×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Star Wars: Dawn of the Jedi: Into the Void
     

Star Wars: Dawn of the Jedi: Into the Void

3.6 49
by Tim Lebbon
 

See All Formats & Editions

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

On the planet Tython, the ancient Je’daii order was founded. And at the feet of its wise Masters, Lanoree Brock learned the mysteries and methods of the Force—and found her calling as one of its most powerful disciples. But as strongly as the Force flowed within Lanoree and her parents, it remained absent in her

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Star Wars: Dawn of the Jedi: Into the Void 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 49 reviews.
Brainiac2112 More than 1 year ago
This book was a fun and easy read. Although I wouldn't rate it as exceptional, it is a welcome addition to the Star Wars universe. Lanoree Brock is an interesting character. I would like to see her develop through additional stories. Keep in mind that this book covers events that takes place 20,000-plus years prior to anything else that has thus far been chronicled for Star Wars. It's worth the read.
Anonymous 8 months ago
Anonymous 11 months ago
I absolutely loved this book. All the family drama of a star wars story, with plenty of action and a fast read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It has a great start and really draws you into the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Charizard More than 1 year ago
A complex and compelling Star Wars novel (a spoiler-free review). Dawn of the Jedi is a complex, entertaining, fascinating, and compelling story of the ancient beginnings of what will become the familiar Star Wars universe. That complexity doesn’t always pay off, and at times I felt alienated and confused. But it’s always refreshing when Star Wars publishing takes risks! It’s got a lot going for it, and while I was not 100% satisfied, I was at least engaged. The story’s strong suits are its two major characters, Lanoree and Dalien Brock. The conflict between these two siblings really drives the plot and can pull the reader through the convoluted story elements. Lanoree is an extremely well-crafted female protagonist, who is undeniably good although she straddles the fence of light and dark. The idea of a antagonist who is not just another Sith Lord with daddy issues but instead is compelled to seek his destiny among the stars is a nice change of pace and really works in this case. Furthermore, the book does a good job establishing its sidekick, mentor, droid, spaceship, and home planet. George Lucas fanboys might even be pleasantly surprised by the inclusion and repurposing of his Ashla and Bogan ideas as the moons of said planet, Tython. Despite its strengths, Dawn of the Jedi’s peripheral elements are distracting at times. Someone picking up this novel because it takes place early in the Legends timeline may not discover the helpful comic material published by Dark Horse that really enhance the immense amount of new worldbuilding taking place in this new era of Star Wars storytelling. Without reading the Dawn of the Jedi comics, the Tho Yor concept and the various planets in the Tythan system might just be a bit much to grasp. There’s little doubt that had the sale to Disney not taken place, we would have seen this era receive the attention needed to flesh out the ideas introduced in this novel – but that’s an exchange I’ll make any day. As a novel, this one is good, especially if you’re willing to sink your teeth in. It’s certainly a wild ride!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Took some time getting used to the fact that she carried a sword and not a lightsaber but a a good read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing story
terhick More than 1 year ago
Ugh!!! I am not sure why Star Wars has this as their first book in the Star Wars Novel Timeline. I wanted to like this book. I wanted to be a fan of the series but this disappointed me. I finally had to abandon this book. Should I continue the series in hopes the next book will help my disappointment? There was nothing to hang on to. It just didn't go anywhere and I was wondering when I would feel the adventure. I felt like I was reading someone's homework or thesis paper. Pretty bad huh? Imagine how I felt. I hate writing bad reviews because I'm such a positive person. Forgive me. ;(
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoying the books more than the movies. More information than the big screens can show.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm a huge Star Wars nerd and I like the Dawn of the Jedi comic, but I really struggled to get through this book unfortunately. It basically has nothing to do with the comic series aside from the setting and I just could not get into the story or the characters at all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Incredibly disappointing read. It's not about the dawn of the Jedi, but the dawn of light speed. This story could have been so much better had it been written by an author with more imagination. Drew Karpyshyn would have been golden for this one. I suggest skipping this one if you're not new to the SW Universe. Trust me, you won't miss much.
Autlycus More than 1 year ago
Are there any more novels in this series (not graphic novels)?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It kept my interest and I highly enjoyed it. Can't wait until the next book in this series is released.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I never thought I would find a Star Wars book I didn't like but I finaly did. It was hard for me to read this book, it just did not engage me the way it should have. You could have just as easily written this as a generic sci fi novel and it probably would have been a better read, and thst is just a crying shame. I had fairly high hopes for this book, here we have a whole 20000 years before A New Hope and the mythos that birthed the Jedi order. And I honestly have never been so dissapointed. This book had such huge potential to open up a previously untaped resource of history and good versus evil and it just turned into a typical soap opera sci fi drama between brother and sister.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
KirbyMA More than 1 year ago
This book was awful. I was hoping to start reading Star Wars from the beginning of the Jedi Order but this is a completely irrelevant and poorly written beginning. The book is 400 pages, but actually ends on the 298th page and the rest are excerpts from other Star Wars books. The writing was poor and spliced together two short stories that could have had some really promising elements if the author had any sort of imagination. The fact that this author wrote a book that became a New York Times Bestseller astounds me. Skip this book! There is no reason to read it and ten reasons not to.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago