×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Insomnia
     

Insomnia

4.0 290
by Stephen King
 

See All Formats & Editions

A #1 national bestseller—“A yarn so packed with suspense, romance, literary reference, fascinating miscellaneous knowledge, and heart that only Stephen King could have written it. Marvelous—that is, full of marvels” (Booklist).

“Sleep, that undiscriminating friend, humankind’s best and most reliable nurse since the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Insomnia 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 290 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book may be one of stephen kings best. Me being 16 years old, i started reading king's books about a year ago and i figured that i would read one of his bigger books. When seeing that the book was 600 pages, i thought i would be reading it for a month. I was way wrong about that. Yea, the story does start out slow but after the first 100 pages you cant put the book down. Its one of the best books i ever read! I got the book done in a week where every day it kept me up at night thinking about what will happen next! This book will forever make you think twice about life and death, and old people too haha. This is a great read that i would recommend
QUEENNOBLE More than 1 year ago
STEPHEN JUST KEEPS THE HITS COMING- AGAIN HE HAS DUG INTO HIS WEIRD BRAIN AND COME UP WITH ANOTHER "CAN'T PUT IT DOWN" STORY. GREAT - GREAT - KEEP IT UP - I'LL KEEP READING. ANNIE
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Don't let the bad reviews fool you this is a great book. it was tedious for the first few chapters but after the beginning is over it starts to get really really good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Being a huge Stephen King fan, I gobble up pretty much everything he writes. King steers in a little different direction in INSOMNIA than many of his other novels by adding in some sci-fi bits. The character developments are, as always, riviting. The story starts off a little slow but still interesting. Setting the supernatural stuff aside, this book is about second chances. You won't be disappointed if you give it a chance!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Everyone should read this book it was amazing and one of those books you just couldnt stop reading
DavGrn More than 1 year ago
Like Roland says in the dark tower series this book seems tricksie. I've read almost everything that Stephen King has written and I find myself returning to this novel to provide insights into other novels that he ha written. I love it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book surprised me. It was much better than expected and any true Stephen King fan will love it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked the book but have read better from king. Overall it held my interest but lagged at times.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. One of the big things that i enjoyed was the old age of the main characters. Its not everyday you read a story about an old man and woman saving the day. This book kept me hooked from page one.
DavesMuse More than 1 year ago
I am not really a fan of Stephen King; I tried to get through several of his other books but could not. SK is a magnificent, well-crafted writer, and I will have to reconsider reading his books after reading “Insomnia”. It is great. Anyone who writes as I do, would also like to read his short book On Writing ... “Insomnia” was well worth the time spent in his world.
KevinDee More than 1 year ago
I would rate this novel 3.5 stars. Going by the title and description I was thinking this book was going to be more of a psychological thriller than the strange scifi category I would put it in. It started off great and the character development is outstanding (like all of King's novels) but there were points in this story where the plot just got flat out ridiculous. I mean fighting a dwarf underground with an elderly woman's pair of panties in order to get a magical ring? cmon... it seemed like King ran out of ideas towards the end of this one. Putting the strange parts aside, the rest of this was a great read. But It is not one I will be reading again.
jameson812 More than 1 year ago
This book like most of Kings books is better understood if you read ALL of his work. Insomnia is loosley linked to the Dark Tower series which I have not read but was lucky enough to know someone who did. You dont have to read this series to understand this book but from what I have heard it helps. Its still a wonderful story if you can follow it. I have actually read it twice now and enjoyed it equally well both times.
Kingreaders More than 1 year ago
I've read over 20 Stephen King books, but this one was very boring. The characters were good but the story line was lame. The ending was ok. I would not recommend this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book because I had insomnia at the time. I will fully admit that this book starts a bit slow, but when it gets going...look out!! I can say that despite knowing that this is only a scarry story, I am completely terrified. My baby girl has lost a shoe!!! Thank you Mr. King, I now have insomnia again!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cool read...as usual. In book VII of the dark tower series this book is called a keystone by the tet corporation...of course Roland refuses to bring it back to Fedic...he doesnt trust it if it do ya and we all say thankya.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A loyal and sweet older man in his late 70's that he for some reason has been chosen to save the town. Stephen King has done it again. Romantic, full of suspense, nail biting frightful and full of hope. How does he do it? I must admit the first one hundred pages were a slow start for me (which is unusual wig S King) however, once I got thru that I just had to keep reading to find out what this man was going to do next. When the last page was read, I kept looking for another, very disappointed there wasn't anymore to read. This is always the case with any of Stephen King's books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed this novel when it was first published. I often find myself thinking back to it. . . fondly. I'm a King fan, but even so, this novel remains more vivid to me than most of the novels I have read (King's included).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book. Read it 3 times now
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love almost all book of King. But not this one. It is really REALLY boring....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is so book is so boring i barely got threw it.....i had to read it or i was gonna get grounded so ' ' !!!DO NOT READ THIS BOOK!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Is this book in spanish because the description is?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book, and as a Dark Tower fan I love the links to Mid-World. I give it 4 stars because the editing isn't great. Lots of missing punctuation and strange words. If you can handle that, though, its a wonderful read.