×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Invitation
  • Alternative view 1 of The Invitation
  • Alternative view 2 of The Invitation
     

The Invitation

3.9 17
by Oriah
 

See All Formats & Editions

Shared by word of mouth, e-mailed from reader to reader, recited over the radio, and read aloud at thousands of retreats and conferences, "The Invitation" has changed the lives of people everywhere. In this bestselling book, Oriah expands on the wisdom found within her beloved prose poem, which presents a powerful challenge to all who long to live an authentic life

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Invitation 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is THE book of books. My introduction to this book has changed my perception of the world and myself in it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Have just ordered however the recent featured book of hours for autumn which follows both the monestic days readings and church seasons a structured book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
You can NOT read this book in one sitting. The teaching and the life truths that you learn are so emotionally drawing, that you must take reflection breaks. If your heart is hurting and your soul has been crushed - turn to this book for a hope that is shared from the most intimate portions of a woman's pain and joy. It is one of those books where you will be wishing you had read it... 'before' the circumstances in your life tested you beyond belief. The author is a physician of the human spirit - she proposes not only a diagnosis... but cures. She brought me the medicine. Thank you Oriah.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Until, I read this book I thought there to be no hope on my path. I have given myself up so many times to help others achieve their inner most desires. This book gave me the strength to reach inside and unlock so many cages. It will inspire you to balance, it will catapult you into a realm of living you thought only existed in fairy tales. Oriah has shared the very core of her being to heal others and for that she is a blessing but she has choosen not to be in disguise.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book is written from the viewpoint of real experience. It is worth the price.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was driving the one hour home from work the other night listening to public radio out of washington, DC. There was an interview with Oriah Mountain Dreamer about her book, THE INVITATION, and I was mesmerized. I pulled over, got out a pen and tried to put down some inspiring quotes. I am facilitating a personal growth group for a group of Jewish Women at my temple tonight, 1/9/00. I was searching for ideas to get this diverse group to a more spiritual connection. Suddenly it all fell into place. Instead of going to Sabbath Services that night, I took a detour and went to the book store and found, THE INVITATION. I read for 3 hours and then bought the book. I am reconnecting to my own temporarily lost center as a result of reading it. My husband was even willing to listen to several chapters. It is an important book, so honest, so inspiring. ( I want to contact Oriah to ask about something she said in the interview but cannot find her address on the internet.........can anyone help?)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Please don't put the entire book in your review. We would like to read it too. Duhhhhhhhhhhhh
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ms. Oriah Mountain Dreamer has created a pathway beyond the comforable and the mundane into that which challenges and repels you. By addressing the edges of your personality and sensitivities, you can build on and extend your awareness and your reality in honest ways that better fit your inner self. The book is propelled from the author's emotionally intense vision of her life as expressed in this question: 'Did I love well?' Although her personal examples are simply there to help your own journey, their poignancy touched me deeply. If you are like me, you will admire the honesty and openness of her sharing. Ms. Dreamer has had two failed marriage and many failed relationships. She has had friends who experienced horrible personal setbacks. You will be seared by the pain, the truth, and the beauty in these experiences. And you will be the better for the vicarious experience. Above all, this book is a call to have courage, courage to go beyond the comfortable into the important. Because of the examples chosen and her personal perspective, this book will probably speak more eloquently to many women than to many men. The book is broken down into the statement of her invitation to follow her spiritual path by dealing with longing, fear, sorrow, joy, betrayal, beauty, failure, commitment, and fire to develop the deep sustenance to allows you to go to your true inner home. Each section contains personal experiences of her point, and ends with valuable meditation exercises to help you find your own 'truth' in these areas. Although the book sounds like another New Age tract, it is actually anti-New Age in many ways . . . especially in favoring emotional and physical reality over spiritual vagueness. Here is a little of what she has to say on these subjects: Accepting the Invitation: ' . . . [Y]ou will experience, not just read about, the ache, the sorrow, the joy, the courage, the peace . . . .' The Longing: 'This is what I ask for: intimacy with myself, others, and the world . . . .' The Fear: 'We are afraid we will not be enough.' ' . . . [D]esire . . . brings the ecstasy of falling more deeply in love with my own life every day . . . .' The Sorrow: 'If we are strong enough to be weak enough, we are given a wound that never heals.' '[That wound] is the gift that keeps the heart open.' The Joy: 'The enemy of joy is the litany of 'not good enough' . . . .' The Betrayal: 'Sometimes, to choose life, we must break agreements; sometimes we must keep them although they are hard to keep.' The Beauty: ' . . . [G]ratitude expands my ability to receive beauty.' 'It is what pulls us towards life.' The Failure: ' . . . [O]ften an attempt to avoid the paralysis of shame.' The Commitment: ' . . . [F]eed the children when [they] thought they could not.' The Fire: '[D]ifficult to keep our hearts open, to feel the fear and pain.' Finding Our Way Home: 'Are you willing to meet yourself and not turn away from what you are?' As you can see, Ms. Dreamer sets a high standard, but one that you will probably be proud to match. I particularly recommend the meditations in the book. My own meditation routine repeats the same process. I found it rewarding to use different methods. Many new thoughts occurred to me as a result. It was a deeply moving experience in each case. After you have finished your spiritual journey with this book as a guide, I suggest that you write out your own examples to match these topics from your own experience. This will make the material more accessible, especially if loving well is not your core reason for being. Be yourself, in more ways and more fully! Donald Mitchell, co-author of The Irresistible Growth Enterprise and The 2,000 Percent Solution