×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Into the Storm (Destroyermen Series #1)
     

Into the Storm (Destroyermen Series #1)

4.2 110
by Taylor Anderson
 

See All Formats & Editions

Pressed into service when World War II breaks out in the Pacific, the US Walker?a Great War-era destroyer?finds itself retreating from pursuing Japanese battleships. Its captain, Lieutenant Commander Matthew Patrick Reddy, desperately leads the Walker into a squall, hoping it will give them cover?only to emerge into an alternate world. A world where two species

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Into the Storm (Destroyermen Series #1) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 110 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
At the onset of World War II, the desperate allies put into the navy several warships that have seen their better days. Commander Matthew Reddy leads one of them a destroyer that he fears will fail. When the enemy engages his vessel, Matthew realizes how helpless they are he orders his men to steer into the eye of a nasty storm to elude their foes.--------------- However, Matthew fully understands what it means to jump from the frying pan into the fire when the storm abates he and his crew find themselves in a world where dinosaurs live and humans are non existent. However Matthew learns of two sentient races at war each side demands he join them as his junk ship is superior by far to what either side possesses. -------------- With a nod to Star Trek and DC comics, INTO THE STORM is an engaging military science fiction parallel earth thriller. The story line is fast-paced and filled with plenty of action. On the plausible side is this alternate earth with dinosaurs and sentient races and the crew entering the ¿portal¿ on the doubtful column is the impact of a broken down destroyer on a world war (potential technological leaps in the long run aside). Still fans will appreciate Taylor Anderson¿s fine tale.----------- Harriet Klausner
Bronze_Barbarian More than 1 year ago
I am totally blown away by Taylor Anderson's tale here - this rivals another of my favorite series, the Empire of Man Series by David Weber & John Ringo (March Upcountry, March to the Sea, March to the Stars, We Few). Every bit the epic story as their series was, but with a more 'grounded' quality (no spaceships in this one) and less 'space opera' to it. But the battles, the human dramas, the character development, the inter-species relationships, and the sheer...adventure of it, has few equals. I love this series and have already finished the second book and am 1/2 way through the third. Move over, Mr. Weber and Mr. Ringo (and Mr. Drake), you now have a new peer...overall, a SUPERB example of the military sci-fi genre and a real Keeper!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Incredible book, I couldn't put it down! Can't wait for book 2 the 'Crusade' to come out in October. I think it is refreshing for a new author to skillfully combine WWII descriptions, men, boats and planes together with a different dimension, monsters and race, but still make it flow effortlessly together into a fast paced great read! This well told tale is obviously a great candidate for Peter Jackson or George Lucas to put on the big screen. His author's notes on several items in the book were great.
JMT More than 1 year ago
If you love well researched history, riviting action, adventure, well developed characters that stay true to te end, and yes,sci fi, this is your book.

A great read with all the necessary ingredients. Try it, you will love it. This reader does.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book in one night and paid for it the next day. Looking forward to the next book. To the author.. well done.
Aelius More than 1 year ago
Anderson has created a fascinating alternate world with two races of non-human sentient beings who are involved in a death struggle. Into this alien world falls an American destroyer from the Asiatic fleet in the early, desperate days of World War II. The use of an obsolete destroyer from the early 1940s was a great idea. No jets flying off a modern day aircraft carrier; just some modest sized guns on a beat-to-hell ship. Anderson does a nice job of filling in some details of the Lemurian society, which gives the book a realistic feel. Why not five stars? A few reasons. The lemurs are intelligent, fair-minded, inquisitive and peaceful at heart. The Grik are evolved raptors who have gained intelligence but lost none of the viciousness that marked their ancient ancestors. They are the epitome of evil. That is perhaps not far-fetched, but it is rather predictable. There is virtually no description of Grik society other than they are evil killers. It isn't clear that they have language, although they clearly must. The only true criticism is that everything is a bit too convenient. Need oil? No problem. Just happen to have picked up an Australian oil engineer and there are two crew members who worked on the Texas oil rigs. Can't speak to the Lemurians? No problem. They can learn English in about a week. These are really minor criticisms, and don't really detract from the overall quality of the book.
akibono More than 1 year ago
It is a revisitation and a mix of the concepts of parallel universes and alternate realities with a new twist. The lemurs of Madagascar became self-aware and intelligent. The "Storm" has taken ships and mariners across the divide since time began. Dinosaurs and other ancient life forms evolved and co-habit in this new-old world. One thing remains unchanged; war not only between humans but now also involving non-humans.
JCC62 More than 1 year ago
I am a WWII buff and I find historical inaccuracies very distracting to a story line. Taylor Anderson has made a commendable effort to remain true to historical accuracy as well as writing a very entertaining story. This is a good vacation book, rainy day book, etc. I highly recommend this book and its sequels.
NorthDakotaGhost More than 1 year ago
I like that Anderson uses an old obsolete destroyer and not a super modern aircraft carrier. It makes for a more interesting story.
offtrack 16 days ago
great until you get to end of sample, you pay and now is this silly childs fairy tale, with tails. sad. (served on one, I did) Like the Star Trek movie ,with NEXUS,
Barsoomian More than 1 year ago
A very good read. Found this by happy accident. Just finished the first book and immediately purchased the second books and started reading (in preference to a long list of books already on my reading list). Well done Mr. Anderson!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Galkor_Flint More than 1 year ago
If you like science fiction books, and you want a good series to read, then the Destroyermen is the series you should be reading. Starting out in World War 2, and under pursuit of the Japanese Navy, Uss Walker and Mohan Head into a squall for protection. But something happens when they are in the squall and though the land is familiar, they are in a new world unknown to them. As they begin to come to terms with the way this new world works, they enter into a new war, not for just freedom, but their very survival.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
And when I say "alternate history" with this author's books, I mean REALLY alternate. The divergence point in this world takes place 65 million years ago. I can't say more without giving the gaffe away completely, but you may be able to guess. In any case, a pair of vintage World War I American destroyers, while fighting a more modern Japanese ship, slide through a spacial warp and emerge in a parallel universe -- with much more dangerous enemies. Fortunately, there are also allies here; but the American destroyermen will still have a terrible fight for survival ahead. The reading goes at a good speed, and there's very little to slow it down, not enough to justify a lower star rating in my opinion. Recommended for history buffs, of course, but also for others looking for a good action yarn, the first of a long series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago