×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

It's Okay to Be Different
     

It's Okay to Be Different

4.1 30
by Todd Parr
 

See All Formats & Editions

Featuring Todd Parr's trademark bold, bright colors and silly scenes, this book embraces difference in a unique way. Deceptively simple in appearance, It's OK to Be Different cleverly delivers its important messages of acceptance, understanding, and confidence in a child-friendly package.

Author Biography: Todd Parr's previous books have been praised by

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

It's Okay to Be Different 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 30 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am in college majoring in early childhood education. I had to teach a lesson on diversity to kindergartners this quarter. I found this book and I really love it! The colors are so vibrant, the text is simple and relative, and the kindergartners and their teacher loved it! It would be good for preschoolers thru early primary grades.
HandbelLA More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best picture books on diversity I have ever encountered. From height and looks to varying abilities, Todd Parr covers many ways to be "different". My favorite page is "It's okay to have wheels"---what a marvelous way to look at life in a wheelchair! My only reservation is that some folks may find the vibrant colors of this title to be a little jarring--it does take a bit of adjustment. For teachers, this book is simple enough for any age group and should be good in a classroom storytime setting as it is a fair size and very brightly illustrated. If you need a diversity title for older children, try my recommendation below, Everybody Cooks Rice.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
If you haven't yet discovered the magic that is TODD'S WORLD, I recommend that you do so today! This series is great fun for both children and adults alike, whether it be in the form of a book or a video. Todd Parr knows what appeals to kids -- bold, bright, colorful illustrations and characters that are all unique in their own special way.

With IT'S OKAY TO BE DIFFERENT, children of all ages learn that no matter what your difference -- being in a wheelchair, being embarrassed, having different moms or dads, having an invisible friend -- it's perfectly A-OK. From the fanciful to the truthful to the whimsical, all kinds of differences are explored in ways that are easy to understand for the youngest reader, but that will also send home a message to those who are older.

This is one book you need in your personal collection!
Guest More than 1 year ago
My mother purchased this book for my nephew at Christmas. She enjoyed it so much that she had to purchase another one for herself. Now all of her grandchildren ask her to read it whenever they visit her! Which is a couple of times a week. It's wonderful!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Our family loves this book because in a funny way it shows children that everyone is different and it's ok to be different. Whether is a different hair, nose or coming from a different place it's ok to be different. My daughter loves this book and asks to read it at least once per hour everyday!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book isn't for adults. It's for kids. The drawings and text are meant to grab the attention of small children. Simple text and drawings with bright colors draw kids in. This book is meant to initiate conversations between children and parents about all the wonderful differences in people. It's up to YOU, the parent to elaborate on the pictures and text, not the author.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Bold colors and great illustrations. It was nice to see a book that celebrates our differences and encourages children to be accepting of themselves and others.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rrhithj
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great guide to explain and teach young kids and teenagers. I highly recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful book that teaches children that everyone is different. It is well written and great for younger children...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was recommended to me by a child psychologist. It's a great tool to help children understand that there is something different about everyone. Whether it's our hair color, skin color, abilities and even single-parent families. It's my go-to gift for parents.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago