×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

An Infamous Army (Alastair Trilogy Series #3)
     

An Infamous Army (Alastair Trilogy Series #3)

3.8 33
by Georgette Heyer
 

See All Formats & Editions

On the eve of battle, passions are running high...

IN THE SUMMER OF 1815, with Napolean Bonaparte marching down from the north, Brussels is a whirlwind of parties, balls and soirees. In the swirling social scene surrounding the Duke of Wellington and his noble aides de camp, no one attracts more attention than the beautiful, outrageous young

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

An Infamous Army (Alastair Trilogy Series #3) 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 33 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the best novel I have ever read. It has everything war, romance etc.... I love the romance between Bab and Charles. Let me say one thing I grew up in a war (Beirut-Lebanon)and every emotion that people experience in this book is for real. Giving parties, dancing, falling in love at first sight, horrors of war, people without limbs etc.........It's all real. I just couldn't put the book down. Thanks God I have been living in USA for the past 17 years, but you never forget those crazy days. I give 5 stars although the book deserves million stars. Her description of Waterloo is sooooooooo correct which amazes me.I have read so many books about Waterloo that hers is the best......Georgette Heyer is the best I wish she wrote more books :(
Paris182 More than 1 year ago
While Georgette Heyer is best know for her charming and amusing Regency Era romances, as well as her English country house mysteries, she wrote four excellent historical novels. The best of these is "An Infamous Army", which details life in Brussels before Waterloo. Here the frivolous mixes with the tragic, partys prepare you for battle., and relationships come at a price. In "An Infamous Army" she presents us with a well researched, character driven plot that brings to life the horror of war. The characters are sometimes sympathetic, sometimes not but always realistic, And while Lady Barbara is the heroine, I hope that most will agree with me that the most sympathetic is the voice of reason in the plot, Judith, Lady Worth. If you are a fan of history, or just of good writing, I think you will enjoy "An Infamous Army"
Ann_Qujinn More than 1 year ago
While there is a rather fluffy romance in the foreground, the background is historically accurate and the carefree life in Brussels the days just before Waterloo and the actual battle are in stark contrast to each other. The reader feels both the panic and horror of war. The battles from Quatre Bras to Hugenot to Waterloo are so good, you picture yourself THERE! Georgette Heyer's gift for making scenes LIVE, is no more apparent than in these chapters. Great for history buffs as well as romance readers!
slferguson More than 1 year ago
I read that the description of the battle of Waterloo is so accurate that it is studied at West Point and other military schools. This is besides the wonderful characters she brings to life to draw you in to the emotions and atmosphere surrounding the battle.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great read centered on the time of Waterloo. Romance, yes but just a sideline to the story of the war and its armies.
Indy25 More than 1 year ago
Bolstered by the stellar reviews and my own penchant for regency-era fiction, I purchased this book. It's nearly unreadable. Beginning from the first chapter, the reader is dropped in the middle of a room with the characters discussing 19th century politics and intrigue with little understanding who is who. Realistic? Certainly. Reader friendly? No, unless you are very, very familiar with the historical happenings of the time. I trudged through a few more chapters, hoping that I would decipher the characters better as the plot progressed, but alas even then, I couldn't name the protagonist.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Georgette Heyer is a true master of Regency stories. In 'An Infamous Army' she once again excels in character studies, bringing back characters we have met in 'Regency Buck' and 'The Devils Cub' They are a true delight. We are swept away into the whirl-wind of activety taking place in Brussells. we Travel through the days leading up to the battle of waterloo with Wellington as he organized the Infamous Army. We meet many of the officers who lead their brigades into battle. Heyers works are very well researched, this book is my favorite. The love story is touching , a head strong young widow and a dashing, gallant, handsome young officer meet and the fireworks are not all on the battlefield. I am so glad to find Georgette Heyers books on the book shelves , new copies that have never been read, are a real treat. Most of my copies are dog eared and verrrry old. I hope to find 'An Infamous Army' in a paperback, brand new. I highly recommend reading work by this wonderful writer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This has to be one of my favourite Heyer books: a great mix of historical fact and story line.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i reread this novel after reading it 26 years ago.i had forgotten much of the plot, but i did not forget how much i loved it and kept my copy which was printed in 1965. i wont give the story away other then saying you will enjoy this very much if you love history and romance.it is a story of truth, of war and peace.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is third in a trilogy but I had a bit of trouble figuring out how and why. Eventually I did and enjoyed the developments. The descriptions of the period leading up to Waterloo, the personalities involved (on the British side), and the battle itself are all excellently done. History came alive a little more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
akreaderJH More than 1 year ago
This is a somewhat technical overview of the battle of Waterloo which may turn off some readers. However, as the last book in the Alastair Trilogy it ties up the family very well - nice to know what happened to previous characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found this to be the author's hardest book to read. If I wanted a detailed history lesson, I would have purchased a textbook of that era. Iliked the basic story but was not up to the first 2 books in the triligy in enjoyment.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Trade stuff here.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago