×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Ingenue (The Flappers Series #2)
     

Ingenue (The Flappers Series #2)

4.4 61
by Jillian Larkin
 

See All Formats & Editions

If you love The Great Gatsby, you'll want to read the Flappers series.
Power . . . love . . . scandal . . . there’s never enough to go around.
 
In the city that never sleeps, Lorraine Dyer is wide awake. Ever since she exposed Clara Knowles for the tramp she was—and lost her closest confidante in the process—Lorraine

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Ingenue (The Flappers Series #2) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 61 reviews.
Kelley Flint More than 1 year ago
I really liked the first book and can't wait to find out whay happens next. 'Vixen' leaves you hanging with a pretty intense cliffhanger with almost no lose ends tied up. i'm super excited to read this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In all honesty, I read this book way after it came out and forgot almost everything. One main thing that usually hate is when books don't recap well, but this did an good job of rejogging my memory. Anyways beside that point this book capivated me from the first book and I'm still hanging on. One change in Ingenue is the introduction of Vera's( Jerome's little sisters) point of view, whom I have to say was an interesting character to add to the story. Jillian Larkin will keep you reading as her depth filled character create the story. Hope this helped
librarysusie More than 1 year ago
We start up this second book in the Flapper's series in New York City, Gloria and Jerome hiding out from the mob, Lorraine working for the mob, Clara is back in the city that almost ruined her, can she stay away from her old life or is it too much of a temptation and Vera trying to find her brother and hopefully save his life and make up for what she had done in Chicago. Relationships go through some growing pains in this one! You'll be surprised who ends up the happiest in the end. This one was a lot of fun again with some major intrigue as the stories and people converged for the climax and what a climax it was! It isn't really a cliffhanger but the end of one chapter and the next book will be a new one because parts of this story were wrapped up very well, yet with just enough mystery to keep fans reading to see what happens next. I so enjoy the atmosphere in this series, the 20's ,flappers, bootleggers, booze, gangsters and some famous people of the time play into this story! I love who Vera meets backstage at the Cotton Club and who engineers some of the bad things that happen! (No Spoilers) I think this is a great YA historical fiction series that teens and adults alike will enjoy no fantasy involved just a look at life in a different time when women were just starting to come into their own, segregation is in effect except of course that it's ok for the African Americans to entertain you but they must come in the back door and an interracial relationship will get you in trouble I think it gives a great look at a life we can only imagine and hope that we have moved far away from. I do love books that that show strong women and this one is full of them , women in 1920 leaving the notions and traditional roles their parents have laid out for them to make their way in the world on their own, scary as that is. I look forward to the next installment of this series! 4 stars
Tara Moses More than 1 year ago
The first, Vixen, was a five star hit and now number 2? We have been waiting to know what happens to Gloria and Jerome, aching to see if Clara and Marcus were meant to be, and wondering if Lorraine will really travel down that dark path. It may take place in1923 but 2011 just can not wait!
mamelotti96 More than 1 year ago
The second installment of The Flappers series did not disappoint. I left the library practically skipping on the day it arrived at my library. I was excited to travel back to the 1920s, and see what Vera, Clara, Lorraine, Marcus, Gloria, and Jerome were all up to now.  There was a LOT more involvement of the mob in the second book, which as I mentioned in my review for Vixen I wanted to see more of. In the comforts of my home, I always say how fascinating it would be to experience the mob. Then I really think about it, and realize that I could never handle it in real life. While reading Ingenue, I felt the fear that the mobsters instilled. I felt the disgust and desperation. I loved reading every second of it.  One of the main focuses of the book was to follow all the couples that formed in Vixen, and see how they were doing. SPOILER: We have Clara and Marcus, Jerome and Gloria, and Vera (Jerome's younger sister) falls for one of the band members from Jerome's old band. Lorraine flitted around. She was heavily involved with the mob, so she was focusing on doing her job correctly. Clara and Marcus' big problem was being back in New York, the place of Clara's downfall before meeting Marcus. Jerome and Gloria's big problem was how he was African American and she was white. Biracial relationships were unheard of in the 1920s, more so than today. Vera and her special beau team up together to protect the ones they care about and right the wrongs that had taken place.  Ingenue is told from alternating perspectives of Vera, Gloria, Lorraine, and Clara. You feel like you are right in the middle of the action, especially when things heat up between the main characters and the mobsters. You will find yourself on the edge of your seats, flipping through pages as fast as you can to find out what happens and who ends up with who. And yes, I have already requested the third and final book (sad face) of The Flappers series. I recommend Ingenue to all who believe they are flappers at heart, and who love a good story of betrayal, love, and loyalty. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I checked this out and I really enjoyed it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
beautybabydoll More than 1 year ago
Great sequel. It was pretty slow, and I wish Clara had even more parts, but I loved that Vera now had her own chapters. It had an amazing ending that threw me off a bit. Lorraine--poor Lorraine, the complete failure of a flapper. Anyhow, AMAZING.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MissPrint More than 1 year ago
Gloria Carmody had to leave Chicago in a hurry after killing a mobster. She hoped to find a new start in New York City with Jerome Johnson. But a white woman loving a black man is just as hard in New York as it was in Chicago. Love aside, living in New York is much harder without the Carmody money supporting her. Vera Johnson knows Gloria and her brother Jerome left Chicago for good reason. But when trouble threatens to follow them to New York will Vera be able to warn them both before it's too late? Lorraine Dyer is reader for a fresh start of her own in New York. One short summer is all that stands between her and a clean slate at Barnard. But before she can forget about her less than glamorous departure from Chicago society, Lorraine needs to mete out some justice. Gloria was supposed to be her best friend. Instead she abandoned Lorraine and let her be humiliated. In public. It's only fair that Lorraine help give Gloria what she has coming to her. Following her boyfriend Marcus Eastman to New York seemed like the perfect idea. Clara Knowles was sure it would help cement her new life leaving her flapper days far behind. But when a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity draws her back to glittering world of booze and flappers, Clara isn't sure she can walk away again. A new city. A new life. Everyone is trying to get away from their past. But sometimes life won't let you forget a thing in Ingenue (2011) by Jillian Larkin. Ingenue is the second book in The Flappers series which started last year with Vixen. (The series will conclude in 2012 with Diva.) Much like the blase parties Clara observes upon her return to New York City, the latest installment in this series has lost some of its luster. While the plot moved logically here building on the events of the first book, the characters did not. A lot of their behaviors felt contrived, especially Clara who went abruptly from reading a lot to fervently wanting to a writer. And then became kind of selfish about it besides. It was also disappointing to see Lorraine once again being so sorely abused. (She is either a much abused heroine or the most sympathetic villain in the entire world--which one she is will hopefully be determined once and for all in Diva.) With none of the characters actually seeing each other until the last hundred or so pages of the novel, the alternating chapters following each heroine just feel choppy and disjointed. Combined with the numerous missed connections between Vera and Gloria the book started to feel very forced. Ingenue is a decent installment and a fine bridge to the conclusion of the trilogy. It just was not, sadly, quite as brilliant as the first book in the series. Possible Pairings: Strings Attached by Judy Blundell, Flappers and Philosophers by F. Scott Fitzgerald, Ten Cents a Dance by Christine Fletcher, Bright Young Things by Anna Godbersen, The Luxe by Anna Godbersen, The Sheik by Edith Hull, Bowery Girl by Kim Taylor
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Both this book & its predecessor "Vixen" had me me anxious to turn each page. I could hardly put them down. I am excited for the next one
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago