×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Island 731
  • Alternative view 1 of Island 731
  • Alternative view 2 of Island 731
     

Island 731

3.9 64
by Jeremy Robinson
 

See All Formats & Editions

NO EVENT IN HISTORY COULD HAVE PREPARED HIM FOR THIS.

Mark Hawkins, former park ranger and expert tracker, is on board a research vessel on the Pacific. But his work is interrupted when the ship is plagued by a series of strange malfunctions and the crew is battered by a raging storm...

"Jeremy Robinson blends myth, science, and terminal-velocity action

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Island 731 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 64 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
WHY, WHY, WHY do certain people feel the need to go on and on about what they read, and reveal almost every important detail about a book when they are reviewing it? Reviewing is meant for the reader to rate the book and BRIEFLY describe why they did or did not like it. Each book, either hardcover or ebook has a synopsis that we can read ourselves, learning the outline of the plot. To selfishly spoil the story for other readers not only ruins it for them, but for the authors too since some will not purchase the book after knowing so much. I see this happening over and over. PLEASE, SAVE YOUR COMMENTARIES for your friends and stop spoiling it for the rest of us! Barnes & Noble should delete reviews that reveal too much. Click YES if you agree with this!
wandererDE More than 1 year ago
Please People! Too much revealed in a review really takes the wind out of the sails of interest in a book. I'm more interested in a reader's LEVEL OF ENTERTAINMENT AND THOUGHTS than learning exactly what's inside a book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Plot spoilers ruin a book, even when you say you arent big on spoilers. You kind of defeat the purpose there when you have already given away everything. Think about the other ppl and how just maybe we would like to read the book for ourselves, novel idea i know, and be surprised. We dont need you telling us everything that happens. Most of us with a nook can read and i daresay would rather read it for ourselves.
jennilynnJA More than 1 year ago
A really suspenseful and yes, as others have written Gripping tale.  There's no better word for it!!   I had heard of Unit 731 and so I figured the book would be based on that and wow was it ever.  As always,  Jeremy Robinson did not disappoint, I have been a fan for some time, and this new novel is by far one of my  favorites!!  Took me 2 days to read it and stayed up WAY too late last night but it was well worth the lost sleep time!  In a nutshell, Mark Hawkins is on a research ship; trying to help find evidence of biological issues that the trash heap is causing on life in the ocean around it.  the first few chapters are intense, as we are introduced to our main characters and learn a little about Mark, and his intensity.  The ship ends up in a cove, after it won't respond to commands and is sailing really on it's own after a storm.   Several crew to include Mark go ashore to look for a missing crew member that was taken from the ship, and find bodies..old ones but weird ones, and then as they look for their missing member, are attacked by weird creatures.  Back aboard ship, someone mentions that they are Chimera's and then the story unfolds from there.  I won't say more, because you have to read this one for yourself  (and i'm not big on spoilers) but all in all I absolutely loved this book and hope hope hope that there's a series here!! Would love to follow Mark further!!   This is one book I highly recommend!!! 
KGL More than 1 year ago
What can I say---5 STARS! Jeremy Robinson never fails to deliver! This one was a dark, suspenseful, mysterious trip into horror...based on the real history of Unit 731 and the atrocities they performed in WW2...taking it just a little further - what if the experiments had never stopped?????
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kinda like telling someone how a movie ends, how would you like it if someone told you the ending when you just started reading! Think before you type,assuming you are capable of thought.
Boatsm3 More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed the book....so much that I read it in 2 days. To me some of the stuff could really had happened. I would recommend it..
Farley1 More than 1 year ago
One of my favorite books so far by Jeremy, I could not put it down action from start to finish. This is a book you must read.
Kelnyg1 More than 1 year ago
Island 731 was an interesting and fun story. The 'creepies' are fantastic and definitely leave an impression, long after hearing about them. I don't know how Jeremy Robinson thinks up these things but I'm grateful he does.
T-Bones More than 1 year ago
Robinson packed this title with so many intense action scenes filled with creatures that I hope someday make it to the big screen, and possibly a toy store ... hint hint :0)
roxygurl More than 1 year ago
First time to try reading a book by this author, starting with SecondWorld (book was soooo predictable i just stopped reading it).  But gave this book a shot and I've really enjoyed reading the book!  It has all the elements of action, science, history, adventure.  It's an excellent summer read.  I'm not really done reading this book, but so far I am enjoying and looking forward to the end of the day when I can continue reading and finishing the book!  M looking forward to reading his next book XOM-B and hope it's as good if not better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An ok book. The first 100 or so pages could have been left out without taking anything away from the story.
Peligrie More than 1 year ago
I know how unlikely a hero that some characters and storylines can be sometimes and if the content was handled by a lesser author, I might not have enjoyed this book as much as I did. I had such a good time with the book that I've re-visited it three times since the first time. It's fun, interesting, and a kick butt creature feature story.  Loved it!
Mattyshack More than 1 year ago
Island 731 is not for the faint of heart. its got great character development and is a very spooky tale of Mark Hawkins and his crew. a research/clean up vessel called, the Magellan, is caught in a storm in the Pacific Ocean and is dumped on a uncharted island where mayhem ensues. if you love science, adventure, history, and just straight-up creepy stuff you will love this novel!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great author
Repeat_BandN_Customer More than 1 year ago
Excellent plot (5 stars), poor delivery ( 2 stars). This should make a great movie, but the book suffers from numerous distractingly unrealistic elements. The actions presented as admirably brash and impulsive, especially in the opening sequences, in real life would be incredibly stupid. The characterization is shallow, and the interplay doesn't ring true. The author tends to describe or explain events and people's reactions as an aside more than is appropriate instead of letting the story reveal these things. He also made easily avoided technical mistakes about one of the major weapons systems that plays a big part in the climax. The author boasts that he releases 5 or 6 novels a year; I think he should cut his pace and improve his quality.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a fantastic read! While some of the imagery was hard to visualize, this book was fast-paced and fun. Definitely beach worthy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nice twist on history
dogonit More than 1 year ago
His books never have a dull moment. I found the setting interesting and different. He likes what seemed like constant action. I found myself feeling like I had actually been along for the ride. The ending gave me the odd feeling that it was leading to more in future book/s.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book !!! I would highly recommend this and any books from JeremyRibinson!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Action packed from start to finish, make a great movie.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Non-stop action, imaginative inhabitants, plucky heroine, strong hero. What's not to like. Started reading this book and couldn't put it down. I've just recently discovered Jeremy Robinson and have read only a few of his books. I haven't been disappointed and am definitely going to get more.
BMK More than 1 year ago
I love this book. Another great read from Jeremy Robinson. Don't miss this one. A must read
YummyReader More than 1 year ago
Adventure, scary, awesome book!
howardg More than 1 year ago
It's so nice when one of your very favorite authors publishes more than once every year or two, and this book was no exception! It took a tad longer to get the story going, but once it did, the usual...I think I'll read just one more chapter - oh, it's 2 a.m. already?! Jeremy, if you enjoy writing these books as much as I enjoy reading them - with apologies to Casablanca...I think this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship!