a pathological or compulsive liar, I’d still stand behind her. Despite Luke being only eleven-years-old, I wouldn’t stand behind him, even if I were holding a shovel in one hand and a grenade in the other. There’s a term that often applies in situations such as these: little bastard. And should you look it up in the dictionary, you’d probably see a picture of Luke’s sneering mug (among others). I am proud to say I have more Lisa Unger novels at my disposal, so when the night terrors cease, I shall revisit her to kick start the screaming and cold sweats all over again. I received this book for free through NetGalley. Robert Downs Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator
LoveToReadJFE More than 1 year ago
Lisa Unger’s exciting page-turner draws you in . . . just when you think you have it all figured out, everything changes and the plot twists keep you guessing right to the very end. Highly recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book in two days. Luckily I had nothing to do because I was completely glued to it. It was an easy tead and a total mind f***. My only complaint is that it wasnt longer! I cant wait to read more books by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could hardly put it down. Thrilling to the very end!
Virginiaw More than 1 year ago
This was the first book that I have read by Lisa Unger and it will not be my last.  This had so much action and lots of twists and turns.  I look forward to reading more of her stories.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Easy read. The big plot twist is unexpected, but not a good one. It seems like the author had the twist, but did not know how to finish it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book. I was glued to reading this, each chapter better than the last. Hope to read more books by this author and they are just as thrilling!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lisa Unger is one of the few authors I will go out of my way to pre-order. I waited so long for this book to come out and it did not disapoint. Perhaps one of her best works, this book kept me riveted.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome!
Anonymous 6 days ago
Ate a mouse. Ahhh.........
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SeaKyle More than 1 year ago
Great read. The plot is a very unique one and it leaves you questioning things as you move through the story line. It is creepy and suspenseful and the ending was perfect. It also was quite tender in that it touched on the reality of what life is like for normal people living through extraordinary circumstances. I will definitely keep reading works by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a page turner. I could not get home fast enough to read this book. This is my second Karin Slaughter book and i for sure will be buying another one. The book is from two points of views the protagnoist Lana and a diary entry from someone else. I will not give to much away but the plot twists, yes multiple made my jaw drop. I honestly did not see it coming. Very well written you will not be disappointed. Be prepared for lack of sleep from reading to late imto the night with this book.
jeni-b More than 1 year ago
Lisa Unger formulates a clever concoction of mental manipulations and emotional complexities of abnormal psychology. The internal narrative of these mentally disturbed characters allows an up close and personal encounter that captivates with mouth dropping suspense. In the Blood is an exact definition of a psychological thriller! Follow me on Instagram for more book reviews! @abookwithaview ~jeni b~
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was the first Lisa Unger book that I read and I was hooked! I did not want to put the book down and really enjoyed trying to figure out what was going to happen. I felt it was suspenseful from start to finish and am planning to read many more books from this author!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
bmamca36 More than 1 year ago
Suspenseful and Unpredictable
Sue5 More than 1 year ago
WOW , I couldn't put it down, read it in 48 hours.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good...lots of twists and a great ending
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lots of suspense. Towards the end of the book it will surprise you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am an avid reader of suspense and psychological thrillers and this is the best book I've read in a long time. Highly recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I now see why this was on the $1.99 Nook list. It's horrible. Too predictable, and really in a bad way. And it's painfully clear that the author hasn't experienced much of real life. For instance, the main character wondering when she last filled her prescription? Sorry if that distracted me from the story, but every prescription label shows the last fill date. But that's only a minor instance that shows why I gave up on this book after 140 pages. And I'm really upset that I gave it that much of my time. I usually feel like any book that keeps my interest for 50 pages is worth my dedication through the last page. But this one was pretty horrible.