×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Jackie's Wild Seattle
     

Jackie's Wild Seattle

4.2 12
by Will Hobbs
 

See All Formats & Editions

Heart-stopping adventure on the
wild side of Seattle!

How do you rescue a coyote trapped in the elevator of a downtown office building? How do you save an injured seal at the bottom of a cliff with the tide coming in? Fourteen-year-old Shannon and her younger brother, Cody, are about to find out as they spend a summer of breathless, sometimes

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Jackie's Wild Seattle 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Dale Navish More than 1 year ago
an overall gerat book. at first i felt so bad for cody at first then he met chucky. i got this book the day i met him and the next day i finish. i loved this book. i am also reading crosing hte wire amd go big or go home. a great book
Guest More than 1 year ago
I would like to recommend the book Jackie¿s Wild Seattle. This book is a very interesting realistic fiction book by Will Hobbs. This beautiful setting takes place in Seattle in the mountains. This book is about a 14 year old girl named Shannon and her brother Cody who have to spend the summer with their uncle Neal. Their uncle volunteers at a place called Jackie¿s Wild Seattle. Their parents are doctors who are in Pakistan for the summer. At Jackie¿s Wild Seattle Neal, Shannon, Cody, and Sage the rescue dog help save animals but when Neal hurts himself it is up to Shannon to continue the journey of saving wild animals. On this journey Shannon meets a lot of friends but not just animals a boy named Tyler who is about Shannon¿s age the reason that he is there is that he abused an animal and the court decided to put him in Jackie¿s Wild Seattle because Jackie (the person who owns the place) doesn¿t just save animals she also helps people too. Shannon has a big adventure here! One of my favorite scences was when Shannon had to rescue a coyote from an elevator. When Shannon got to the scene where hundreds of people were she got advice her from her uncle Neal which was to first talk to the animal and let it know that you can save its life. I think Shannon had a lot of bravery to do this she actually got the coyote out. After they saved the coyote they saw it had no bad conditions so they let it free. This is just one of the wonderful journeys Shannon had to take that summer. One of the men who were watching this scene went over to Jackie¿s Wild Seattle and gave them a huge check! I think people who do great things like that should be rewarded. This scene really showed me that more people should be making it a better place! From reading this story I have learned that instead watching T.V in the summer more kids like me should be saving our world and the living things in it. The most things I liked what the author did in this story is that he expressed a lot of feelings in a lot of scenes. If I could change anything about this book it would be either a sequel or more to go on because this book was so suspenseful it is a great book and I loved it! If I had to read this book over again I would because is so wonderful! I would recommend this book to anyone who likes animals, and realistic books! I hope who is ever going to read this book will have fun with it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I would like to recommend the book Jackie¿s Wild Seattle by Will Hobbs. If you like animal stories this is a book for you. I would recommend this book because it is interesting and very well-written. It takes place in the Seattle, WA area in 2002. It is realistic fiction. 197 total pages are in the book. It is a sequence of events and not 1 main plot. The characters Shannon and her younger brother Cody are on vacation in Seattle with their uncle Neal, while their parents are off in Pakistan. They discover more and more about their strange uncle as they follow him on the rescue trips. When Shannon and Cody first arrived at the clinic there was also this strange boy around¿. Shannon is a girl 14 years old who is brave and caring. Her little brother Cody is interested in disasters and saw the Twin Towers collapse. Their uncle Neal is also very caring, and he is committed 'maybe a little too much' to his rescuing job. My favorite part was when they were rescuing the coyote out of the elevator. A lot of news people are there, and a whole crowd of people, among them a Native American Chief. I like this part because it shows Shannon¿s braveness when she has to go into the elevator to rescue the coyote. It also shows some important things that affect ¿Jackie¿s Wild Seattle¿ the rescue center. I would definitely give this book a 4 star rating, because it is really well written, it caught my attention, and I liked the setting, and events. I would not give it a 5 star because it was not perfect, and I¿ve read better books.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Great book! Once I started I could not stop! This book is reccomended to those people who like stories about animals rescues.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a good book for kids who like animal rescues. My age range for kids would be 9 and older. This book was really fasinating to me because a girl named shannon and her brother cody go visit their uncle neal in seattle because their parents go on a trip. Also i like this book so much that i was up all night reading it and asleep almost the whole day. That is why I recomend this book to kids that like books about animal rescues
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I would recommend the book Jackie¿s Wild Seattle by Will Hobbs. The setting takes place in Seattle, Washington. This book would fall under the realistic fiction category. Jackie's wild Seattle has a total of 197 pages, and is an easy read. The main characters are Shannon a 14-year-old girl, Cody Shannon¿s younger brother, Neal Shannon and Cody¿s uncle, Jackie the owner of an emergency animal hospital and Tyler a boy who has to serve community service for breaking a dog¿s back and then drowning it. While Shannon and Cody are in Seattle with their uncle they haven¿t seen in a while, Shannon and Cody¿s parents are in Afghanistan as doctors for the war refugees. Their uncle goes to rescue animals every morning very early. When Cody and Shannon go with him to rescue an eagle stuck in a net, Neal gets cut by an eagle talon on his thumb. He can¿t work for a while, because his thumb is holding on only by a bit. So Shannon and Cody have to step in, and help Jackie. Later Shannon finds out that Uncle Neal has cancer, that someone could make it through or they could die from. Is he going to be alright she asks to her self? One of my favorite scenes is toward the end when Shannon and Cody are back home and exchanging E-mails with the hospital. Shannon and Cody tell how everything is at home and ask if they can ever come back to the animal hospital. They also ask if they will ever see the Wild Seattle Committee again, If so, when? I like this part because it shows that the hospital still cares about Shannon and Cody and not just blow them off after they leave to the other side of the country. The reason I would recommend this is because It¿s not like all the other animal books where a person just take care of an animal and the story is over. This book actually tells about the characters and how they feel about the animals and what¿s going on in their life. Overall this is a great book, and totally worth reading!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Jackie¿s wild Seattle book review The book I am reviewing is Jackie¿s wild Seattle by Will Hobbs. The setting of this book is in Seattle at a wildlife center. There is 197 pages in this book but it is definitely worth reading. The three main characters in this book are named Cody, Shannon, and Neal. Cody is Shannon¿s younger brother. He loves animals so much that every time he sees one die he cries and wonders why they had to die. Shannon is a 14 year old girl wich is brave, loving and always goes out of her way to help her friends family and the animals. Neal is an older man but not to old to be a person that saves animals for his every day life or to be a nice loving uncle to Shannon and Cody. In this book there is one main thing the characters always do, witch is save animals lives each and every day. Shannon and Cody¿s parents have gone to Pakistan and Afghanistan to help out people in need of shelter and food. While they are gone there son and daughter are staying with the mother¿s brother Neal. While they are there they will find out things they would of never though would happen to there uncle. The kids and uncle Neel have to go for long rids in an ambulance and find animals from all over town. I recommend this book to animal lovers that can take lots of action.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A heart-breaking tale about wildlife. I personally loved it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought it was crazy. Why anyone would want to read this is beyond me.