×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

In These Girls, Hope is a Muscle
     

In These Girls, Hope is a Muscle

4.2 11
by Madeleine Blais
 

See All Formats & Editions

They Were a Talented Team with a Near-Perfect Record. But for Five Straight Years, When it Came to The Crunch of the Playoffs, the Amherst Lady Hurricanes-A "Finesse" High-School Girls' Basketball Team of Nice Girls from A Nice Town-Somehow Lacked the Scrappy, Hard-Driving Desire to Go all the Way. Now, Led by the Strong Back-Court of All-American Jamila Wideman and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

In These Girls, Hope Is a Muscle 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
RALONG-2010 More than 1 year ago
THIS BOOK IS ABOUT A GIRLS HIGH SCHOOL BASKETBALL TEAM WHO, FOR THE PAST 5 YEARS HAVE HAD PROBLEMS WITH MAKING IT OUT OF REGIONALS. IN THE '92-'93 THE TEAMS TWO BEST PLAYERS, JEN AND JAMILA, ARE SENIORS. FOR THIS SEASON, THE TEAMS HOPES ARE HIGH, AND THEY ARE AS DETERMINED AS EVER. I REALLY LIKED THIS BOOK BECAUSE I THINK IT IS GREAT WHAT THESE GIRLS DID TO GET WHAT THEY WANTED.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a book about a basketball team that works as hard as they can to reach their goal. I really enjoyed this book because it showed hardwork and teamwork and being a basketball player myself, I know all about that. This book started out slow but grew to be very interesting. I would recommend this book to anyone that loves basketball or just sports in general. Enjoy!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This story is about a basketball team that pushes theirselves to get what they want. They never give up and do what they have to to reach their goals. I would recommend this book to anyone that knows and loves the game of basketball. I followed the story easily and it was a hard book to put down. There were some rather boring parts, but also parts with a ton of excitment. I really enjoyed this book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is inspiring to all girls who want to play or do play basketball. This book shows you that your dreams can come true if you work hard as a team and individual. These girls work hard as they possibly could and they were also very dedicated to this team. This book shows how they felt on and off the court. They came together to form somewhat a family on the court which helped them through the tough parts of the game. This book inspired me to work hard in playing basketball on my high school team. I highly recommend this book to other basketball player girls or guys.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This story shows how a group of girls do not give up on their dream to beating their rival school. They push themselves hard to get what they want. The girls felt like a family with each other and the seniors took control of the team. Since they have not gone far in the distric torney in five years this year is goin to be different this yeah is their year. With hope and support from their town they push and push to get what they want.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I just finished reading this book and it was spectacular!! I couldn't put it down! I was enthralled by it and I totally recommend it! Anyone should read it, but especially people who know about basketball so they can relate! It is one of the best books I've ever read!
Guest More than 1 year ago
My coach let me borrow this book. I picked it up not knowing what to expect and could't put it down. It was written extremely well, plus the content is inspiring. I've learned more about the way I want to play my game. I highly recommend this touching true story.
Guest More than 1 year ago
We read 'In These Girls, Hope is a Muscle' because we thought that it would be a good, interesting book that we would remember forever. After reading the book we found that it was kind of boring, and hard to get into. We did like how Madeleine Blais related to the story, explained the setting, and described the main characters. We would have been more interested in this book if we played Basketball. The author's weakness in telling this story was talking too much about things that had nothing to do with the topic of Basketball. We found those parts boring and tended to skip threw them. 'Hoop Phi is of an intangible, untouchable breed. It satisfies the soul and a life-long need. We represented our school, represented our sex, now maybe both will get some well-earned respect.' To us this quote means that Hoop Phi is the Hurricanes motto for that Basketball season. It means that they were so disappointed about loosing to Northampton the previous year, they were not going to back down. The Hurricanes were going to give every thing they had to be the best, the champions. The book had a lineup of memorable characters. They showed heart and soul in every practice and every game. The Lady Hurricanes showed skill, courage, discipline and grace. But even more, for generations of women who came before them, the represented the first signs of progress in the struggle for equal opportunity and recongnition in sports. Though Madeleine Blais did a magnificent job describing the main characters, we found ourselves wanting to know more about the secondary characters. When a person reads a book, they tend to pick a character from the story that they relate to. We did not feel we could relate to either the main characters Jamila or Jen. If we new more about the other characters lives we might have made a connection and enjoyed the book more. After reading this book we thought that it was high time the public had a story that captured the positive impact team sports have on girls. We hope that these types of stories continue to come out, and make an impact on young women regardless of the sport or activity portrayed. The members of our group participate in track, cross country, and gymnastics. We already realize how participating on a team impacts our lives and that was the part of
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think that this is a great book... all of the teenagers out there that play the game of basketball should read this book ... it truely is AMAZING!