×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Tale of Gwyn (Tales of the Kingdom Series #1)
     

The Tale of Gwyn (Tales of the Kingdom Series #1)

4.3 23
by Cynthia Voigt
 

See All Formats & Editions

"False, they were all of them false, the stories; as false as the stories of fairies dancing in moonlight glades on Midsummer Night."
But they served a purpose. In a distant time and far-off kingdom, life is hard. People don't have enough to eat, and winter is upon them. There's little that offers hope, and many turn to the legends of Jackaroo -- the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Jackaroo 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
Kameron_H_WV More than 1 year ago
Kameron Hall Jackaroo 358 pages The main theme of the book is about a girl that is about ready to marry and she tries to be "Jackaroo," a character that resembles "Robin Hood," and has difficulties along the way. Jackaroo is a great book and Cynthia Voigt is a great author. I've only read this book by Cynthia and she gives great description of details of everything like the setting and people's descriptions. On page thirty through thirty-one in Jackaroo says- "At last Gwyn saw through the veil of snow the dark shape royalty. In part one the setting is very snowy and it is in the winter while in part two it is partly snowy and is in the start of spring, and they are both in mountainous areas. Like I've said there are plenty of details and everything is life-like. Gwyn is the main character and is very strong, healthy, and smart
jaden_n_wv More than 1 year ago
Kameron Hall Jackaroo 358 pages The main theme of the book is about a girl that is about ready to marry and she tries to be "Jackaroo," a character that resembles "Robin Hood," and has difficulties along the way. Jackaroo is a great book and Cynthia Voigt is a great author. I've only read this book by Cynthia and she gives great description of details of everything like the setting and people's descriptions. On page thirty through thirty-one in Jackaroo says- "At last Gwyn saw through the veil of snow the dark shape royalty. In part one the setting is very snowy and it is in the winter while in part two it is partly snowy and is in the start of spring, and they are both in mountainous areas. Like I've said there are plenty of details and everything is life-like. Gwyn is the main character and is very strong, healthy, and smart
JJaredl More than 1 year ago
"Jacckaroo" By Cynthia Voigt is a exciting action Novel set in a old kingdom far away Form here. At the being a young girl set out to return a ring she find. In the middle of the storey She went into small village to look the ring's owner. But find a odd man intended the odd man Said that he would to the ring to its owner. When she gets home her mother asked were she was and had a talk with her. Even if she don't say anything she sill got in trouble. She thought it was if did not tell. I would tell what I was up to. Why don't you read "Jackaroo" and see for your self.
Guest More than 1 year ago
you think it's your typical Robin Hood, but it's better. the ending surprises, the flow of it is good, in no real rush. i love how it pictures that lifestyle real well. i especially love when gwyn get's stuck with the boy in the blizzard and how their relationship grows. read it
saucyspagettipanda More than 1 year ago
I believe Jackaroo is a nicely written book by Cynthia Voigt. I really enjoyed this book, although it is not a book for everyone. I like this book because it includes exciting adventures, romance, and history. Those three things really made the book stand out for me. Gwyn, the main character, is the Innkeeper’s daughter. She is a thoughtful person who helps the less fortunate. Gwyn finds a disguise that supposedly belonged to the legendary Jackaroo (a mysterious highway man). He was a generous and mysterious person who acts like Robin Hood. The weather became worse which led up to a blizzard that eventually leads her to find Jackaroo’s things in an old cupboard. She kept them and became known as Jackaroo. I liked this surprise because she basically had been Jackaroo. All that she was missing was the sword, a cape, and his mask. I would recommend this book to middle school students and up because of the level of reading and understanding of the book. I personally liked the book for how interesting it was for me and the complexity of it. It really reaches to people like me, who like adventurous stories such as this one. I would definitely recommend it for a middle school teacher for their class.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love stuff like this, like Robin Hood. Jackaroo also gives to the poor. It is a book you want to read if you like a lot of adventure with a little tidbit of romance. It is a little confusing at the end though.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Jackaroo is the Kingdoms version of Robin Hood although the story mostly focuses on Gwyn the Innkeepers daughter. All in all, I thought it was a good book. It was a little slow in the beginning, and I found that I was somewhat confused towards the end, but generally, it had a good storyline and was quite entertaining. Anyone who likes stories about strong girls should read this book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
At first, it was great, but then the whole story turns. I thought there would be much more danger and romance and adventure but no. the ending was not good, and as the plot evolved, the the story got worse and worse. DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME READING IT!!!!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I had to read this in school, and maybe it was just one of the books that would be good if you weren't forced to read it and pick it apart, but my advice to any English teacher would be to not force their students to read it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ms. Voigt is awesome. I bought 3 copies of Wings of a Falcon at a used bookstore. My 9th graders cannot keep from reading the book. Furthermore, they made me order Jackroo and On Fortune's Wheel because they love the writing, characters, etc. A fabulous storyline.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book started me reading Cynthia Voigt. I love her complex characters and style of writing that works for children and adults alike. This ¿Robin hood¿ tale of love and adventure will draw you in form the first page and keep you going until the last book of the series, Elske.
Guest More than 1 year ago
'Jackaroo' was such true Adventure-Romance. I had been expecting one thing from 'Jackaroo', and got something so different and so much better! Cynthia Voigt has the talent to weave you into her story and make you feel apart of the characters in it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Jackaroo is an awesome book to read...especially if you like to read fiction stories from hundreds of years ago! It's about a young girl who struggles with her desire to become more than she is.. to find true love and to help people, by becoming the legendary 'Jackaroo.' In the end, she finds more adventure and love than she ever could have expected...If you enjoyed 'On Fortunes Wheel' I would read this book! Cynthia Voigt is very convincing w/ her stories and this is something you do not want to miss!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved it, and if you like romance or action books you will love it to.e-mail me and tell me what you think!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is truley a wonderful book. It is full of many adventures that Gywen goes through, including becoming Jackaroo herself. Don't think I gave it away because there's a lot more to this story then you think. I recommend this book to 7th graders and above, because the one's younger then that couldn't truely appreciate the happenings in this story. This book tells the story of a 16 year old girl, named Gywen, who is the Inkeeper's Daughter. This tale is of both adventure and romance and I hope if you decide to read this book, you will enjoy it as much as I did.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jake here u go... ur gummy bears
_idril_ More than 1 year ago
it starts slow, and you feel as though you perhaps you're reading a story that's been started in a previous book. but right away you become engrossed. the lifestyle, whether accurate or not to the time, is facinating to read about. the characters, all of them, are easy to relate to. you find yourself walking side by side with gwyn, living everything along with her. burl is amazing in his own quiet, distant way. the time gwyn spends stuck in the small house is the turning point in the story, especially after the lords attack. by the time you're reaing the last pages, things begin to fall into place and all you can do is hope for a secnd book, because you know this isn't it for these characters...