×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Invasion (Animorphs Series #1)
     

The Invasion (Animorphs Series #1)

4.6 111
by K. A. Applegate
 

See All Formats & Editions


The wildly popular series by K.A. Applegate is back! The first six books of Animorphs return, with striking new lenticular covers that morph.

The Earth is being invaded, but no one knows about it. When Jake, Rachel, Tobias, Cassie, and Marco stumble upon a downed alien spaceship and its dying pilot, they're given an incredible power -- they can transform into

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Invasion (Animorphs Series #1) 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 111 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read every single Animorphs book during the months they were released back in grade school/middle school. They are utterly fantastic books for younger kids. The story is compelling and there's plenty of action, witty banter between the characters, and emotion put forth. Animorphs was my favorite book series for a long time, and I'm very happy that they have decided to reprint these.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is well written and very exciting. I would definately recommend it to anyone who loves fantasy or sci-fi
Mela08 More than 1 year ago
Like other reviewers, I loved this series in middle school. There is quite a lot of action. The storylines of several characters take unexpected, but interesting turns. I would recommend this for any young reader.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
K.A Applegate has written what I consider to be one of THE best series of books. It does not matter if you're a kid or an adult. There is enough complexity, fun and adventure here to get anyone's imaginative jucies flowing. If you are a parent I recomend you introduce your child to this series. If you are a kid/youth looking for something excellent you just found it. My hat's off to Ms Applegate for giving us these wonderful books. If only more authors who gear their books toward young people were as concientious and original in their writings we would have so much less of the second-rate ripped-off nonsense we see too much of today. Like Twain and Alcott, fifty years from now we will remember the name Applegate. Read her books and you'll see why.
Alec VanLandingham More than 1 year ago
I actually read this for a book project. I had to read a sci-fi book. I'm wasn't much of a sci-fi person, so I thought it would be kind of boring. I WAS WRONG! This was one of those book that you just can't put down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read these books (most of them) a while ago. I loved them. I'm so happy to see that they are becoming ebooks, when I read them they were between "out-of-print" and "oh-we're redoing-the-covers-and-selling-them-again" so I couldn't find any of them. I found a library with almost all of them and just kept reading. Sci-Fi fans, especially young ones will love these. I know people of up to thirteen who read them, however, and ages honestly don't hinder your enjoyment. I would even recomend them to older teens, who remember when the setting for "Animorphs" was the norm for a kid's life, minus the aliens. Read at least one, before you make any judgements on whether it is a kids book.
Jeffrey Blackwell More than 1 year ago
If you want a good book then you have to read this you can't put it down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
How do you morph? I want to become a animorph because i think that my grandpa ( on my moms side ) is a controller
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hope the rest are released. At least on ebook. Great series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read these books years ago and was so excited to find them in ebook format. My day just got way better.
Berlitz_Legit More than 1 year ago
<They have come to destroy you.> -Elfangor's warning of the coming Yeerk invasion. Animorphs was a rather popular children's series when I was a kid. Having read them when I was younger, I got so caught up in the story that I knew I just had to relive it someday. So with the re-release I'm taking on a mission, now about 10 years later to perhaps reminisce with the feelings that the series brought as well as gain a new found appreciation for the series that I did not have before. Hopefully they get it in ereader format, but knowing Scholastic... not a chance (but one can hope). The major premise of Invasion, the first book of the series, is five ordinary teenagers take a shortcut one night into an abandoned construction site where they meet an alien Andalite named Elfangor. He reveals that their world is now under invasion by a species of parasitic mind controlling slugs called Yeerks. Intense news for a group of teens huh? Well it gets more intense when the alien charges them with responsibility for saving the entire human race! But the teens are not powerless in their mission. Elfangor gives them a power to fight back against the Yeerks, a technology that only the Andalites possess. The ability to morph into animals!!! Book 1 Invasion did a really good job at introduces all the main characters of the story. Jake, Rachel, Cassie, Marco, and Tobias all have very distinct, very different personalities, and Applegate does a superb job at distinguishing them all based on their feelings towards particular events, actions, feelings etc. remaining true to each characters inner compass. Applegate liters the book with references to popular television shows, video games, slang, and teen troubles, that really allow the group of Animorphs, as they come to be known, to be rather relatable, that they are just normal kids wrapped up in an extraordinary circumstance. The first book goes through the process of defining their enemy: the Yeerks, who are led by the evil and cruel Visser Three, and his cast of alien and human allies. The book defines their morphing ability an the process to which they acquire animals and the particular rules and drawbacks of morphing (i.e. clothing issues, time limits). And give them their first confrontation that will shape their resolve for the battle against the Yeerks, but unfortunately not without consequences. A good quick first book introduction. I am looking forward to getting through the series, and hope they re-print more than the first six.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
These are the top 10 best Animorphs books: 10) The Separation #32 9) The Conspiracy #31 8)The Message #4 7)The Exposed #27 6) The Invasion #1 5) The Stranger #7 4) The Secret #9 3)The Change #13 2)The Reaction #12 1) The Departure #19
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This serise is awesome
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great so far. My favorite character is Rachel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read the paperback that i borrowed from EH and loved it. Poor Tobias. He was my favorite
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was shocked to hear there were changes, But i'm glad too see some of my childhood heros returning for a new generation to enjoy.I will definetly be buying all of these.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The whole idea was preety cool, the only thing is Jakes brother is still a controller.
Sanchay More than 1 year ago
I would eat these books up when I was younger. Unfortunately my library didn't have the entire series, so I had to stop around the 30s. Since there are minor rewrites, I ended up uploading PDFs of the original text and comparing them for fun. I'm highly curious what they're going to do with the books that involve internet references and other things of this nature, as obviously 1990s versus 2010s is an insanely huge jump in technology. Just food for thought, I guess... The only reason I didn't give full five is my artist's desire for animal transformations being anatomically accurate. Merely personal preference.
MattR1903 More than 1 year ago
KA Applegate creates a storyin which a teen or pre-teen can put themselves in. The beauty of it is that she never mentions a place, so your child can use their imagination and play the story out in your very town. Motifs of courage, morality, evil, good, family life, and sacrifice all play out in this wonderful series. The only problem readers might have is that some of the humor and comic-book references she uses in the story may be outdated.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is good even though i am not into the whole science thing but it is still a good book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
who dosent like it i love it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome!
Henry Larweh More than 1 year ago
Awesome and exciting.
Maria Ansilio More than 1 year ago
I remember this book series from back in grade school. I never read the series in order but the library had a bunch of randomly selected ones. I loved them back then and i cant wait to read them again, starting from the beginning. My only question is if the new books are exactly the same as the old ones... :3
Misty Tinsley More than 1 year ago
I have read this and it is the best book ever!