×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Iron Lake (Cork O'Connor Series #1)
  • Alternative view 1 of Iron Lake (Cork O'Connor Series #1)
  • Alternative view 2 of Iron Lake (Cork O'Connor Series #1)
     

Iron Lake (Cork O'Connor Series #1)

3.9 720
by William Kent Krueger
 

See All Formats & Editions

New York Times bestselling author William Kent Krueger joined the ranks of today's best suspense novelists with this thrilling, universally acclaimed debut. Conjuring "a sense of place he's plainly honed firsthand in below-zero prairie" (Kirkus Reviews), Krueger brilliantly evokes northern Minnesota's lake country—and reveals the dark side of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Iron Lake (Cork O'Connor Series #1) 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 720 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Iron Lake is the first book in the Cork O' Conner series; and is a mystery and suspense book all in one. First the author starts the book off with a childhood story about Cork and what fate 'Windigo'(an Indian term for something awful) gives you if you experience it. Then Krueger brings you into a story about a judge who commits suicide, but you will eventually find out he was murdered. Then, Krueger goes into many chapters just describing the lives of his characters and how they relate to one another. The author likes to lead the reader on so they will keep reading. He then ends with an explosive ending you could never perceive. I hope you will enjoy this book as much as I did. It's amazing.
katMN More than 1 year ago
This was an amazing book that could not be put down. Cork ia an awesome character that keeps you on edge, you never really know what he might do next. I can hardly wait to read the next book. This book and author is simply amazing and I would recommend it to everyone.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The characters are so real you feel like you get to know them!
JUSTme54LS More than 1 year ago
Too much vulgar language and explicit sex for my taste. I will not be purchasing another book by this author. He ruined a good plot with the distracting language. Certainly not in the same league with John Grisham or David Baldacci!
Donna_L More than 1 year ago
I was into this book from the first chapter. Well written, well developed characters. I would read the whole series, but I am shocked at the prices for ebooks in comparison to the printed copies. I'm almost tempted to go back to the printed version.
evanescenceSE More than 1 year ago
this is a good start to a promising story. I can't wait to read the next
bearpawsminn More than 1 year ago
Having lived in MN these settings remind me of home. I was just introduced to this author and enjoying it very much...I was surprised that I would find another author with great mysteries written with Minnesota as the background settings and police attitudes as John Sanford Both authors are excellent reads
pandapoo701 More than 1 year ago
Just started reading books by this author and really enjoyed this series of books. I like to read this type of book and always enjoy finding a new author to read.
lindaAL More than 1 year ago
If you like American Indian history, this is the book for you. It was a decent read, but I don't really like alot of historical mixed in with my mysteries.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved the story.Cork is a real person, guilty of his share of mistakes but a man who obviously loves his family. The seperation was his wifes idea the reasons for will be apparent as you get further into the story. The only exception I have is the authors handling of the character of Jo who is Cork's wife. She is a hypocrite who takes an active role in her church at same time betraying Cork as she breaks a major commandent of the church. In the dialouge between Jo and Cork she is never taken to task for her decption. As a matter of fact she seems to put Cork on the defensive regarding her betrayal. That said I would still reccomend this book.
SlapShot62 More than 1 year ago
Mystery, suspense, great imagery, deep characters, sharp twists/turns - this first effort in the Cork O'Connor series has it all.   Not only is this a great novel, but one can see where Krueger is laying the foundation for future installments, primarily through character development.   O'Connor is an everyman kind of good guy - flawed, yet tough and determined.    Somewhat similar to the Longmire character of Craig Johnson - so if you like those books, rush to start reading these as well.   No doubt I'll continue with this series in the very near future.   
BerylSBissell More than 1 year ago
Consistently finding piles of William Kent Krueger’s mysteries in local bookstore, I decided that it was about time I discovered what the fuss was about. Start with his first book, I was advised and thus I met Corcoran “Cork” O’Connor, former sheriff of Aurora Minnesota as he negotiates (on his own) the devious world of small town politics and a brutal murder that will uncover conspiracy, corruption, and scandal that “hits painfully close to home.” A well-written and gripping Minnesota-based mystery.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
REALLY LIKED! gooood characters and mystery Gets a little spread out and diluted... there is alot going on... but I would def recommend it
Preymaster More than 1 year ago
One of the best books ive read in a while! Cant wait to delve deeper into the series.
pagemage More than 1 year ago
I highly recommend this book. Crime mystery is not really my genre, but this is great! I plan to get Northwest Angle by this author next.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I absolutly loved it and i want to read the boundary waters the sequel.
kamas716 More than 1 year ago
A wonderful introduction to this series. It reminds me a lot of Tony Hillerman's Jim Chee and Joe Leaphorn series, only set in northern Minnesota instead of the 4 corners area of the southwest. I highly recommend this entire series to people looking for some great mystery books.
THANKYOUSUSIE More than 1 year ago
I loved how the author wrote about the characters and how they all fit together. It was interesting and relatable. Good story keeps me wanting more and more of Cork O' Conner ( the main character). I appreciate that there was no blatant sexual content and very very few swear words. Keep up the good work
Debbie Personette More than 1 year ago
Can not put down for sure will next books
Sean_From_OHIO More than 1 year ago
William Kent Krueger’s first offering in the Cork O’Connor series is a good one. The author crafts an entire world in the small town of Aurora, Minnesota. With Native Americans, local white, and those stuck in the middle of those separate factions. The mysteries and crimes abound and you will not be able to figure all of them out ahead of time as the author does a great job of making the outcomes believable but unexpected. O’Connor, the main character, is really interesting but slightly hokey at times. Overall, the book was really good and I look forward to reading more in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The author created a beautiful mystery set against the cold winter and the warm Christmas holiday. The characters and plot were well-devised. Overall, a great read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like the character in the book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just looking for something new and came across the Cork O'Connor series andcouldn't stop. Having now read the whole series, Iron Lake set the stage for a really enjoyables series. O'Connor is a great character, and I've learned a lot about Northern Minnesota that I didn't know about. Couldn't put this one down, couldn't put any of them down !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book about the Minnesota northern woods. He brings in the Indian culture like Tony Hillerman does, though not as effectively. I noticed he doesn't mention the mosquitos, which are a serious menace.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After reading this first book in the Cork O'Conner series I'm hooked. William Kent Krueger is an exciting writer and I can't wait to start the next book.