×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Island of the Sequined Love Nun
     

Island of the Sequined Love Nun

4.1 128
by Christopher Moore
 

See All Formats & Editions

Take a wonderfully crazed excursion into the demented heart of a tropical paradise — a world of cargo cults, cannibals, mad scientists, ninjas, and talking fruit bats. Our bumbling hero is Tucker Case, a hopeless geek trapped in a cool guy's body, who makes a living as a pilot for the Mary Jean Cosmetics Corporation. But when he demolishes his boss's pink

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Island of the Sequined Love Nun 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 128 reviews.
Sean_From_OHIO More than 1 year ago
Only Christopher Moore could come up with this wacky masterpiece about tropical island cultures, organ theft, airline pilots, and cargo cults. Somehow Moore, once again, creates a world that is equal parts ridiculous and believable. I don't know if any other writer could even do something like this. Its twisted in such a perfect way. I would it if Moore revisited the Shark people in a future novel. Great stuff!!
starbird56 More than 1 year ago
This was not my favorite Christopher Moore work, but it was fun. An evening reading this book was relaxing and enjoyable. It was not deeply thoughtful, or laugh-out-loud funny, but it was fun.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As with all Christopher Moore books, this one was laugh out loud funny and poignant all at the same time. A must read for those who love to chortle at the absurd.
acschmitty More than 1 year ago
In all fairness, i have only read Lamb, Fool, The Stupidest Angel, and this one but it is nestled in the top for sure. Once again, Moore manages to to give so much heart and soul to his severely depraved and flawed lead character. The story is funny, the characters are well written and the plot advances and evolves quickly.
DeDeFlowers More than 1 year ago
Christopher Moore is a fabulous writer. All of his novels are so much fun! I really liked Island of the Sequined Love Nun. It was original, hilarious and thrilling. It was also an easy read. Basically, it is a perfect book for any time.
slatsdawson More than 1 year ago
In my humble opionion this is the best of all Christopher Moore's books and that is a powerful statement as he has written so many great books. I bought this copy for a friend and it is probably the 10th copy I've purchased since the books original release date way back when. Although this is an insanely funny story there is also an underlying story line sending a profound moral message. It would be very difficult to recommend any book over this one. Buy it, read it and enjoy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Whenever I finish reading something a bit heavy, I look for something a good deal lighter in my next read. I can always count on Christopher Moore to provide some laugh-out-loud material with outrageous characters and an even more outrageous plot. And as crazy as his characters and situations might be, he always seems to hit the nail on the head with common human emotions and thought processes--so I can identify with, yes, even an elderly island cannibal or a bunch of natives that worship a dead World War II pilot. Moore never disappoints!
APayne More than 1 year ago
this has to be one of the most twisted stories that I have read to date - he keeps you coming back for more - that's for sure!
Drewano 4 months ago
The first two Christopher Moore books I read I thought were funny as hell. Witty well written and just wonderful. Now the last three have been rather mundane. Yes they have their humorous parts but I just haven’t felt that pull that I felt with ‘The Stupidest Angel’ and ‘A Dirty Job’ which I found hilarious from start to finish. Maybe it’s the characters but I feel like there is just something missing. I didn’t find ‘Sequined’ bad but I also didn’t find it that great either.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Starts out a little too zany. I thought "I'd rather be reading Hiaasen." But this author eventually builds his characters so that I grew to like/dislike them. Book has a good 2nd half.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had never heard of Chris Moore before, so this book was a treat. It was funny and qwirky and entertaining all the way through.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
KanakaLele More than 1 year ago
Funny overall and definitely filled with an unpredictable plot, this is an entertaining read. As far as Moore's work goes, though, it's not his best... there weren't any laugh-out-loud funny moments in this story, at least for me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago