×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

In the Presence of My Enemies
     

In the Presence of My Enemies

4.8 18
by Gracia Burnham, Dean Merrill (With)
 

See All Formats & Editions

In the Presence of My Enemies, the gripping true story of American missionaries Martin and Gracia Burnham’s year as hostages in the Philippine jungle, was a New York Times best seller and has sold nearly 350,000 copies. Now releasing in trade softcover for the first time, this updated edition has a new look and contains never-before-published

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

In the Presence of My Enemies 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found this book to be very interesting and well written. It got my attention and kept me on the edge of my seat until the last page. It's a very inspirational and gut wrenching read. The Burnhams are such a great example of a very devout missionary couple who loved the people they served. It also gives you a great insight into the minds of their captors, some of whom were just teenagers. I highly recommend this book if you want to be inspired and challenged to live your faith.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good book. I felt like I truely knew them. To be able to go through something like that &to not loose faith is amazing. I wish the best for there family. The family was blessed to have known Martin. What a wonderful &inspiring man of God
Guest More than 1 year ago
this book is great because gracia burnham is not making the things she tells about in the story up. she is actually telling of truthfull and real, historical events. I think that it is great that she was already a missionary, but it is even better that she has become a hero. it is weird how some of these situations can bring us closer to god. i did a report on this for summer reading and guess who got an 'a'? ME! i also liked it because while all of my friends were reading boring books, things that i would have literaly died reading, i had gotten a great book on a terrorist attack, survival and martyrdom. THIS BOOK IS GREAT YOU SHOULD READ IT!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a missionary and I can only say....God bless the Burnhams
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Will read again. Praise God.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is very well written and tells an awesome story of faith and strength during a long trial. I was inspired, convicted, and very moved by this book. I told all my friends to read it. So good!
ReneeSuz More than 1 year ago
Amazing story of the kidnapping of missionaries in the Philippines; an even more amazing story of forgiveness
Taffy64 More than 1 year ago
This is a really good read! Made me realize how easy my Christian life has been. Challenged me to make more of each day and to serve the Lord with gladness whatever circumstances surround me. God is faithful!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book helped me to view my life from a different perspective. I also liked the way the authors describe life events and their related details. It was really heart-broken Martin met his end that way after enduring such a terrible ordeal for a long year and more. It would take an enormous courage carrying on a life after losing a loved one especially having lived a life on foreign soil so many years and having spent one last incredible year together. As a father of 2 struggling grown-up children, I thank God that Gracia's children grew up well. It would be much harder otherwise even if I learned through this book that we have to take and overcome whatever comes in our way.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book. Had to pull myself away at times
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
GoFrogs More than 1 year ago
This book was a pleasant surprise. I bought this book thinking that it might be one I wouldn't finish and would end up sitting on my shelf. But, once I started the book, I couldn't put it down. I remembered the news stories of the Burnhams' kidnapping but I didn't remember the details. Gracia is a very good story-teller and some of the details she remembers are amazing. I was surprised by the way the Burnhams' captors treated them. This book is action-packed and personal, too. I've given it to a few friends to read and they had the same reacation.