×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Indian Killer
     

Indian Killer

3.8 12
by Sherman Alexie
 

See All Formats & Editions


“Part thriller, part magical realism, and part social commentary, Indian Killer . . . lingers long past the final page.”—Seattle Weekly

A national best seller, Indian Killer is arguably Sherman Alexie’s most controversial book to date—a gritty, racially charged literary thriller that, over a decade after its first

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Indian Killer 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
brandon_s11 More than 1 year ago
"Indian Killer" is an exciting and thought provoking book that displays the way the society works while creating a thrilling plot to make the story more exciting. The title of "Indian Killer" is an accurate and exciting title because it displays the key points in the story without completely giving it away. In a way, "Indian Killer", is very interesting story that I personally believe anyone would enjoy regardless of age or race.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rusty-C-Adore More than 1 year ago
Sherman Alexie is a fantastic writer. His style is highly approachable. The plot flows well, with a great mix of suspense, drama and dark humor. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good thought provoking mystery.
vannmarquise42 More than 1 year ago
Secret Killer Sherman Alexie's "Indian Killer" is a great book which I would strongly recommend. It's set in Seattle in the city of Spokane were the main characters, a troubled John Smith a 6' 6", heavily muscled, Spokane Indian and psychotic killer live. The author begins the book describing the main character, John Smith's birth as being difficult and extremely painful for his fourteen year old mother. He details the birth using good imagery, describing the blood gushing from her vagina, painful contractions, and sudden tearing. After his birth, his mother chooses to give him up for adoption to Olivia Smith, a beautiful white women who is dedicated to being a good mother, and Daniel Smith a handsome, strong, white man, a loving father determined to teach their Indian son how to be a man. Eventually, they decided to baptize their Indian son by a man named, Father Duncan, a Spokane Indian, Jesuit, gigantic man, about 7' 2" with delicate hands. Father Duncan was a teacher and close friend to John. He'd share secrets that he made John promise never to reveal. Then one day when John was six years old, Father Duncan took him to a chapel were he showed him a paintings of Indians killing white Jesuits. In this visit Father Duncan explained that a change was occurring inside him to John, who didn't really understand as they stared at the glass. Father Duncan continued his visits until John was seven years old, were one day he disappeared. This disappearance eventually pushed John to certain insanity which was already built up from lack of community, not knowing his heritage and mother. This unstableness in John progresses to the point were he decided that he needed to kill a white man. After he comes to this decision a psychotic killer arises. This killer, kills a white man by devouring his eyes, scalping him, and stabbing him multiple times in the chest. He continues, kidnapping a white boy, Mark Jones, a six year old white boy, with blonde hair and blue-eyes. His killings throw the city into a state of panic. As well as the main character the author includes many side characters as well. Marie Polatkin, an aggressive, beautiful Spokane Indian who attends the University of Washington and constantly challenges the ideas of Dr. Clarence Mather, a professor of the college and Indian wannabe. Reggie Polatkin a half-breed Indian, with long black hair braided into two ponytails, and blue eyes, who was kicked out of the university for assaulting Dr. Mather. This characters are a few of the side characters but you'll have to read the book in order to learn more.
chokeword More than 1 year ago
Sherman Alexie can do no wrong by me (except maybe his descent into the Teen and YA genres). Indian Killer is such a unique sort of thriller. It's a beautiful portrayal of anger and madness, and especially of the thin line between the two. John Smith will always have a place in my heart.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
John Smith is a Native American who was adopted as a baby by a Caucasian couple. Throughout his life, he is unhappy the way he lives it. He wants to live like a real Indian on a reservation. As a grown man, he lives in Seattle as a lonely man who has depressed life. When a murderer starts to scalp and kidnap white men, a culture clash begins between the Indians and the Whites. John is forced to cope with the conflicts of being an Indian in a city that has become chaotic and in turmoil.

Although this book is fiction, the content of it is real. Sherman Alexie's writing flows together and makes a lot of sense, even if readers don't know much about the issues. The writing about the lifestyles of Native American's is portrayed accurately because the author is Native American. It is the real deal and readers who like a good mystery thriller and want to learn a sense of the lifestyle of Native Americans should read this book.

Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought that is was the best book that I read The only book that I didnt quit on for the first time I wish there had been more of the book so that I could have read more
Guest More than 1 year ago
The talent of Sherman Alexie is in my own opinion at an unrivaled state in this country. The book is so utterly gripping in structure that I read the entire work in less than a day, and enjoyed every last word written. The book is absolutely chilling due to several elements which the author included. First, the story of a native man killing white people brings about the nervous sense of a coming apocalypse, as does the stark divisions of the caucasian populace and the native americans of Seattle within the story. The thought of the native peoples'support for the killer, and the uprising of vigilance in the white community adds passion and fear to the book, as does the killers' use of owl feathers as a calling card. I am a Chicano man, and know that I am very strongly rooted in my own type of native culture. Ancient mexican native cultures believed the owl to be a symbol of death, and this belief has stayed very prevalent in my culture as well as many other native american cultures to this very day. Alexies' comparision of the Indian Killer to an owl was frightening at the very least. I may have already revealed too much, so read the book and make your own decision. You will not regret it.
Watcher10 More than 1 year ago
I read this book as part of Junot Diaz's Interpretation of Fiction class. Mr. Diaz himself eventually acknowledged that while Alexie had written previously important works, Indian Killer was a simply awful novel. If you find this to be thought provoking or entertaining I weep for your simplicity.