×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Invincible (Chronicles of Nick Series #2)
     

Invincible (Chronicles of Nick Series #2)

4.4 564
by Sherrilyn Kenyon
 

See All Formats & Editions

The second novel in the new teen series, The Chronicles of Nick, a spin-off from the blockbuster Dark-Hunter series--from #1 New York Times bestselling author Sherrilyn Kenyon

Nick Gautier's day just keeps getting better and better.

Yeah, he survived the zombie attacks, only to wake up and find himself enslaved to a world of shapeshifters and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Invincible 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 564 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've devoured SK's Dark/Dream/Were Hunter novels and was thrilled to see her planning to delve into Nick's past. I have a 14 year old son, myself, and I love introducing him to characters I love (Harry Potter, anyone?). I knew that all the steamy stuff in the DH books wouldn't go over well with him (or with ME thinking about HIM reading sex scenes) but... I'm just not sure how much he's gonna "get" by reading this 'cold'. *I* had no problem picking right up on Nicky's story. I knew right away who Ambrose was, curious what Nekoda might be up to, picked up on the name-dropping as related to squire families, etc... I just don't know how a(n) SK 'virgin' won't be pretty confused for most of the first book and half of the second. All that said-- I did like both of them so far... and look forward to #3! Go Nicky, we're rootin' for ya!
AdultReadingYA More than 1 year ago
I have read the entire Dark Hunter series and the entire Chronicles of Nick series. I have to say that first off this book seems short to me. I wanted much more. I also thought that this book has two purposes. One purposes is to progress the overall Dark Hunter story and introduce new characters. The other purpose is to tell the story of Nick as a child. These two purposes do not come together in a cohesive way. Part of the book is spent discussing what Nick is and why things happened they way they did. The other part of the book is this football coach story. The second part only serves to push the characters into confessions they didn't seem to want to make. I would appreciate if she could tie in the current experiences with how they shape Nick's future a little better.
harstan More than 1 year ago
New Orleans high school student Nick Gautier has not had an easy laid-back life as he and his mom live in abject poverty while his father resides in prison convicted of murder. He attends a private school, but has no friends as he fails to fit in with the affluent social scene. Until yesterday Nick assumed he was a normal disenchanted teenage outcast. His perspective was devastated when he learned that the supernatural exist. His boss is a Dark Hunter and near the place where his mom strips, shapeshifters surrounded him. Nick has powers though in the embryonic stage, but two sides want him, dead or alive. The Meloch, his Uncle Ambrose guides him to make the right choice. Nick fears what his Uncle Ambrose teaches him in the use of his powers. The demon Caleb and the Chthonian Xenon are Nick's guardians who try to steer him to make the right choices. Xenon, known as Kody helps Nick try to stop a demon from slaughtering people. Now if they somehow survive he hopes she will be his girlfriend, but then again he hopes not. The latest Chronicles of Nick in his teenage urban fantasy (see Infinity) is a creative intriguing off shoot of the Dark Hunter Saga similar in concept to the F, Paul Wilson's Young repairman Jack series. Nick is a good soul, but the dark powers want to turn him to manipulate him to assault humanity. While unanswered questions remain, fans will want to know how his destiny plays out especially if this freshman finally gets a girl who is not trying to kill him? With an action-packed story line, Sherrilyn Kenyon's fans of all ages will enjoy Nick's efforts to survive high school and a world turned paranormally upside down. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Better for the younger crowd. I love the series in which the character Nick was born. However this series is for the teens.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Taken directly from Sherrilyn Kenyon's Website Just when he thought things couldn't get any worse... Nick Gautier's day just keeps getting better and better. Yeah, he survived the zombie attacks, only to wake up and find himself enslaved to a world of shapeshifters and demons out to claim his soul. His new principal thinks he's even more of a hoodlum than the last one, his coach is trying to recruit him to things he can't even mention and the girl he's not seeing, but is, has secrets that terrify him. But more than that, he's being groomed by the darkest of powers and if he doesn't learn how to raise the dead by the end of the week, he will become one of them...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The spelling of Kody perioticly changed to Cody. Also you switch points of veiw without any indication that you are doing so. This book really confused me.
Reading_Aries More than 1 year ago
I was unable to stop reading this!! This book has what ever you want: Comedy, Horror, Mystery, Action, Romance, and much more! This book kept me up at night and I couldnt rest untill I finnished it. Nick is one of those characters that make you laugh so loud that people around you think "What is wrong with person!?" I have enjoyed and almost ate the book *wink*. As nick grows stronger and becomes more self aware he also gets closer to Nekoda (aka Kody). Lots of new characters are featured and Death himself comes to pay Nick a visit. Even Nick's mom gets another chance in life and begins to make something of herself. While Nick stuggles to learn to controle his powers we see a whole new side of Ambrose who reveals why he really came to the past and hints at some other events in the future. My favorite lines from this book were: "I know this clown," Grim said in an evil tone. "He keeps teasing me with these near death experiences. One day, I'm going to take his butt down even when I'm not supposed to. You can't keep knocking on my door and then slamming it im my face. It's just not right." Lol even Death has a sences of humor!!! Ayway I totally recomend this book to any fantasy fan and to the fans of all the other genres that I listed before. But before reading this book you have to read the first in the series Called: Infinity. You have to read this!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I give this book a 5 star because of the never ending epicness, all the time life lessons, and the romance every other paragraph. Get This Book Right Away!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its for young readers but when my mom said he didnt like the sex stuff in it i just laughed! I loved her book bad moom rising and love the chronicles of nick! Im 13 and love to read but my friend doesnt. When i gave him this book he didnt want to give it back! He read like he was playing a video game so that just tells how good it is! Love much, CAM
Meggsy104 More than 1 year ago
Ok, so for you who are familiar if Sherrilyn Kenyon's books you may be a little disappointed. Its Nick how Nick should have been but there are differences. There is still the odd sexual tension but on a teenage level which even though I just got out of that stage in my life, I still feel a little creepy reading about a girl wanting to do a 14 year old, but that's just me. The book isn't as informative as all her other books and of course just like the 1st book in this series, the end is pretty epic. You still hear from Acheron and Kyrian, but mostly it goes around Nick and all the forces trying to win him over. All around it is a good read and has some super funny/witty Nick humor in it, so over all its a 7. For those who are NOT familiar with Sherrilyn Kenyon's books this will probably be a good book. But seeing as your haven't read her other books how would you know?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's way too good! Hooked and I can't let go. Love the series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very addicting
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love all the Dark Hunter series and am now completely hooked on this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
    
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome sequel :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love having my family and friends together in one place
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
great
Anonymous More than 1 year ago